Complété
Link
1 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
janv. 27, 2024
Complété 0
Globalement 7.5
Histoire 7.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Musique 6.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 7.0

Un film d'action post-apo entraînant

Il n'est pas nécessaire d'avoir vu Concrete Utopia pour voir Badland Hunters. Le film se suffit à lui-même et tant mieux. Si on sent qu'il manque un bagage sur les personnages, cela n'enlève en rien le bon moment qu'on passe devant ce film.

Les scènes d'action sont excellentes. J'aime les univers post-apo pour des tas de raisons. Mais lorsqu'on ajoute de bonnes scènes d'action, tout devient plus intéressant. Badland Hunters n'est pas avare et offre tout un spectacle. Les scènes sont à la fois visibles, explosives et rapides, mais aussi d'une fluidité impressionnante.
Qu'on le compare à Mad Max, en revanche, me fait un peu hausser un sourcil. Parce que je suis une grande fan de la franchise de George Miller, mais aussi parce qu'à mes yeux, le film n'a que son genre post-apo en commun. Donc, non. N'attendez pas un Mad Max coréen, ce serait trompeur.

Le casting est superbe. De Ma Dong Seok en tant que boxeur sans pitié. Lee Jun Young qui amène la pointe d'humour, mais se révèle plus profond qu'il n'y paraît. Ahn Ji Hye qui casse des gueules avec classe. Et bien sûr Lee Hee Jun en tant que médecin fou, mais où son personnage s'avère plus développé qu'il n'y paraît.

Quoiqu'il en soit, Badland Hunters est un film d'action post-apo simple et efficace avec des scènes de combat spectaculaires.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
The Butterfly
9 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
janv. 27, 2024
Complété 0
Globalement 7.5
Histoire 7.5
Acting/Cast 7.5
Musique 7.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 6.0

Will someone please think of the children!

When your introduction to a movie is a mad scientist and then an alligator wandering in the ruins of the city, you know you are in for a wild ride. Badland Hunters won’t be remembered for its riveting plot but when you have Ma Dong Seok swinging his mighty fists and a giant serrated machete it really doesn’t matter.

Three years after an earthquake that leveled Korea, Nam San along with teenagers Choi Ji Wan and Su Na live in an encampment called the Bus District. Due to a devastating drought, water is the most precious commodity. Nam San and Ji Wan are hunters for the people. They trade meat for whatever their neighbors can spare. A well-dressed group comes to the encampment looking for teenagers. The newcomers promise Su Na and her grandmother all the fresh water they can drink, shelter, and food at the only apartment complex to survive the quake. In a dystopian future when armed men come promising “heaven on earth”, best to be suspicious. It doesn’t take long for everyone to realize that heaven is not all it seems to be when a mad scientist is running the place. Nam San was ready bring hell to the complex to rescue Su Na.

It would have been nice to have some background info on our main characters, but in this sort of movie it’s not overly necessary. Though it stumbled about in regards to narrative, the fights were right on point. Nam San had to take the scenic route on the way to the apartment complex so that he, Ji Wan, and newcomer Eun Ho could battle their way through two gangs. While the story didn’t add anything new to the genre except for maybe the whole “I am the Lizard King” angle, the fights were well choreographed. Most of the hand-to-hand combat was in close quarters and bloody. Very bloody. Lots of dismemberments and decapitations. The big draw to a film like this was watching Ma Dong Seok do his stuff. I love this big ahjussi hitter.

The production values were fairly high though some of the destroyed city sets looked familiar from other dramas and movies set in the dry ruins of Korea. Badland Hunters didn’t set itself apart in this genre but it was entertaining. I could have used 25% more ahjussi hitter. I’m just happy Ma Dong Seok is still making this kind of fun action film at the age of 52. If you are looking for a taut script with new thrilling elements in the ruins of the future, you might need to look elsewhere, especially if you’ve seen a number of this type of movie. But if, like me, you enjoy watching the big guy pummel his way through baddies, even ones with long forked tongues, you might want to give this a try.

