Complété
Dramamaloves
0 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
nov. 29, 2022
Complété 0
Globalement 9.0
Histoire 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Musique 9.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 5.0
Cette critique peut contenir des spoilers

Un film touchant

Ce film est très touchant. Il nous montre l'histoire de deux hommes qui s'aiment mais ça n'est pas accepté dans la société. On voit par quoi ils passent, ça retrace tout leur parcours de l'université à l'âge adulte. A un moment donné, l'un s'est marié à une femme et ils ont eu un enfant ensemble ; il redoutait sans doute ce que le monde aurait pensé si il aurait vécu avec cet homme. L'autre, a vécu un moment sans plus jamais le revoir mais ne l'a jamais oublié et n'a jamais cessé de l'aimer. Et puis un jour, ils se sont revu.

J'ai trouvé cette histoire touchante, poignante, dure parfois, mais très belle au final.
Les acteurs sont très bons, les différents cadres sont intéressants, l'époque (les années 80) m'a bien plu, et au final, qu'ils soient homos ou non, le principal c'est leur amour véritable. C'est vraiment un très beau film.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
taiwanfunan
144 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
oct. 1, 2020
Complété 7
Globalement 9.0
Histoire 8.5
Acting/Cast 9.0
Musique 9.5
Degrés de Re-visionnage 9.0

Poignant gay film with BL elements

As I live in Taiwan, I eagerly awaited the release of this film, and watched it the day it was released. Because there aren't too many LGBT films released in theaters (especially in Asia), my expectations weren't that high; I was just excited to be able to see a gay (BL?) movie on the big screen. But this movie did not disappoint at all. The story invites you to the time when martial law has just been lifted, and times are clearly changing. After living in Taiwan for over two years, this was a welcome glimpse into a fascinating part of Taiwanese history.
The pacing of the relationship was a little different than your typical BL, and the acting was on point. There are a few different reasons why I wouldn't consider this a BL, the most prominent being the absence of clear seme/uke (masculine/feminine) roles. The two lead characters are well-crafted, and the emotional complexity of their relationship far transcends most BL story lines. I would even consider going back to the theater just for one particular scene; which, although technically a sex scene, accomplishes everything without showing anything. I've been thinking about the passion and emotion of that scene all day.
I feel like this film includes all the great elements of a BL series, but removes the saccharine and adds a plaintive historical setting. The music includes a classic Taiwanese pop song as well as a new song, which includes the film's title. The inclusion of both neatly represents the time jump of the story. This film is a must-watch, and I hope it gets the international attention that it deserves. Both BL and cinema fans alike will enjoy it.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
matheusfontineles
91 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
nov. 3, 2020
Complété 1
Globalement 10
Histoire 9.5
Acting/Cast 10
Musique 10
Degrés de Re-visionnage 9.5

Suffering! It's not a happy story but It doesn't mean it's not a good and important one

So I just watched the movie here in Brazil on 2020 São Paulo International Film Festival and Jeez I don't know what to say, I should paid attention in the plot cuz I spent almost the whole movie thinking that Birdy was straight (it's not a spoiler since it's in the synopsis). I have liked it but this movie is just sadness and pain, I know it's based on a true story and what a drama story. The acting, photography, scenes, screenplay, everything so beautiful and well made. I can tell that I yelled and suffered a lot. Damn it! I was hoping for a kinda happy love story after all but it's okay tho. It's not a BL, It's a LGBTQ+ movie. I think it should win a lot of awards, I gave it 10 stars cuz made me suffer and I like that feeling when I'm watching movies but at the same time I don't hahaha I'm weird. I really like Taiwan, I wish I could go there someday.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
Connor
25 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
déc. 23, 2020
Complété 0
Globalement 10
Histoire 10
Acting/Cast 10
Musique 10
Degrés de Re-visionnage 10

A story about two real humans!

Watch this film was a mix of feelings. This movie is about - without spoiler of course - two teenagers who are discovering themselves as homosexuals.

In my opinion‚ this film is a masterpiece. It is well-written‚ well-directed‚ everything was perfect.

As I said: This is a story about two real humans and‚ as humans‚ there are pain‚ suffering‚ tears. However‚ there are happiness, desire - in a sexual meaning - and a happy ending after all the pain and suffering.

It was an awesome, amazing and great experience watch this masterpiece.


* This is my first review in English (I'm brazilian)

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
Fan Boii 666
16 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
déc. 23, 2020
Complété 3
Globalement 9.0
Histoire 10
Acting/Cast 9.5
Musique 9.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 8.0

No sunshine and No Rainbows. Pure love with emotions.

