Complété
Aliotis
0 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
juin 12, 2022
8 épisodes vus sur 8
Complété 0
Globalement 5.0
Histoire 3.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Musique 8.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 1.0

Aurait pu être bien meilleur

Coucou tout le monde, me voilà pour mon avis sur Ocean Like Me.

Je pense que cette série mérite juste la moyenne car elle a de gros défauts qui sont juste rattrapés par des points forts indéniables, je m'explique :

Le pitch de départ est intéressant mais je pense que l'écriture du scénario est tellement faiblarde, qu'au bout du compte le drama est très creux. Les scènes se suivent sans vraiment de logique, les événements n'ont pas ou trop peu d'explications et les background des personnages ne sont aucunement développés.

Pourtant avec Han Gi Chan comme acteur, je les croyais bien partis car je connais son potentiel de jeu, l'ayant vu dans d'autres production comme Where Your Eyes Linger. Quand à Holland, ça me faisait énormément plaisir de voir une production BL coréenne qui osait enfin faire jouer une personne faisant partie ouvertement de la communauté LGBT et j'avoue beaucoup l'aimer pour ce qu'il fait mais aussi ce qu'il représente. Malheureusement, il a du être bien mal dirigé car on voit le potentiel qu'il a malgré son inexpérience dans le domaine mais ça ne donne que très peu de résultats, j'espère le voir dans d'autres productions qui seront mieux menées que celle-ci.

Si on regarde qui a écrit ce scénario, on se rend compte qu'il s'agit de la même personne qui a fait Oh ! Boarding House qui reprenait ces petites scénettes qui s'enchainent mais, au bout d'un moment on avait un peu plus de cohérence qu'ici.

Justement, dans les points positifs, on peut mettre l'OST qui est plutôt bon, les fans de Holland adoreront je pense. Autre bon côté, la photographie : nous avons l'océan, mais surtout l'océan en hiver. Des prises de vues originales et magnifiques desquelles se dégagent une atmosphère calme et apaisante comme ce que nous promet le synopsis de la série, en cela le pari est remporté.

Côté réalisation propre, je dirai que la série réussit à ne pas tomber dans tous les clichés BL, on a une romance non agressive dans un environnement non homophobe et c'est rafraichissant. Malheureusement, il n'y a pas réellement d'histoire et ça reste très fade, sans parler du maquilleur de la série qu'ils ont du recruter sur le casting du dernier film de zombie en date parce que là, pardon !

En résumé, je dirai qu'il faut au moins lui donner sa chance pour découvrir cette ambiance et ces paysages, voir la première prestation de Holland et tenter de passer au-dessus des côtés négatifs que le drama peut avoir.

Maintenant, à vous de vous faire votre avis.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
tristram Flower Award1
60 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
mai 19, 2022
8 épisodes vus sur 8
Complété 1
Globalement 5.0
Histoire 3.0
Acting/Cast 6.0
Musique 9.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 1.0

Script? What script?

I love Holland for all he has done (and represents) for the LGBTQ community, and I'm thrilled that a KBL finally has an openly gay actor playing a lead. But the production company didn't even try with the script. In fact, calling it a script might be too generous - it's a few ideas strung together with nothing connecting them. Which is a bummer, because the characters did have promise if you squint (a shy, gullible chef trying to start a restaurant paired with an outgoing, business-savvy drifter who's like, "I must help this sweet fool before he loses the shirt off his back." Aaand I just made it sound way more interesting than it actually ended up being. In reality, they just skip from plot point to plot point with no progression or logic.)

The direction must have been pretty poor because I KNOW Han Gi Chan can act, but in a lot of scenes here, it seemed like he couldn't. Holland's acting skills didn't come across too well either, but I'd give him another chance if he tries acting again, because (*gestures toward Han Gi Chan*) even a good actor seemed middling in this drama. To be fair, there were some scenes that I thought they acted out decently.

The (literal) ocean was very pretty. I also liked that this drama skipped a lot of the common pitfalls in BL - both of them were nice guys, neither of them was an alpha, they didn't sexually harass or assault each other, and no one fetishized them. Finally, I enjoyed the homophobia-free environment! But without an actual story, it was all so very bland.

