Complété
Lizzindagi
2 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
mai 25, 2023
8 épisodes vus sur 8
Complété 0
Globalement 9.0
Histoire 10
Acting/Cast 10
Musique 9.5
Degrés de Re-visionnage 10
Cette critique peut contenir des spoilers

Un succès mérité

J'attends généralement la sortie complète d'un drama pour le voir, ce que j'ai fait avec Semantic Error. SE était déjà précédé de son succès mondial et des multiples vidéos de promotion où on pouvait déjà voir la complicité Seoham/Jaechan. J'ai tendance à me méfier de ce genre de renommée car je suis bien souvent déçue de l'attente que les annonces ont générée.
Ce qui a été le cas lors de mon premier visionnage de SE. Certains passages m'ont semblé confus, et je ne comprenais pas bien pourquoi ce drama en particulier avait explosé ainsi.
Et puis je l'ai revu. Et j'ai enfin compris.

L'histoire et les personnages sont la représentation parfaite du fameux "enemies to lovers". Deux étudiants aux personnalités diamétralement opposées vont apprendre à s'apprivoiser, s'apprécier et s'aimer. Si ce trope est extrêmement répandu et populaire, il est ici traité un peu mieux qu'à l'habitude, grâce aux personnages qui sortent clairement de l'ordinaire, notamment Sangwoo, ainsi qu'au choix scénaristique de s'intégrer complétement au monde universitaire.

La série suit en gros le déroulé du webtoon, mais en choisissant sciemment de s'en éloigner pour s'adapter au visuel et au développement d'un drama. Les personnages deviennent ainsi un peu plus simples à appréhender et à apprécier. Il n'y a que 8 épisodes de 25mn, le développement des protagonistes et de l'histoire doit ainsi s'accélérer. Le montage et le scénario ne donnent néanmoins pas l'impression de sauter des étapes, le caractère des personnages, primaires comme secondaires, et le développement de leurs interactions semblent naturels, voire évidents.
L'université est probablement le troisième "personnage" le plus important de l'histoire, leur rencontre, leur antagonisme, leur rapprochement, se font non seulement à l'université mais dans le cadre de travaux universitaires.

Que dire de Seoham et Jaechan ? Certes l'histoire est intéressante, mais c'est l'alchimie entre les deux acteurs principaux, devenus véritablement Jaeyoung et Sangwoo, qui a fait exploser SE. C'est rare de trouver une paire aussi bien assortie dans le cadre du BL coréen, aussi bien dans leur visuel que dans leur caractère.

Il manque néanmoins certaines précisions à certains moments, certaines réactions sont inexpliquées, explications que l'on retrouve dans le webtoon, qui devient alors un bon support explicatif face à une série pleine, passionnante, mais finalement trop courte.
A quand une saison 2 ?

PS : l'OST est top.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
Link
3 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
mars 12, 2022
8 épisodes vus sur 8
Complété 6
Globalement 8.0
Histoire 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Musique 8.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 7.0

Une mise à jour n'a jamais été aussi amusante

Lorsque mon PC m'indique qu'une mise à jour est en attente, je n'aime pas ça. Je ne sais jamais si elle va s'exécuter correctement et ne pas endommager mon PC d'une quelconque façon (cela m'est arrivé il y a plusieurs années et ça m'a laissé quelques traces mentales ahah). Je n'aime pas les imprévus et bien que je sois capable de les gérer, je n'apprécie pas pour autant d'en avoir. Et c'est exactement ce qu'est Jang Jae Young pour Chu Sang Wool.

L'arrivée de Jang Jae Young dans la vie de Chu Sang Woo est comme une mise à jour obligatoire. Celle qu'on repousse, mais on sait qu'à un moment donné on devra la valider au risque de voir le système planter. A travers les railleries, taquineries et autres coups foireux, se développe une relation douce amère qui prend lentement une tournure plus romantique sans pour autant abandonner son humour premier. Tout fonctionne. Il est vrai que le scénario n'offre pas de nouveauté, mais je me répète encore : mieux vaut un scénario simple et maîtrisé, qu'un scénario compliqué et foiré - ou pas de scénario du tout. De plus, les relations amour/haine possède toujours un petit quelque chose qui donnent envie de s'y intéresser.