A coming of age story that follows LGBT+ characters. This film is set in 1988 just after martial law has ended in Taiwan and follows the story of Han & Birdy throughout their self discovery and dealing with all that entails, both for themselves and the society they live in. One of the best Taiwanese film to be ever made. So beautiful! It's no sunshine and no rainbows, It was a rollercoaster ride of emotions. There were few references of "Happy Together", a classic Hong Kong movie. I cannot stress on how much I cried.
Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
YNEH
15 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
déc. 31, 2020
Complété 0
Globalement 10
Histoire 10
Acting/Cast 9.0
Musique 10
Degrés de Re-visionnage 10

It's eveything I ever wanted in a gay film

I appreciate movies that can effect me deep and touch my soul. The movie made me depressed for days. Even tho it's hard and I'm waiting for that feeling to fade away, but still the movie is a masterpiece and totally worth it. I waited SO long for a movie that feels REAL and it's finally here. I don't like it when people compare it to call me by your name. shame on you. What I like about this movie is that it showed what most of us went through, and still going through. Being gay is still not easy even if your country is cool with it now, still a lot of us had that complicated relationship no matter where you live it can happen anywhere and at any age. There are a lot of people who are afraid of their sexuality and would rather run away from it. I also loved that it was about love more than a sexual attraction. even that sexual scene between them was more emotional than sexual. They were really into each other emotionally so deep. I love this kind of love. The love that can be proven by so many ways bigger than sex. just pure love.
What I didn't like much was the amount of deleted scenes! so many important scenes were missing. I wish there were more scenes that showed Birdy's love for A-Han. This is a movie to remember for decades to come.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
SweetsKitKat
11 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
déc. 25, 2020
Complété 0
Globalement 9.5
Histoire 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Musique 10
Degrés de Re-visionnage 9.0
Cette critique peut contenir des spoilers

Why can't we all have the love we think we deserve without judgement

Just freshly off watching it; I'm writing this with the feelings still in my heart. The story will break your heart to pieces, seeing Jia-han and Wang Po-te(Birdy) struggle with their feelings in a world where their love was just seen as a sin; As we see with a builled boy for liking boys and police going after a harmless man fighting for his right to just be. A great example of right person, wrong time.
The acting was amazing; They had me bawling my eyes out while feeling their pain and heart racing at their chemistry.
The music was also amazing, in fact I have 'Your Name Engraved Herein' on repeat as I write this in my feelings.
The movie was so good it had me wanting to go back and watch it all over again once it was done. One thing's for sure; Won't think of wǎn ān the same.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
Shiro
9 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
mai 1, 2022
Complété 0
Globalement 9.0
Histoire 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.5
Musique 10
Degrés de Re-visionnage 6.5

Lust, Love and this pain engraved here in....

This movie depicts one of those moments in time, and it does it painfully, bruttally and beautifully. The story is that of a boy who is struggling with himself, his surroundings and living in a world that treats people like him like dirt. Can he dare to love? Will the one he loves love him back? If So will ha dare to love him back in a world where men who love men are beaten, arrested and not oney treated like***** but also taught that they will go to hell.

The pain in this movie is so powerfully conveyed that it went straight to my gut:

As this boy finds himself in so much pain that he practically beggs the "father" to be sent to hell:

"Don't all homosexuals deserve to go to hell? Maybe more people would understand me in hell"

These lines are accompanied by beautiful cinematography, well thought of accompaniment music and a variety of shots of happiness, youth, pain, insanity, hope, violence, pain, more pain. As well as a very clear depiction of the difference between Lust and Love as well as people crossing, no crushing other peoples boundaries.

The intense way of showing this boys struggles is very well made but I must warn you that some of the scenes here do cross the line between acceptable longing/loss of control and what should be seen as non consensual behaviour/assult, actually this movie has what one could understand as several scenes with different shades of sexual assult . So beware!

As you may guess this movie will probably make you feel something, it will not make you feel good, or have your heart fluttering but it will probably make you feel something...

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
trivialovemp3
9 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
janv. 22, 2021
Complété 0
Globalement 10
Histoire 10
Acting/Cast 10
Musique 10
Degrés de Re-visionnage 10

"Is your love bigger than the love I give? What's the difference between your love and mine?"

a film about love and heartbreak that just left me in shambles. so beautiful in so many different ways.
-it's a coming of age story that deals with every emotion life has in store for us like jealousy, confusion, love, anger, sadness, and heartbreak. it also revolves around religion as the two boys are in a Christian school and provokes the question of homosexuality and how it’s viewed as a sin. the inner turmoil when you’ve been taught that your love doesn’t belong. and you can feel absolutely all of it in this film. just by watching it's as if your own heart is being broken and being touched.
-the acting of everyone but especially the two main leads is exceptional. it’s such a raw and emotional film so it truly needed actors that could not only express it but make it feel real and man did they deliver. their intimacy, their touches, their tears, everything hit me right in my heart.
-the cinematography is absolutely stunning it left me in awe. the way the scenes were executed showed so much care and attention which in result, conveyed an emotion and intimacy you could just drown in.
this film will remain engraved in my heart. so please go ahead and watch it!