Here's hoping that these actors' next projects are with companies that will invest in quality scripts and directors. Our trailblazing icon Holland deserved better than this for his acting debut.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
Oops Im an immortal
24 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
mai 4, 2022
8 épisodes vus sur 8
Complété 0
Globalement 6.5
Histoire 5.0
Acting/Cast 7.5
Musique 7.5
Degrés de Re-visionnage 5.0

Refreshing, but not great

Overall impression: Rough start with the first two episodes but improves a little from episode 3 when plot starts to pick up. Ending is downhill again and disjointed writing. Seemed like it wanted to be poetic and "healing," but came across kind of awkward. Not the highest quality production, but still kind of cute and enjoyable if you're just looking for a short drama to waste some time.

Pros:
- Acting is pretty good, not perfect but it's mostly the writing that's the problem
- Nice setting and cinematography for the ocean. It has a calm, soothing type atmosphere which fits the "healing" description
- Lead characters are good. Han Pada is quiet and serious, but doesn't seem like a cold, emotionless character. Just shy and awkward. Tommy's character is refreshing, cute with a little sass.
- OST is pretty good. I'm not usually a fan of Holland's music, but these songs were alright for me. If you're a fan, you'll probably like them a lot.

Cons:
- First two episodes seemed rushed and awkward, but pacing improved in episode 3
- Writing is a disjointed and awkward, but not so bad it's unwatchable
- Unlikeable female character (improves a little towards the end)
- Zombie makeup
- Sometimes seems overdramatic
- Feels like nothing has really happened in the plot. Biggest plot point was skipped over vaguely.
- Chemistry isn't really there from the writing
- I don't know what the heck happened for the last episode

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
jpny01
17 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
mai 18, 2022
8 épisodes vus sur 8
Complété 0
Globalement 5.0
Histoire 2.0
Acting/Cast 6.0
Musique 8.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 2.0

Yikes.

I'm not going to sugar-coat it. This was terrible.

I'll get it out of the way - the makeup artist is either a sadist or hates both actors. Han Gi Chan looks 10 years older than he is (which means he's going to be a hot daddy in 10 years) and Holland looks deceased. I kept thinking of Beetlejuice.

The problem with this series is that the story makes no sense. Essentially, an all-star chef moves to a hut on the beach to sell udon. A homeless undead person shows up and insinuates himself into chef's life. Undead-guy is good at everything restaurant-related except protecting jugs of aged soy which are left on the floor for no apparent reason. Chef inexplicably falls in love with Beetlejuice, who abandons him in the night, leaving him heartbroken and with nobody to wash the dishes. One year later he returns and Chef takes him back without any curiosity as to why he left or any concern that he might run away again, altough tears that look like they came from a squeeze-bottle fall down his make-up plastered face. Chef seems to have been hurt by his other ex too, but at least he was wealthy and hot, and doesn't flee into the night for no apparent reason.

I'm sure Holland is a wonderful person who has had to endure harships, but we can't be good at everything, and acting is not on e of the things he's good at. I suspect he'd be able to pull off an OTT outrageous character in a comedy, but as a romantic lead in a drama, no.

Story: 2. Bad, but I gave it a point for not throwing in stock BL cliches.
Acting: 6. This is kind. Han Gi Chan is pretty good, and the two other minor characters are decent.
Music: 8. Holland sings the theme song, and it's pretty good.
Rewatch: 2. I'd say 1, but Han Gi Chan does take a shower, and I would rewatch that.
Overall: 5. It's not good. It's not embarassing (except the makeup and writing), but I did find myself hitting the +10 seconds button quite often.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
Unpopularopinionbydemand
7 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
juin 9, 2022
8 épisodes vus sur 8
Complété 0
Globalement 9.0
Histoire 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.5
Musique 7.5
Degrés de Re-visionnage 5.0
Cette critique peut contenir des spoilers

My Precious Series

Ocean Likes me was a pleasant surprise that I needed. Initially, seeing the trailer, I wasn't all that enthused about this, but eventually, this came next on my list of things to watch, so I tuned in. Good thing I tuned in without looking at reviews as the majority thinks this was mediocre at best (which I won't argue much on, since I can agree to some extent), and negative comments lead me to a negative mindset, and I'm glad I didn't have one when going into this series. Ocean Likes Me is a precious gem that I appreciate having the opportunity to watch.

Let's Dive In.