Bien que l'intrigue et le déroulement soient différents, je ne pouvais pas m'empêcher de penser à To My Star, diffusé l'année dernière. On est sur une qualité similaire et c'est encore la preuve que la Corée du Sud possède de bonnes cartes.
Le casting n'est pas pour rien dans la popularité du drame, soyons honnêtes. Park Jae Chan incarne brillamment le nerd formaté au respect des règles, tandis que Park Seo Ham est l'incarnation même de l'artiste cool et rebelle qui aime sortir des sentiers battus. Encore une fois, tout fonctionne à merveille pour nous embarquer dans ce combat de chien contre chat, mais qui lentement se transforme en quelque chose de plus profond.
De plus, la chimie entre les deux acteurs est présente et nous épargne les baisers ratés ou le manque d'interaction. Mention spéciale à Song Ji Oh et Kim Won Ki qui étaient également géniaux dans leurs rôles.

Bien que certains pourront pointer du doigt les différences avec l'œuvre originale (que je n'ai pas lu, personnellement), Semantic Error fait une percée dans le BL coréen. A la hauteur des attentes (la promotion était maîtrisée), il est, pour ma part, un coup de foudre sur lequel je reviendrais sans aucun doute.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
Fan2Dramas
1 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
juin 3, 2022
8 épisodes vus sur 8
Complété 0
Globalement 8.5
Histoire 8.5
Acting/Cast 8.5
Musique 9.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 9.5

Adorable

J'ai adoré cette petite histoire toute mignonne entre deux individus complètement à l'opposé l'un de l'autre. Les métaphores autour de l'informatique pour décrire l'un des protagonistes sont bien trouvées et exploitées comme il faut, certains dialogues sont originaux, on a droit à quelques situations amusantes et même si l'histoire n'est pas spécialement originale, comme l'ont précisé d'autres commentateurs avant moi il vaut mieux bien traiter un sujet convenu que faire quelque chose de nouveau qui va dans tous les sens. Les acteurs s'en sortent relativement bien et sont à l'aise l'un avec l'autre, et leur romance se construit de manière mignonne et logique, avec quelques moments de doutes qui permettent de consolider la relation. Je suis toujours partante quand il s'agit du thème "ennemies to lovers" mais il arrive souvent que dans les BL, ce sujet soit traité de façon assez toxique. Ici ce n'est pas le cas, au contraire les deux apprennent à s'apprivoiser et le personnage du beau gosse (désolée j'ai toujours beaucoup de mal à retenir les noms coréens) a très bien compris que brusquer l'autre n'était pas la bonne solution. D'ailleurs depuis que la Corée s'est mise à produire des BL, je ne crois pas avoir une seule fois relevé de scènes problématiques ou qui me mettent mal à l'aise, un bon point à apporter à leur crédit. Autres éléments sympathiques, les images sont souvent très belles, les cadrages bien faits, en bref même si certaines des intrigues ne volent pas toujours très hauts ou sont vite oubliables (Tinted with you, par ex.), on constate quand même, à une ou deux exceptions près, qu'ils mettent du cœur à l'ouvrage malgré le court format de ces histoires.

En parlant du format, peut-être que je me trompe, mais si le nombre d'épisodes reste conforme aux précédents BL coréens (entre 8 et 10 épisodes), pour une fois ceux-ci durent plus longtemps et on a droit à près de 30 minutes, ce qui laisse le temps à l 'intrigue de se développer, nous offrant ainsi une histoire sans temps morts tout en étant complète et aboutie. Il n'y a plus qu'à espérer que ce soit une évolution positive et que les prochaines productions suivront le mouvement. Quant à la musique, d'habitude je n'y fais pas trop attention (et je suis loin d'être fan des BO asiatiques d'ailleurs) mais je dois avouer que j'ai adoré celle du générique et que je l'ai immédiatement "shazamée" pour pouvoir l'écouter dans ma bagnole.