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
Whiterose451
6 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
janv. 17, 2021
Complété 0
Globalement 10
Histoire 10
Acting/Cast 10
Musique 10
Degrés de Re-visionnage 10
Cette critique peut contenir des spoilers

Tear Jerker Movie!

To put it off first, although there were some problems I found with the scene cutting and stuff, I still give this a 10. I think it was trying to be artistic and "French" but I'll forgive that. Compare to most overhyped things, this movie actually was able to move me in ways that others stories could not in a long time. It was refreshing, heart wrenching and realistic. The acting of the actors, the characters became so precious in my memory. While watching their trials and struggles, I wanted to jump into the screen and give these complex characters a big hug. I also would like to say it was very "Taiwanese". The passion, the love and the crazy drama! Watching Jia Han and Birdy, their dynamic brought in a sense of nostalgia I had from watching old classic Taiwanese dramas. (Its funny they mentioned chiung yao). The stereotypical crazy lovers, so passionately in love that they make stupid mistakes. It is a annoying cliché nowadays but the movie made the characters so real that this element was like icing on the cake. The love story between Ji han and birdy was so pure, so innocent and precious. Watching this, I think it is a reminder that not all lovers get to be together in the end, even in our modern world. The rights of LGBTQ are still being suppressed and not everyone is allowed to love. "To be denied love and deny one's own love" i realize is one of the most hurtful thing ever and the movie did a good job conveying that. The death of youth is real. Time can be as precious as much as anything else. To live without regrets is probably the most satisfying gift. Overall this movie was great.
Also For fk sake we get that its sad people but dang, it was still a good movie! Just cause something doesn't end how you want it doesn't mean the movie was bad! The chemistry between the actors was off the charts!!!

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
AndreiRafael Llamado
6 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
déc. 26, 2020
Complété 0
Globalement 10
Histoire 9.5
Acting/Cast 9.5
Musique 10
Degrés de Re-visionnage 10
Cette critique peut contenir des spoilers

Heavy!!!!

It is very difficult to watch. It hurts within. Maybe because it reflects the exact thing happening in a real life.

It is relive that it ended in a good scenes. But the pain still remained. Plenty of that wasted, the time that they must been spent loving each other.

I can’t stop thinking about this movie and story. It takes a certain place in my heart right now.

Probably this will not out of my mind for a week.

Must watch this!!!!!!!!!!!!
Must watch this!!!!!!!!!!!!
Must watch this!!!!!!!!!!!!
Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
Dresme
5 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
janv. 16, 2021
Complété 0
Globalement 10
Histoire 10
Acting/Cast 10
Musique 10
Degrés de Re-visionnage 10
Cette critique peut contenir des spoilers

A beautiful coming of age lgbtq movie

I knew this would be a good movie based on other people’s reviews, I just didn’t expect this level of acting and cinematography. The story of Jia Han and Birdy wasn’t a perfect one, but a realistic one and a story that needed to be told. This film dealt with real issues such as homophobia, society norms and conflicting emotions aswell as the church. The emotional elements the soundtrack brought made every scene even more beautiful/emotional. Jia Han and Birdys story may feel like fiction but represent real life people (based on true events) and every person affected by homophobia in the 80s. The movie perfectly captured teenage friendship, feelings and confusion. Although the ending was ambiguous it was also beautiful and in my opinion and peaceful ending for both men- at peace with their sexuality and together, wether it be as friends or something more. The last scene with them walking together and the flashback of them playing with the guitar and ball was amazing and this was even more accentuated by the song which included the title “your name engraved herein”. I would go as far to say this was one of the best films of the past decade and I couldn’t recommend it more, at times you’ll be laughing at their friendship and the story but at others cry at how raw and real the scenes are. This isn’t a BL but don’t let that deter you from watching, everyone should watch this film.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Your Name Engraved Herein (2020) poster

Renseignements

Statistiques

  • Score: 8.2 (marqué par 15,666 utilisateurs)
  • Classé: #1352
  • Popularité: #520
  • Téléspectateurs: 27,752

Top Contributeurs

40 éditions
36 éditions
34 éditions
21 éditions

Listes populaires

Listes apparentées d'autres utilisateurs
BL / Gay (*Rated Order*)
653 titles 2825 loves 46
BL series and movies
314 titles 536 loves 7

Récemment vu par