26 January 2024

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
Airaameg
4 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
janv. 28, 2024
Complété 0
Globalement 9.0
Histoire 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Musique 7.5
Degrés de Re-visionnage 8.0

BADASS ACTION, ACTION, ACTION

The story is quite simple with no twist and turns. U can predict the story but, if u love full on action then its your cup of tea. Some of the scenes are quite brutal but, i love it wholeheartedly. Visual effects and quality are top notch. BGM is good. Acting wise all done a amazing job. Ma Dong Seok action is no dojbt outstanding. Lee Jun young performance is amazing and his bromance and acfion with Ma Dong seok is perfect. Roh Jeong eul done a good job in her role. The antagonist Lee Hee Joon done a crazy job in the mad scientist role. Ahn ji Hye done a quite a action with Dong seok and jun young which was great. Kudos to all the supporting artist who done a fabulous job in the movie.
I don't know why the ratings are low but i recommend it you are willing to watch a topnotch bloody badass action movie.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
Anthojay
5 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
janv. 26, 2024
Complété 0
Globalement 6.0
Histoire 4.0
Acting/Cast 6.0
Musique 10
Degrés de Re-visionnage 4.0

Mindless actions for late night fun

Set in the future timeline inspired by Concrete Utopia, this Netflix originals film does little to retain that brilliant legacy, but instead turning it into a trashworthy bloody action B movie that's hot for streaming services. Gone are the deep level of social commentaries, here it's all about mindless actions for late night fun. Make no mistake, the fighting sequences are actually really impressive with striking martial arts techniques and crispy visual effects, but the storyline is such a huge disappointment which is going nowhere. The plot didn't fit well and it felt like they overdid most of the elements without sufficient reasoning, however for those who're ready to see Ma Dong Seok packing mighty punches, this could be great.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
andjel
5 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
janv. 26, 2024
Complété 4
Globalement 9.5
Histoire 10
Acting/Cast 9.0
Musique 10
Degrés de Re-visionnage 9.0

Korean Mad Max

Badland Hunters (or in my language Lovci u pustoši) is a spectacular post apocalyptic action movie. I still haven't seen "Concrete Utopia" nor did i read a Webtoon on which this movie is based of, but that wasn't a problem because this movie works great on its own.

The movie starts with a little bit of comedy to attract interest but very quickly continues with brutal and intense action. Fans of action and fighting won't be disappointed. In fact this movie has the best fighting scenes i saw in a while, mostly thanks to, of course, non else then Ma Dong Seok who is playing the main hunter Nam San and reminds me of Mad Max. Actually, while still being quite different, there are many other things here that reminds me of Mad Max movie and I would wish to see more from this world and characters.

The story is also strong and makes us think about the meaning of life in the world without dignity and hope. Goodness and humanity are more important than just surviving.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
SKITC
2 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
janv. 28, 2024
Complété 0
Globalement 5.5
Histoire 6.0
Acting/Cast 5.0
Musique 6.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 4.5

Punch, chop, yawn, shoot, punch, chop...

Mindless, cartoonishly violent melee-fest movies, even those that recycle mad scientist and power hungry soldier antagonists, can be great fun. And "Badlands Hunters" has lots of ingredients for a successful martial arts brawl-a-thon.

The setting, a post-apocalyptic wasteland? Check.

Comic relief sidekick? Check.

Young, innocent hope for survival? Check.

A steady stream of gangsters and baddies entering from all sides to be dispatched with a single blow or wound? Checkity, check, check.

And a Michelle Yeoh type martial arts badass female? Ahn Ji Hye crushes this.

But "Badlands Hunters" never quite puts all the pieces together for very long. Instead, it's much like the populace constantly seeking morsels of food and a bit of clean water, the fun appears sporadically and, when it does, too briefly. Part of the issue is that the first half frequently sidetracks for small laughs or plot devices that later turn out not all useful. Another part of it is that there's simply far too much invested in transitioning Roh Jeong Eui's young hope-for-humanity from a wasteland origin to the apartment building as utopia/evil mad scientist's laboratory.