Ocean Likes Me is another BL based around being a chef/owning a restaurant in which Ba Da does, renting out a little shop on the beach to sell his udon, but his problem is that he's so shy that it's hard for him to get customers until he meets Tommy, an inspiring musician who helps him gain leverage for his restaurant. And the rest is history. The first episode was a little rocky, and I didn't love how they introduce us to Tommy.

If there are a few things I can nit-pick at in this show, then it's definitely how they introduce Tommy to Ba Da and the other girl. It made no sense, and in the end, served no purpose. He gets hit by the car Ba Da is driving and they panic and act like he's dead. It's too much for me to take seriously, and it's super silly for a series that mostly serious.

Although their relationship was heavily rushed, I literally could care less because they are the cutest humans I've ever watched. The number of times I went, "awe" to my screen was too many times. And I loved how realistic their relationship looked and felt. the little kisses they shared were so natural, and the cuddles and Tommy's little pouts and cutesy voice. God, I loved them. Again, their relationship feels rushed with the build-up of these two going by too fast to where we don't really feel their romance until their relationship begins. They hadn't had enough time with one another for Ba Da to go on a hunt for him, and confess his love to Tommy, although both actors do an amazing job, it is a bit anti-climatic. The ending is a bit rushed too, but I do like that Ba Da is supportive of Tommy leaving him to go pursue his dreams instead of holding him back, and it comes to suck that in the last 5 minutes, we get a time jump with no explanation of what went on for the both of them since then. They do get back together, which is nice, but again, we need to physically see their time on screen so we can find the space and heart to care. Other than those few obstacles, Holland and Gichan have incredible chemistry. I wouldn't mind seeing them again at all.

I really appreciate that we see Ba Da is openly gay/pan and has already been in an mlm relationship before. We don't spend too much time on the "revelation" that most K-BLs have, and instead, we really just fall for the story. Holland is also an openly gay Korean idol/actor which is incredible, and I love that he was able to portray such a healthy gay character in a healthy gay relationship.

I was surprised that I didn't want to chop my own head off at the realization that this was another food BL because of my literal hatred of Gichan's opposite partner in WYEL's food BL, My Sweet Dear (Euisoo). It was a trainwreck, so bad that I couldn't even manage to get through it, but this didn't throw me off one bit. I was happy that the cooking competition didn't take up too much time that we already didn't have. It happened quickly. and I don't feel the need to skip or FF.

On top of that, the cinematography is gorgeous. They get some beautiful shots of the sea and do a wonderful job at silhouetting the two main leads with the sun behind them and it's breathtaking.

Ratings;

Story: 8 - I think it could've been stronger, They didn't have much time to tell a full story with only 15 minutes for the 8 episodes, but they did what they could, and I appreciate that. The rushed relationship was handled a little sloppy at the end, the build-up could've been stronger. However, these two work on screen and create beautiful chemistry and told a simplistic story as best as they could.

Acting: 9.5 - I really think everyone pulled through in this. It was my first time seeing Holland act, and he did a wonderful job. I like how completely opposite Gichan felt in this compared to his character in WYEL who was a lot more bubbly and childish. Here, his mature and it shows. The others did well too. Nothing to complain about in this department.

Music: 7.5 - Holland has an incredible voice. He's a part of the very few people that I don't skip over when they're singing. So I'll give them that.

Rewatch value: 5 - A good chance I could rewatch, Just because I loved the way that the actors portray these character's relationship.

I recommend this with all of me, I finished in pretty much one sitting because I couldn't manage to not watch. Some hiccups, but this is still very much so worth the watch.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
BL Compilations
10 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
avril 27, 2022
8 épisodes vus sur 8
Complété 4
Globalement 7.0
Histoire 5.5
Acting/Cast 8.5
Musique 8.5
Degrés de Re-visionnage 3.0

want the actors in something with a better script

Overall: I really want to rate this higher (and I think I'm being gracious with a 7), but the writing/plot is nonsensical and jumpy. Watched on Viki.