Un seul point m'a un peu dérangée : sans vouloir spoiler, on a droit dans un des épisodes finaux à une sorte de confrontation entre un des protagonistes et une autre étudiante. Lors de cette discussion, j'ai eu la désagréable impression d'assister à une sorte de démonstration du genre "pousse-toi le mâle est dans la place et toi, ma pauvre fille, tu ne fais pas le poids". A chaque fois que je vois ce genre de scène dans un drama, le mec me paraît tout de suite moins sympathique, et c'est dommage parce que j'étais bien partie pour l'adorer sans réserve. Par chance je n'ai rien à redire sur le reste de la série, on va dire que ce n'est pas très grave, mais l'audience féminine n'a vraiment pas besoin de ce type de situations pour pimenter une romance entre mecs, on peut trouver tout un tas de ressorts scénaristiques qui feraient tout aussi bien l'affaire sans devoir passer par la case où une nana se retrouve perdante et/ou humiliée et/ou jouer le rôle de la chieuse de service.

En tout cas cela reste une jolie découverte et on passe un bon moment. C'est romantique, doux et bien mené, et en prime on a droit à plusieurs scènes de bisous donc on ne va certainement pas cracher dessus. Bref, il y a de bonnes chances pour que je le revisionne un jour.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
YellowBird7
0 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
déc. 30, 2023
8 épisodes vus sur 8
Complété 0
Globalement 10
Histoire 10
Acting/Cast 10
Musique 10
Degrés de Re-visionnage 10

Le meilleur BL, il n'y a pas débat

Semantic Error est le tout premier drama coréen que j'ai regardé. Et pas plus tard qu'hier, je finissais de le regarder une deuxième fois.
J'ai commencé les BL avec les BL thaïlandais et je peux dire qu'après une longue pause, reprendre avec Semantic Error était un vrai bol d'air frais.
Le jeu des acteurs est extraordinaire et l'alchimie entre les deux acteurs principaux incroyable. J'ai été encore plus surprise lorsque j'ai découvert qu'ils étaient tous les deux des idols, surtout compte tenu des scènes de baiser.
Pour commencer, si vous aimez le classique "ennemies to lovers" (ennemis à amoureux), ce drama est parfait pour vous. Et même si vous n'êtes pas fan de ce concept, je suis persuadée que l'histoire saura vous convaincre malgré tout.
Au-delà de ça, il y a le fait que ce soit une vraie série queer. Même si le personnage principal essaye de remettre en question ses sentiments, il ne le fait pas parce que c'est un homme, mais tout simplement parce que c'est la première fois qu'il le ressent et que cela représente comme une erreur dans son système.
L'évolution de leurs relations et la manière dont le tout est filmé est extraordinaire. Si vous cherchez un drama qui vous tient en haleine du début à la fin, c'est celui qu'il vous faut. Mais attention toutefois, car si c'est le premier BL coréen que vous regardez, il risque de placer la barre très haute et vous risquez de moins apprécier les autres BLs. Cela a été mon cas.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
Aliotis
0 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
avril 1, 2022
8 épisodes vus sur 8
Complété 0
Globalement 10
Histoire 10
Acting/Cast 10
Musique 10
Degrés de Re-visionnage 10

L'amour en 1 et 0

Cette série a été un coup de foudre pour moi.

La série, comme tous les BL coréens, est courte mais on ne boude pas son plaisir, on ne voit pas le temps passer et je n'ai pas eu l'impression qu tout n'était pas fini au terme des 8 épisodes, c'est peut-être pour ce la qu'elle ne m'a pas parue si courte que cela.
L'alchimie entre notre couple phare est immédiate même si ceux-ci ne s'en rendent pas compte tout de suite.

Alors, oui, on est en terrain connu avec un scénario de type rivalité haine/amour déjà vu mais ce n'est pas forcément mal car, ici, on peut voir que ce scénario est parfaitement maitrisé et il vaut mieux réussir sur des chemins déjà tracés que se planter en faisant de la nouveauté, ou pire, se jeter dans l'aventure sans scénario du tout, c'est la claque assurée.

J'ai pu voir que beaucoup adoraient Park Seo Ham mais ma préférence va à Park Jae Chan en ce qui me concerne. J'ai adoré l'image de petit nerd qu'il renvoie emprisonné dans ses rituels journaliers, il n'ose juste pas vivre au début de la série. Mais à sa confrontation avec le déluré et impétueux Jang Jae Yeong, il prend de lui-même des initiatives, il sort de sa coquille et il le fait tout seul ! Et puis, il faut l'avouer, quand on le voit avec les cheveux mouillés, il est plutôt sexy ^^.
J'ai beaucoup aimé voir la douce évolution de leur relation qui part de ressentiments mutuels pour devenir quelque chose de profond et de magnifique. C'est une romance sans heurts, sans toxicité, dans le respect de l'autre.

