Complété
BL Compilations
40 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
juil. 7, 2023
10 épisodes vus sur 10
Complété 5
Globalement 9.0
Histoire 8.5
Acting/Cast 9.5
Musique 8.5
Degrés de Re-visionnage 8.5

please give us a season 2 of this fun romcom

Overall: what a fun comedy with a supernatural element. Need a season two with a bunch of fluff and to show us in detail their kinky side which was hinted at several times. 10 episodes total 20 minutes each. Watch the extra scene after the initial credits of episode 10. Aired on GagaOOLala & Viki.

Content Warnings: stalking and mutual pranks, dub/non con kiss, non con picture taking/posting, vomiting

What I Liked
- funny moments (was the sustainable on their basketball jerseys on purpose or no lol, the fighting over the remote, potato chip eating, etc)
- sweet and caring moments
- their dynamic (mutual enemies to lovers) and eventual chemistry
- world building was understandable
- sibling dynamics (except she shouldn't have lied to her brother later)
- end of ep 1, I screamed
- how they have fights but communicate/make up relatively quickly
- cameo of Anti Reset couple
- ongoing physical affection, good kissing
- a favorite line in ep 9 "I am responsible for my own choices"
- that Jiang Chi doesn't want to do things with Bu Xia when he's drunk
- production value

Room For Improvement
- too long of an intro in ep 1
- the whole campus taking/posting their photos/shipping them was not for me
- the group chat of asking who is top and bottom in their relationship
- ep 9 was choppy at times, why not show us what happened in the shower?
- ep 9 gross kissing after what happened (brush teeth first please)
- the writers kind of threw everything but the kitchen sink in episode 10 including an overused cliche, however the chemistry survived
- Jiang Chi should have taken his own advice about the importance of communication (lying by omission is still lying)
- not clear if Jiang Chi actually did what the sister hinted at or not

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
RoseQ
12 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
sept. 1, 2023
10 épisodes vus sur 10
Complété 0
Globalement 8.0
Histoire 8.0
Acting/Cast 10
Musique 8.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 7.0

Ghosts playing matchmakers

It was a fun ride for sure. I think the cinematography is beautiful, I really liked the filming locations. The OST was very catchy as well. And I think the plot was well written, things connected right and made sense. The reoccurring characters had some sense of purpose, which pushed the story forward in one way or the other. The comedic aspects are nicely incorporated and fit in well with the plot.

To be honest, at some point the ghosts appeared to be good wingpeople. Whenever they annoyed or scared poor Bu Xia enough, he would run to Jiang Chi. And while I do agree that the idea that he only wants him close to keep the voices out of his head is problematic, they do address this problem and I think that’s important. Communication makes things easier (too bad it’s not Bu Xia’s strong point).

Jiang Chi & Bu Xia: The two are adorable together! They seem to be quite different from one another, but they still make a great pairing. Bu Xia might not be the best academically and can be quite awkward at times, but he is still a cutie. He is afraid of ghosts. Or at least afraid of ghosts trying to get them do their bidding. Jiang Chi is both smart and athletic, but he is also confident and goes after what he wants. And that’s Bu Xia. They start as enemies, but things quickly make a turn for the better. The two face plenty of troubles, but I do think they balance each other nicely. The two actors did amazingly and had great chemistry as well.

I really liked Bu Xia’s sister too. She was a fun character, and I absolutely loved her relationship with her brother. They teased each other but were also the person the other could count on. Always and for everything. That’s life with siblings!

The ending is kind of open, so it makes me think they might be planning for S2. At least I hope they are. I considered such an ending a possibility, but I wasn’t sure what route they will take. It might be considered finished, I guess, but to me it still feels like there is more of the story to follow. So fingers crossed for another season.  

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
Wang Ji El
8 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
sept. 1, 2023
10 épisodes vus sur 10
Complété 0
Globalement 7.0
Histoire 7.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Musique 5.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 5.0

Definitely not [WHAT I EXPECTED].....

The main reason I started watching this drama is because of how well they promoted this drama, in those promotions I thought the leads have great chemistry, but that only lasted in the promotion phase(probably fan service). In the drama what I felt is that the chemistry is not up to the mark(is somewhat weak).

The story is somewhat unique though the concept is not. And it is not definitely up to the standards of a Taiwan BL. So, since I had good(not high) expectations...I did not mostly enjoy the drama. But thought it might get better at the end..So I persisted and watched the entire drama. Coming to the acting Buxia's acting is all cringy and Jiang chi's is somewhat okay. But got to admit that Buxia's acting got better in the final episodes. And I definitely like Buxia's sister character(an ideal and not so perfect elder sister LOL )!!!