Content Warnings: none

What I Liked
- the OST/music
- the kiss
- a few cute moments
- Tommy's outfits

Room For Improvement
- the plot was really lacking, there were too many characters and plot threads that didn't tie together. Scenes sometimes jumped randomly and did not feel well connected to one another. Episode 7 had a major event that happened off screen?! Cliche plot point in the 7th episode, bleh! A 1 year time jump in the final episode?!
- did not feel chemistry between the leads or a good development of their romantic relationship
- really dumb rescue breathing, he didn't check to see if he wasn't breathing (i.e. was rescue breathing required???) or a pulse first, this seemed like a stupid plot device and there are many other fun ways that the two could have met
- the worst business plan ever, Ba Da makes really awful/stupid decisions all the way to the end of the series
- I like more realistic make up, but the actors needed some eyeliner and lip color, they looked ill
- too many drone shots

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
AbsoluteBL
5 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
mai 18, 2022
8 épisodes vus sur 8
Complété 0
Globalement 8.5
Histoire 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Musique 9.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 8.0
Cette critique peut contenir des spoilers

opposites attract, grumpy/sunshine, impossible dreams

Stars Kpop’s best known out gay singer, Holland, and Han Gi Chan (Where Your Eyes Linger). Noodle shop! Broken dreams! This is a solid little KBL, with a good premise and cast. Manic pixie dream boy can get old fast but when contrasted with awkward grumpy chef? It’s a tasty combo that elevates both ingredients. Holland is a charming screen presence - baby boy is HYPNotiC. And while I wasn’t entirely sold on the chemistry, these two did give us some very good kisses and sweet domesticity. I grinned through most episodes and I didn’t even mind the standard KBL 1 year separation at the end because it felt so true to the characters.

It was Tommy’s wardrobe that really clued me in as to what was going on with this show. His jumpers are full of rough shaggy textures and stormy-beach colors: sandy browns, blues, and grays. Not necessarily colors you normally associate with an ocean, but the colors that really are there on a cold northern beach in particular. We are left wondering if Tommy is meant to be an actual boy or if he is instead a representation of the ocean. Is this actually about Ba Da learning to love himself? (Since bada means ocean).

Tommy is like a piece of beautiful driftwood that has been tossed upon the shore, soon to be swept away again on the next tide. We aren’t surprised when he leaves, we aren’t surprised that he is both capricious and consistent. He may or may not be the spirit of the sea, but either way he embodies both its relentlessness and its transience.

The sparse coldness permeating this show in contrast to the cozy domesticity it depicts when the boys are together reminded me of something out of Scandinavian film. This whole series is permeated by a sense of winter. The lighting and style is exactly the opposite to the warm atmospheric feel we got from Cherry Blossoms After Winter. These are, in a way, two different ends of the spectrum of BL that Korea produces yet they both embody the precision stiffness of KBL.

We watchers of KBL are often left with this persistent idea that we are missing something all the time, something the characters are doing just off screen, or in between episodes. We missed it but Korea also didn’t WANT to show it to us because they find it too painfully intimate to portray. This absence colors all KBL with a certain wistfulness. There’s so much left unsaid. But also un-filmed. All the scenes that Thai BL would consider key, are left out. But, for me, Oceans Likes Me managed to justify this aspect of itself in a way other recent KBLs have not (I’m looking at you: Love Class). We never see Tommy and Ba Da actually become boyfriends, they just... suddenly... are. It’s as inevitable as the ocean. There is no confession scene, there’s no first time, there’s just THEM.

And then, just as quickly Tommy is swept away and there is no them anymore.

I understand the premise of this ending (unlike most of the arbitrary Kdrama 11th hour separations) which is: sometimes you can’t just support someone else’s dreams, you have to separate in order to pursue your own dream. It’s not a lack of love that ends the relationship it’s conflicting life goals.

I was happy (and a little surprised, frankly) that they brought it back around and ended with the boys together again.

RECOMMENDED

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
willie22
6 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
mai 19, 2022
8 épisodes vus sur 8
Complété 0
Globalement 2.5
Histoire 3.0
Acting/Cast 4.5
Musique 3.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 1.0