The main issue, sadly, is that the big action star in the middle of it, the legendary Ma Don Seok, doesn't seem all that invested in what he's doing. Or at least not very often. The character is meant to be stoic and business-like. That's expected. But having such a character as a baseline really only works as a contrast to when they are shaken out of their typical personality and a fire inside of them is ignited, the intensity ramps up and they get super mad and go bonkers getting even. That never happens here. It's martial arts and knife fighting and shooting machine guns with all the vibrancy and fireworks of stapling insurance adjuster reports together.

Punch. Stab. Shoot. [sigh]

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
Miss Romcom
2 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
janv. 31, 2024
Complété 0
Globalement 7.0
Histoire 6.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Musique 7.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 5.0
Cette critique peut contenir des spoilers

A mindless entertaining popcorn action movie

Set in a post-apocalyptic world, this dystopian tale is as predictable and bland as it comes, but the action is entertaining and serves it's purpose of being a popcorn movie to pass the time. Ma Dong Seok is again typecasted into the heavy fisted fighter role and savior that he always plays. Lee Hee Joon plays the mad scientist. Ahn Ji Hye plays the rogue special forces soldier who teams up with Ma Dong Seok. I think you can pretty much predict how the story will unfold from there.

None of the characters have depth and you don't really get much explanation for the plot. This is a simple movie to just show action scenes which for the most part was entertaining. Ma Dong Seok's role was a bit cliche (his one punch wonder schtick is a bit corny & old, but if you're new to his roles then it'll probably be fine). I do admit I laughed a lot at his comedic one liners. The whole crazy dragon lady scenes were funny as well.

Ahn Ji Hye is the one that stood out to me. I specifically remembered her from the movie Slate where she impressed me with all her action scenes and the fact she did it all herself with no stunt double. She continues to impress here although I'm not sure if she did all the stunt work again, but it sure looked believable. I like when women can kick some ass so I may be a little bias here. I think if she and Lee Si Young did an action movie together, I'd probably die from excitement.

If you like popcorn action movies and don't mind a shallow plot, then I would suggest giving this movie a try. You probably won't remember it in a week, but I thought it was a good enough escape for an hr or so.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
NerdyGeedY
1 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
févr. 18, 2024
Complété 0
Globalement 4.0
Histoire 5.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Musique 6.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 3.0

Not Rewatchable

The movie was focused too much on Ma Dong Suk Prowers,
plot is the normal plot

this is the very first time, that this is the only thing that i wrote on a review

only 1 interesting character is Suna , other characters its the same bad guy good plot

not much to review but if you like some action scifi you can try this movie, but it will not pique your interests.


Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
Mauicles
1 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
janv. 28, 2024
Complété 0
Globalement 8.5
Histoire 9.0
Acting/Cast 8.5
Musique 7.5
Degrés de Re-visionnage 7.5
Cette critique peut contenir des spoilers

The power of three

I like Ma Dong Seok when he portrays action movies his chubbyness makes him even more cute. It's like he is trained enough to fight non- human in Train to Busan hehehe... I love the action scenes in this drama the fighting and gun fights are very well executed. It's amazing that only 3 person that fight that bad community.
Dr. Yang is so desperate to save her daughter's life the he uses different kind of subjects for his experiment no matter of he risk other people's life.
Good thing Ji Wan and Nam San the great hunter come to save Su na. In saving Su na they need to fight those bad guys, they are not only saving Su na but the entire community that has been abducted by Dr. Yang's people.
Lee Jun Young shows his action moves here I'm starting to like him already.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
M00na19
1 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
janv. 27, 2024
Complété 0
Globalement 7.0
Histoire 7.0
Acting/Cast 10
Musique 5.5
Degrés de Re-visionnage 5.5

If you're bored: this is a great watch.