The reason I did not drop this drama is because few things enlightened me about Taiwanese culture. They are - the spiritual aspects in Taiwan, also the dorm culture of Buxia and the basketball games. That's it!!!

If you are a fan of Taiwanese BL and want to watch something if you are bored..Go watch it :)

P.S. - If you are not a fan of logic-less stories then this might not be for you. I am not being harsh by saying it logic-less but this is what I felt.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
PPBongi
5 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
sept. 29, 2023
10 épisodes vus sur 10
Complété 0
Globalement 8.5
Histoire 8.5
Acting/Cast 8.5
Musique 8.5
Degrés de Re-visionnage 8.5

Entertaining and fun!

To someone unfamiliar with the customs and culture of Taiwan, this type of a story can be intriguing. The story development is hit and miss in the beginning, but in the latter half of the series, once the relationship is established, it becomes enjoyable. Overall, this is an entertaining BL series that honestly does not take itself too seriously and as such provides for some amusing anecdotal interactions. In a strange way and one I cannot fully explain, they make a cute couple and I want to see more of them. It has been set up for an obvious Season 2 and I do hope there is one as I am oddly compelled to watch them. I find them intriguing and enjoyable.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
chris2686
5 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
sept. 2, 2023
10 épisodes vus sur 10
Complété 0
Globalement 9.0
Histoire 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Musique 10
Degrés de Re-visionnage 10
Cette critique peut contenir des spoilers

YET ANOTHER FLUFFY TAIWANESE BL SERIES! A MUST SEE BL!

I've always been fascinated by Taiwanese BLs, the way they craft such good show and how they promote it is underrated. Taiwanese BLs is one of a few BLs that deserves a lot of recognition in terms of story, character dedication and castings.

STAY BY MY SIDE is one of those BLs that i can't describe well, it's like a fruit that isn't ripe but when you eat it, still taste great! This series is far from perfect but sure far from bad one.
Wei Zhe and Isaac portrayal of their characters are spot on! Even in Fan Service, you can see the dedication, still sweet and caring.
The gradual development of WeiZhe and Isaac's characters is well defined in every episode. Especially Isaac being so so caring of WeiZhe it's so cut and adorable.
The ending though is not that perfect but its "okey", I thing this series deserves SEASON 2 or "special episode", to see where they go from being boyfriends, finishing college to real life dramas.

I HIGHLY RECOMMEND WATCHING THIS AND ALL UPCOMING VIDOL TV PRODUCED BLs. IT IS WORTH YOUR TIME!

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
jpny01
4 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
sept. 2, 2023
10 épisodes vus sur 10
Complété 0
Globalement 8.5
Histoire 8.5
Acting/Cast 8.5
Musique 8.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 8.5

Fluffy, but for once not in a bad way.

Normally I would loathe a series like this becaus I find fluff tedious - but not when it's interspersed with an actual story with consistent characters that have development arcs, which is a rarity in BL. Even the uke had character development.

Hong Wei Zhe does a good job of making a bratty character likeable, and there's a certain convoluted structure to his whining that is always entertaining.

Yang I Hsuan is really sexy and does one of the best jobs of acting like he's really into someone I've ever seen. He's the kind of guy everyone would want as a bf. The boys are not afraid to show phyiscal affection - they are always touching, rubbing noses, kissing, or even wrestling around - the latter of which I appreciated because it felt like two guys instead of a man and an uke. Jiang Chi is sweet and takes care of Bu Xia, but he's not above laughing at him when he's being ridiculous or teasing him - he feels like a real person, and his interaction with Bu Xia feels genuine and unrehearsed.

There are a few funny take-downs of BL tropes - for example, Jiang Chi has a fiancee that drops out of the sky as it typical in a BL - he basically just says "I'm gay, get lost". and that's the end of that.

The plot is a little thin, but there is one, it is thought out and flows nicely. And best of all, there's a setup for another season, which I hope happens.

The cinematography is very good, with some lovely shots of Taiwan, and in general it's well-produced.

I highly recommend this series - it's relentlessly pleasant, there is drama but not caused by awful people - it's mostly character-driven, although ghosts also play a role in moving the story foraward.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
Giuca
5 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
sept. 8, 2023
10 épisodes vus sur 10
Complété 0
Globalement 6.5
Histoire 7.0
Acting/Cast 6.0
Musique 9.5
Degrés de Re-visionnage 5.0
Cette critique peut contenir des spoilers

Messed up cute & fluff

On the surface cute and fluffy but if you look behind it, this is full of lies, cruelty and stupidity. And I never found stupid behaviour cute. It definitely is not here.