J'ai adoré aussi la bande de copains de Jang Jae Yeong, s'il y avait pu avoir plus d'épisodes, j'aurai aimé voir le développement de leur background et plus de scènes entre eux et le couple principal.

La réalisation est très aboutie, les mouvements de caméra et la photographie sont de qualité, ça nous scotche à l'écran dès le début.
Pour finir, je dirais que c'est une série que j'aimerais revoir de temps en temps car elle est si jolie et pleine d'amour que ce serait dommage de s'en priver ^^

Maintenant, à vous de vous faire votre avis.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
Enjoy little things
0 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
mars 23, 2022
8 épisodes vus sur 8
Complété 0
Globalement 8.5
Histoire 8.5
Acting/Cast 8.5
Musique 8.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 8.0

Rafraichissant

Voilà un petit BL fort rafraichissant. C'est la première fois que j'en regardais un coréen, et j'étais contente de voir qu'il a été mené comme tel.
J'ai aimé cet univers de l'université, de ce jeune très "rigide" qui découvre quelque part, l'être humain dans sa profondeur. Et j'ai eu un vrai coup de cœur pour Park Seo Ham, qui m'a touché.
Tout se passait dans les expressions, les gestes, l'histoire est menée dans le ressenti et pas forcément dans les actions. Mais c'est ce qui fait justement la force des coréens.
De fait, j'a bien aimé, je me suis laissé embarquer et je l'ai trouvé frais et bien mené.

De plus, 8 épisodes de 20 à 30 minutes, j'ai doublement apprécié la petite pause entre deux longs dramas.

A découvrir !

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
yeon
67 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
juin 22, 2022
8 épisodes vus sur 8
Complété 0
Globalement 10
Histoire 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Musique 10
Degrés de Re-visionnage 10
this drama was surprisingly addicting
It has the overused tropes that most kdramas always has; college setting, hate to love, opposite attract. But it's developed really well!

The acting was good
Tbh PJC's acting was kinda robotic at some parts, but i think it was part of his character so it doesn't bother me much. Main leads chemistry was amazing.
The pacing wasn't rushed like most kbl does. The cinematography were well done
Music was good, my favorite would be Romantic Devil by Coldin.

I don't usually rewatch dramas. But this one is an exception. There's not much episode, so i could finish it in one sitting.

Overall -
If you like to watch some light hearted romance with overused tropes, i recommend you this

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
Pinoy Ares Flower Award1
188 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
mars 11, 2022
8 épisodes vus sur 8
Complété 14
Globalement 9.0
Histoire 7.0
Acting/Cast 9.5
Musique 9.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 9.5
Illogically addicting!

Lets be objective for a minute. The show didnt give us anything new -University themed BL, check! Enemy to lovers, big check! A questionably straight(!) guy suddenly falling for another seemingly straight guy, double check! Is there anything new, big X!

The camera work is your typical Korean - clean with an almost always early morning filter/vibe (you know, its like the main actors are always sparkling) The pacing was a little off for me and after a few episodes, it felt a little repeatitive. I even suspect that the budget is limited and everything was shot within just a few days.

However, despite the unassuming, overused plot, lies an entertaining, panty-dropping, 3 drops of pee and butterfly-in-the-stomach inducing execution that no matter how predictable the show is, you just cant help but long for the next episode. Actually, this may even be the most excited i felt for a Korean BL.

Its greatest strength, and lets also not kid oursleves, is the 2 actors. We stayed because they are absolutely gorgeous, and as cliche as it sounds, their chemistry is electric. Park Seo Ham played Jae Young perfectly and Park Jae Chan's newbie acting worked with what the show needed - his acting was so robotic I half-expected them to reveal that this is infact a scifi BL show and that Sang Woo is an android at the cusp of learning new things. Alas, he wasnt.

I would have liked to see their actual game working, i guess the budget and the time didnt allow for it.

Rewatch value, 9.5stars! It is so addicting ive seen each episode 3 times. Overall, its a 9!