I don't think this deserves 5 stars. It really isn't that bad.

The cinematography and characters were nice. I liked them. I enjoyed the plot, and even though some things were predictable, it wasn't as bad as some other shows. The fight scenes were also well-made. Yes, there isn't huge character development, but this is not surprising for a movie.

Some parts of the movie didn't make much sense, which is one negative aspect of the movie. Some things could have been explained better or delved into more. Though it isn't that big of a problem. I would like a second movie, but I don't think it will happen.
Aside from that, I recommend this movie. It's a great watch.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
thiswasneverthat
0 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
mars 16, 2024
Complété 0
Globalement 8.0
Histoire 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Musique 7.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 7.5
Cette critique peut contenir des spoilers

An appetizer, not a meal

With Ma Dong Seok as the main lead, not gonna lie, my expectations soared. And while I wasn't let down, I couldn't shake the feeling that there was so much more story to tell. A movie just didn't seem like enough; this tale deserved for a longer format, perhaps a 6 to 8 episode series, to truly dive into its depths.

I personally felt that the movie missed an opportunity to delve deeper into the aftermath of the earthquake, exploring the lives of the people affected and shedding more light on why the doctor descended into madness. The three-year time jump after the earthquake left me wanting more— craving a more thorough exploration of the characters' journeys.

Additionally, the movie could also have expanded on the mad doctor's research, providing a more detailed and scientifically grounded explanation for his actions. Perhaps I also missed a crucial detail, but I found myself confused about the significance of the laceration or whatever it was on the back of their ears. I think more explanation or context around this detail would have been helpful in understanding its importance to the story.

The part when they discussed the mission to rescue the girl, I couldn't help but anticipate one epic journey ahead. Yet, it felt a tad too short-lived. The irony wasn't lost on me when the military woman emphasized the tight security at the apartment, only for the team to effortlessly breach the building, adding a humorous twist to the situation.

Despite its brevity, I thoroughly enjoyed watching this movie. And of course, action-wise, Ma Dong Seok always delivers, never failing to captivate the audience with his prowess on screen.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
AveletteDawn
0 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
févr. 21, 2024
Complété 0
Globalement 6.0
Histoire 2.5
Acting/Cast 6.5
Musique 3.5
Degrés de Re-visionnage 3.0

Don't watch this for the story, watch it for the action

The storyline isn't great in this one, as many have said. And if you don't like gross, somewhat gory scenes, this isn't for you. That being said, I still had fun watching this and even watched a few parts again after it was over. I loved the main two guys (Ma Dong-Seok and Lee Jun-Young) and, to be fair, I turned it on after it showed up on my feed and I recognized Lee Jun-Young on the pic. They acting from these two was excellent and I understood their dynamic because of it. The young girl and grandma made sense with how they showed them, but the girl's acting was pretty terrible and 1 dimensional in this. I didn't believe much about her because of it. The army girl that shows up later did fine with her acting, but she didn't make sense and they made no effort to make her make sense. Her storyline is very much left out of this. I got the feeling the movie is from a webtoon or book because she just isn't really explained at all.

Acting and story aside though, this movie is basically just an action flick and it does a great job with being that. I loved the fight scenes and really was swept into movie from it. I loved seeing them fight their way through each situation and the acting was great in these moments. So, if you're a fan of action and don't mind some gore and gruesome scenes, then this movie is for you. Enjoy!

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
The Wilderness (2024) poster

Renseignements

Statistiques

  • Score: 7.7 (marqué par 3,683 utilisateurs)
  • Classé: #4417
  • Popularité: #2459
  • Téléspectateurs: 6,067

Top Contributeurs

50 éditions
26 éditions
20 éditions
11 éditions

Listes populaires

Listes apparentées d'autres utilisateurs
MY PLAN TO WATCH (2020-2024)
834 titles 30 loves
Completed KMovie
741 titles 13 loves
FILMES FINALIZADOS
938 titles 7 loves

Récemment vu par