Bu Xia is a university basketball star, cheerful and superficial. He suddenly needs to share his dorm room with Jiang Chi a smart taciturn law student. BX is not a happy roommate and does everything in his power to kick JC out. Until one day, because of his sister, he starts hearing ghosts' voices. This freaks him out but when he accidentally touches JC, voices disappear. From that day on, he tries to stay close to him, being nice to him, hugging him, holding his hand and saying he liked him. This makes JC think BX is in love with him and kisses him. BX is revolted but still keeps close to JC.

Secrets, lies and misunderstandings is what should have been the title of this drama. The misunderstanding and the subsequent consequences are dragged out for most of the drama. And for most of the drama, I felt really sorry for JC so in love and hated BX for his lies and the way he used JC without telling him. When JC eventually finds the truth(sister spills the beans which is so wrong: her brother's secret is not hers to tell!!!) he is not angry. He is so happy that BX is also in love with him that he is ready to do anything in order to help him. JC is comfortable with his sexuality and makes passes on BX who most of the time does not understand why JC is behaving in that way. Then he starts wondering about the possibility of same sex relationship as if had been living as a hermin in a cave all his life. At one point he asks: "But we are both men?!?" surprised that his friends suggested he dated JC. When BX eventually admits he might like JC he is not sure whether it is love or if he is just imagining himself in love in order to keep JC close and ghost voices at bay.

In this drama we are given the usual seme/uke trope but put on its head: while BX looks like an uke his behaviour is more of a seme. And JC is the opposite: he looks like seme but reacts like uke. Towards the ending of the series he becomes a real doormat: doing everything in his power to please BX and never questioning him about his lies. The character of JC I really liked in the beginning became a demeaning and sad character: I had no respect left for him in the end. On the other hand, I had trouble believing in BX's sincerity when he declared his love: it looked more interested than real because JC's presence chased the voices away! Eventually he started acting like a real cliché girlfri...ooups! boyfriend complete with fanning himself metaphorically and throwing jealous temper tantrums. The relationship is limit toxic and abusive, not cute since JC accepts anything from BX without really asking anything in return.

There were many fluffy moments here/ the roommates' conflict made me think of TharnType: it was fun to watch. Once they were finally open about their feelings there were a lot of kissing scenes. One, on the roof doing laundry made me think of c drama weddings!

The acting was not really good, they gave it an sincere effort and they had decent chemistry.

The music was really nice and probably the highlight of this drama. The rest is just messed up. It is a nice and easy watch if you do not think about what you are watching!


Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
Boys Love Forevs Reviews
3 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
oct. 10, 2023
10 épisodes vus sur 10
Complété 0
Globalement 10
Histoire 9.5
Acting/Cast 8.0
Musique 10
Degrés de Re-visionnage 10

COMPLETED THIS IN ONE GO AND HOPE THEY WILL CREATE SEASON 2!

"Stay By My Side" is a series that I thoroughly enjoyed for several reasons. First and foremost, the actors in the show are undeniably cute, and their on-screen chemistry is simply amazing. This chemistry between the characters added a lot of depth and appeal to the series.

While I do believe that the acting in the show could have been improved in some areas, I must admit that I was still impressed with how the actors delivered their performances. One standout character for me was Jiang Chi, who portrayed a character with a snobbish demeanor and a poker face. Yet, he was able to seamlessly transition into moments of softness when interacting with Gu Bu Xia. This complexity in his character added a layer of intrigue to the storyline. Additionally, I found Gu Bu Xia's actor to be incredibly endearing, and from certain angles, he indeed bore a striking resemblance to Jungkook, which was a pleasant surprise for fans of K-pop.

The only downside for me was the somewhat open-ended ending, which left me yearning for more. I am genuinely praying for the production of a second season because I am eagerly anticipating the chance to witness more of the sweetness between the characters and, hopefully, see their relationship develop further. I am eagerly hoping they "seal the deal" in the next season.

In conclusion, "Stay By My Side" is definitely worth watching. Despite some room for improvement in the acting department, the series excels in delivering a heartwarming and engaging story with adorable actors and undeniable on-screen chemistry. I can't wait to see if a second season is in the works to satisfy my craving for more of this delightful series.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
labcat
2 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
sept. 2, 2023
10 épisodes vus sur 10
Complété 0
Globalement 8.0
Histoire 7.5
Acting/Cast 7.5
Musique 8.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 8.0
Cette critique peut contenir des spoilers

So adorable

The plot isn't great, but the series is exploding with cuteness without being irritating.