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
En cours 8/8
eommayeah
37 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
mars 4, 2022
8 épisodes vus sur 8
En cours 0
Globalement 9.0
Histoire 10
Acting/Cast 8.5
Musique 8.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 9.5

Error! Error! Error!

I really like this drama cause the lead actor act well and both of them have a great chemistry. Actually Semantic error is one of my fav manhwa so my expectation is so high BUT THIS DRAMA SLAP ME HARD! ITS REALLY GREAT and y'all have to watch and support this masterpiece.
Some part its different from manhwa story (as long as i remember) but thats not much i guess. The soundtrack is good and match with the plot ❤️🤯
I dunno why but for me, this drama have a potential if the production wanna make a season two! Cause i'll wait if the really make that!!!


Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
MJ Koontz
19 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
mars 10, 2022
8 épisodes vus sur 8
Complété 0
Globalement 9.0
Histoire 6.5
Acting/Cast 9.5
Musique 6.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 10

The only errors here are the limitations of the budget and unwillingness to leave a college setting.

South Korea has been bombarding the 2022 marketplace with BL's. Like the Philippines last year, it seems everyone is starting to salivate over the dollars that can be made in the genre. However with the bombardment, we are getting a large serving of subpar, stilted, or simply archaic stories. Unbalanced acting, truly thin skimpy budgets, and forgettable series are starting to fill up the South Korean landscape. Soon, and honestly already beginning, BL (and LGBTQ+) audiences will have to separate the good, the bad, and the just plain ugly like you already must for Thai (or the aforementioned Philippines) for shows worth watching.

Luckily, Semantic Error, is not litter upon this landscape, and is something filled with genuine attraction, development, and pulse. It delivers bona-fied episodes of 20 minutes or more making it feel like an actual show and not simply a chopped up movie. Yet unfortunately, it still scrapes the bottom of the budget barrel. But, like many lower budget endeavors with strong players at the helm, it uses its budget effectively and for the most part you will forgive (and even forget) the cost cutting finish. The cinematography is cool with realistic tones of winter pallets. The world feels honest and tangible. The characters come off as true people and not just dolls here to tell a saccharine love story. Thus, the strengths begin to far outweigh the shortcomings.

One of these shortcomings is the stale setting and even staler story. This is an enemies to lovers tale unabashedly and it is, of course, set in college (at least it is not another High School series). While, it tries to be more modern and fresh with the main cast being digital designers and computer programmers (Not ya know, the forever Thai Engineers and Doctors) it still succumbs to the cool kids versus nerd trope which gives us our set-up. Luckily, the story moves adeptly through this repeatedly tread ground and doesn't waste time or draw plot points out needlessly.

The characters, and the casting of those characters, are what make this series shine. Park Jae Chan as our main lead Chu Sang Woo‬ is an endearingly stubborn rule stickler with compulsive "robotic" tendencies. While the show never mentions anything psychologically or developmentally, you get the feeling that Sang Woo may be on the spectrum, though severely highly functional. Park Jae Chan is shockingly worm and funny in this role, even while the story makes him an unforgiving, friendless, developer savant. He is unquestioningly attractive with some of the pout-iest lips you have ever come across, and a face that is strangely expressive, it is all in the eyes, while remaining very stoic. You will become attached to him and root for him easily.

Park Seo Ham as our other main lead Jang Jae Young‬ is a more stock bad-boy rebel artist designed character. The cool kid that gets all the girls, he is revered by everyone he meets and has swagger for days. Jan Jae is of course the bully of the pairing that ignites the back and forth of the enemies to lovers plot. Yet, Park Seo Ham does a great job at bringing a light-heartedness to this character and quickly, not to mention easily, makes our Jae Young cuddly, likable, and funny. Seo Ham is very much more of South Korean archetype beauty. Tall, pale, high cheek boned, strawberry shaped face, fit, and fashionable he is a literal check-marked boxes of perfect leading man design. Luckily, he never comes off arrogant (something that seems many times used as an actual attractive quality to my disdain). He is the one that starts to recognize his burgeoning feelings first and watching him move through his understanding of who and what he wants is quite a lot of fun indeed.