The supernatural element could have been used further. Because of an accident, Gu Buxia's suppressed ability to sense other-worldly beings is partially unlocked, and he only stops hearing sounds from the other world when he touches Jiang Chi. There could have been a lot more worked into the story here. Maybe each episode should be twice as long. Some of the events seem to be leading to something more exciting, but are quickly abandoned. Take for example the time when Gu Buxia is frightened by a fierce spirit in the bathroom. I thought more was going to happen, but no...

Still, there the couple is really cute. Yang I Hsuan (who plays Jiang Chi) is a surprisingly good actor and while Hong Wei Zhe (who plays Gu Buxia) seems a little unnatural at times, the role suits him very well.

The main weakness of the series is underdevelopment, which is a pity because if there were stronger development, the series would be phenomenal with such a cute couple. There is a hint of unresolved issues, making a Season 2 possible, with Jiang Chi beginning to hear the other-worldly voices and some foreshadowing of Jiang Chi's parents objecting to his relationship. I wish a Season 2 would happen.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
huang renjun
2 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
nov. 8, 2023
10 épisodes vus sur 10
Complété 0
Globalement 9.0
Histoire 9.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Musique 8.5
Degrés de Re-visionnage 9.5

So Freaking CUTEEE

I watched this entire series in 2 sittings and It was so adorable I was going to barf in a good way. Objectively the main character is very very annoying and probably the worst roommate in the entire world but nothing about this series is to be taken seriously so I think it doesn't really matter all that much. Even though he is annoying, he is also so freaking cutesy and I couldn't help myself from literally loving him so much. The storyline is very cool and unlike anything else that I have ever watched before. I liked that it was lighthearted and not very dramatic and death-filled like other supernatural dramas, although I do love those too! The main characters are so cute and the opening credit is so cute I watched it every single episode lol. Anyways I would definitely recommend this drama!!

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
Ecstrip
2 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
sept. 2, 2023
10 épisodes vus sur 10
Complété 0
Globalement 10
Histoire 10
Acting/Cast 10
Musique 9.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 10

Great and cute drama gives different theme

I personally liked this drama a lot the main reason is because of lead actors they were really good at acting and chemistry was so good between them and story was good and script was well done in each episode I enjoyed every episode and waiting every week although I felt it short compare to other dramas because I wanted to see more of their stories unfortunately we had only 10 episodes I hope they can get the season 2 with same actors and all the best to the team hope see them again in new season or new series don’t worry about negative comments or less ratings I would recommend this series the best series al the best

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
LightHouse74
1 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
sept. 2, 2023
10 épisodes vus sur 10
Complété 0
Globalement 8.5
Histoire 8.0
Acting/Cast 10
Musique 8.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 8.0

It was cute.

Overall, it was a cute, fluffy, and relaxing series. It had an interesting story idea, but the execution was not quite there. On the positive side, I really like the two main leads which were cute together. Yang I Hsuan did a good job with his character. He was able to make Jiang Chi come across as stand-offish and cold individual without making him coming across as an A-Hole. Hong Wei Zhe did a great job making Gu Bu Xia appear as a loveably goofball without him being annoying. Both characters balanced each other out very well. As for the negative, the script had some flaws in it. Although there were a few, the major flaw for me was the constant picture taking/shipping chat aspect of the show. I found this very annoying and felt a little out of place for a Taiwan BL series. I would have expected this more from an older Thai BL series. I also hated the comment about sexual positions, why does it matter who is the top or bottom. It would have been nice to see more of the supernatural aspect of the script in the beginning of the series, but this is just a minor aspect for me.

Random Note: Although it was not perfect, it was a nice change from the last two BL series I watched from Taiwan.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Stand by Your Side (2023) poster

Renseignements

Statistiques

  • Score: 7.8 (marqué par 6,166 utilisateurs)
  • Classé: #3595
  • Popularité: #1278
  • Téléspectateurs: 13,003

Top Contributeurs

22 éditions
22 éditions
20 éditions
16 éditions

Listes populaires

Listes apparentées d'autres utilisateurs
BL series and movies
314 titles 532 loves 7
Best BL Drama
274 titles 2299 voters 506 loves 36
Taiwanese BL Master List
161 titles 477 loves 8

Récemment vu par