When the leads are with each other, playing off each other, and building the relationship on screen it is enrapturing. There is a current that runs between them and it intensifies throughout the story as their relationship grows. It is, perhaps, the strongest entry South Korea has given us since 2021's To My Star in the world of displaying a sense of true want and attraction between the leads. There is never a moment where the cast seems not to want to be here, or to hesitate and hold back from what they are portraying. Everyone really seems to have come here to give us a story of two guys falling for each other, and everyone seems both fully willing and happy to do so. This is undeniably refreshing to watch and fun to wade through. Butterflies will blossom in your belly as you watch these two spark with each other. As for the kissing, I dare say this entry maybe posses the strongest South Korean has to offer in the current BLs they are delivering. This isn't the cardboard empty uneasy to watch kisses you find in Color Rush or My Sweet Dear, nor is it a one and done affair tacked on at the very last moment like Were Your Eyes Linger or Light on Me. Again, like To My Star, the kissing happens very naturally and a multitude of times, though I will say Semantic Error brings a bit more heat and passion than the former.

This is a prime example of what can be given even if in a tired cliched setting and story. It is thoroughly enjoyably, highly re-watchable, well acted and yes even sexy making you honestly not really care that you've done this story to death, because for some reason, this time it feels fresh and new.

9 = A, 4 1/2-Stars. Strong in all aspects, Best of the Bunch and worth your time.

Now if South Korea would just take this as an example, plop it into a more original base story, get it fully funded like straight romances, and churned up to hour long 16 episode orders, then we could knock it up to perfection.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
LiN
62 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
mars 7, 2022
8 épisodes vus sur 8
Complété 2
Globalement 9.0
Histoire 8.5
Acting/Cast 9.0
Musique 9.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 9.5

ERROR: Errors could not be found. Please try again. Never.

KOREA FINALLY DELIVERED another masterpiece <3

This will be a tough one. Really. I was having high expectations for this series, and I am extremely glad they were able to adapt the manhwa this well. As I said in another review, the Korean LGBTQ+ industry is growing and improving its series in terms of production and duration. I´d even say that “Semantic Error” is the most outstanding turning point in this year so far. Alongside "History 3: Trapped", this series would be my first choice to recommend to somebody if they asked me about good series including the love of two men. Why? Read below.


PRODUCTION / Music >> 9.0
Saying that nothing in this series is extra outstanding, and that “Semantic Error” is just like any other Korean LGBTQ+ series would be an incomplete statement. Let me elaborate on this thought:

While the filming itself is getting closer to the normal standard of Korean dramas, the details and highlights are much more present. This is especially noticeable in the use of colours and lights at the ending of Episode 5. The production is finally focusing on the Interplay of all components, both in music, action and especially in the visual. Additionally, the story feels less rushed than usual Korean LGBTQ+ dramas and I am sure we can expect similar dramas to be produced soon. However, - without sounding too pessimistic - as awesome as this drama is, setting "Semantic Error" as a standard could lead to unpleasant disappointments ... Yes. It is that good.


PLOT >> 8.5
The entire series and the original work are unique and exciting to watch and read. When focusing on the adaption I especially enjoyed the energetic but not rushed pacing and the humour of this series. Both characters are written as "extraordinary" people who had an unfortunate beginning in their relationship which makes this a case of ENEMIES TO LOVERS ... AHHHH…excuse me. This was the easiest way to show that I am a sucker for that trope. Honestly/ Personally, if that is not the most non-toxic/ non-forced ETL love story then I don´t know which one is.

Another detail to mention is the focus on the contrary of both personalities. While one of them is a famous and adored extrovert, the other one is an anti-social and overseen introvert who cares a lot about a systematic and calm daily routine. Jang Jae Young‬ and Chu Sang Woo‬ are as different as one can be. They are incomparable but still such an exciting match.


ACTING / CAST >> 9.0
The main leads both did an outrageous job, and I am glad Park Seo Ham and Park Jae Chan were chosen as the main leads, because they match with the characters, thus the entire series is harmonious and gets close to the overall harmonizing couple in the manhwa. Considering that both Park Jae Chan and Park Seo Ham are originally idols makes their performance is even more outstanding. I also love that both support the show a lot on social media, giving no f*** about the haters. It´s something I highly want to point out because in some Korean LGBTQ+ shows I always had the feeling they were forced to promote it but these two (Park Seo Ham & Park Jae Chan) seem to do it willingly. No. These two seem to have a lot of fun doing it. :D

The Supporting Cast also showed a solid performance in their roles. I can't think of anything that I would have found disturbing or unfitting. Well done. Because we don´t get a lot of insight into other characters, it´s hard for me to review their performance. They all did well!


Rewatch Value 9.5 / 10 + OVERALL 9 / 10
“Semantic Error” is the most outstanding turning point of Korean LGBTQ+ dramas this year so far and I am glad that so many people support and enjoy this show. Personally, it´s one of the best adaptions/ overall shows I came across. No doubts!

“Semantic Error sucks and is just like any other Enemies to Lovers story, duh...”

!!! ERROR 404: Your opinion was not found in the data system. Submit a reasoned criticism for our servers to deal with constructively, if you can't, please STFU !!!

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
Theophilus Silas
69 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
mars 8, 2022
8 épisodes vus sur 8
Complété 0
Globalement 8.5
Histoire 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Musique 8.5
Degrés de Re-visionnage 9.0

I LOVED THIS ABSOLUTELY

ERROR! ERROR! REVIEW REQUIRED!

I WILL ALWAYS SAY IT, THE POTENTIAL KOREAN BLs HAVE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
But seriously, I was really shocked at the quality of it all, it was impressive and great, and I loved every second of it.
Before we kick off, I would like to highlight If you are someone looking for like just skinship, then I don't think this is the series for you, if you want story, great acting, production etc, then this is for you. Side Note: They had great kisses though
But the story is quite interesting and cool, I like how it wasn't focused on a guy struggling with his sexuality or any of that drama, but they knew what they wanted, and they went for it straight.

Reviews are usually broken into
1. Introduction
2. General Review, Themes, Specific Issues
3. Story arc and Storylines
4. Characters and Casting
5. Acting
6. Misses
7. Production
8. Rewatch Value

INTRODUCTION
Alright, no matter how much I want a change in the themes of BL to things like Manner of Death and the upcoming KinnPorsche the series, I won’t say I don’t appreciate my good old fluffy bls and Semantic Error was something in that manner. On a general I loved the series, it’s a great one.

GENERAL REVIEW and STORYARC
On an overall, we kinda went with the popular trope of bad boy and rebel who falls in love with the upright, top of the class, quiet kid. And I am not opposed to it because they executed it and I think part of it is tied down to the acting and the actors who really had great chemistry together. Loved the pacing of the series because it didn’t feel too rushed, though I wish we had more romance time between them, but they always had cuteness, so I don’t mind. The storyline was nothing too complex, just two boys who fate brings together in the weirdest way, they start off on a misunderstanding then eventually end up needing each other while being a balance to each other. From a boy who viewed the world through a binary view, thinking love was manipulation to becoming a boy who couldn’t understand what was happening to him when someone he considered to be a “virus” was removed. Loved the idea behind it

CHARACTERS, CASTING AND ACTING
First on the characters, I absolutely love the main characters and two support characters. They were funny, I mean watching Sangwoo go sassy on Choi when she tells them they weren’t the only ones in the office and watching Jang enjoy every moment of his boyfriend (to be) was so cool. The casting was perfect, the height difference between the actor that plays Jang and Sangwoo makes the casting all the much better, like the difference in their height made them more likeable.
For the acting, I think chemistry between the two actors helped so much in this because I love their acting, watching Sangwoo go from uptight to when he starts experiencing his error and then finally when he falls for Jang. Their acting was great.

MISSES
The only miss, which I would not necessarily call a miss for me was the stalker start that the show had because those things can easily go haywire and weird

PRODUCTION AND REWATCH VALUE
Loved the production on this show, it was great, the entire team tried with the direction of the show, and I would a hundred percent watch this show again in the future

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Semantic Error (2022) poster

Renseignements

Statistiques

  • Score: 8.2 (marqué par 45,173 utilisateurs)
  • Classé: #1492
  • Popularité: #130
  • Téléspectateurs: 66,098

Top Contributeurs

34 éditions
26 éditions
24 éditions
19 éditions

Listes populaires

Listes apparentées d'autres utilisateurs
BL / Gay (*Rated Order*)
652 titles 2828 loves 46
Korean BL Master List
227 titles 1004 loves 6

Récemment vu par