A decent Mess

Now this was a concept without a concept. What the hell was that? Now let me tell you something. For an extremely low budget series, this one is doing it's job- adding to the number of K-BLs. Other than that, this was honestly a mess. I'm sorry but there was zero chemistry between the leads. It felt like the one who is the chef was held there with a gun to his head, ngl he was gorgeous to look at. The ocean and the food were honestly the best thing that happened in this series. The story was below basic and the music was semi decent. The end was rushed as always when it comes to these type of dramas.
If you have watched some of the other KBLs, this one is the bottom.
Give it a try, but don't expect too much because this one barely had the strength to end itself.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
cia
4 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
juin 1, 2022
8 épisodes vus sur 8
Complété 0
Globalement 1.5
Histoire 1.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Musique 5.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 1.0
Cette critique peut contenir des spoilers

what the hell was this

ima just keep this short because wtf

i like that they let someone who is openly gay take a bl role but they could of gave him a better script. THE STORYLINE? wat even was that ba da knocks down tommy suddenly lets the stranger into his restaurant and home just because he helped him with his business like i understand he helped you but thats just a big leap? moving on the business does great and then in ep 7 we know tommy wants to go have a singing career and he does but when did we decide that he was going to be left alone we went from having ba da saying he will stay by his side to him waking up alone saying he misses him?? now i wont lie i skimmed through the last episode because wtf was that. the music wasnt bad i actually liked the song during the kiss scene and added it to my playlist the acting was fine too. fire the makeup artist this isnt a ghost bl why the hell did they make them look dead for? like the first few eps werent horrible but thank god i watched this when it was completed if i watched this week by week i would of dropped it even the 5 star rating feels a bit much. i might lower it but god this was a big disappointment.

also the kissing scene was out of nowhere for me like i was really taken back by it i thought it was going to a hug and sorry like they just became friends and now theyre dating it felt super awkward and rushed i was upset because i watched 3 korean bls before this today trying to get them watched and this just ruined my vibe. underwhelming not even a drama that i would mention if i was asked for shows that u turn ur brain off to watch.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
Quinn7
3 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
mai 19, 2022
8 épisodes vus sur 8
Complété 0
Globalement 8.5
Histoire 6.0
Acting/Cast 10
Musique 8.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 9.0

Fun, light, and relaxing

"Ocean Likes Me" is a really cute drama with a simple, slice-of-life plot. The two main characters balance each other out well-- Ba Da, a shy, reserved restaurant owner and Tommy, a relaxed, outgoing singer-turned-beach-bum. The setting of the series is relaxing, set on a cold, small town beach, which gives the series a gentle, wistful feel. While the story wasn't necessarily the most organized, it was engaging enough to keep the viewers coming back for each episode.

One major plus for this series is that Holland, the actor/singer who plays Tommy, is openly gay. It's wonderful seeing an actual gay person playing a gay character. Also, Holland did a good job depicting the character of Tommy in a believably adorkable way, making him a lovable main character for this lovable series!

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
En cours 7/8
Suibian
3 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
mai 18, 2022
7 épisodes vus sur 8
En cours 0
Globalement 9.0
Histoire 8.5
Acting/Cast 10
Musique 10
Degrés de Re-visionnage 9.0

I liked it - but didn't "love" it

(No spoilers)
This is an ongoing review, and I still haven't watched ep 8.
The setting of this story is absolutely amazing. A beautiful, vast, blue ocean, and a cute little shop near the side selling udon. I was enticed by this beauty.

Story - The story was really normal, and I didn't expect something "majestic" at all. I felt that this story was good, but there were times I thought that it wasn't worthy enough to be made into a drama. No offense, it is like some Wattpad short story that can be read in under 30 minutes.

Acting - Surprisingly professional acting. Something expected from han gi-chan; But Holland! I never expected him to be such a good actor. Even though their script wasn't promising, their emotions made an impact. I liked their chemistry, and the tension between them was fine.

Music - Nothing to say, just 3 words - I LOVE IT

Production - So-so. I don't think there was much to it that made me think "oh my god", but it wasn't so bad to be noticeable.

Makeup - I liked the makeup, tbh. It was realistic, and I was happy they showed the couple to have a normal face, with blemishes like normal people. More to add, I am happy that they didn't show some extreme beauty hunks that are somehow normalized in bl, because in reality, people like them don't exist everywhere.

Overall - I think it was okay. I won't remember it much but would like to rewatch it at times.

Rating - 8/10

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
En cours 6/8
Alonso Lioneth
4 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
mai 11, 2022
6 épisodes vus sur 8
En cours 0
Globalement 7.5
Histoire 9.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Musique 8.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 6.0

Well...

The food in this series looks amazing, so if one of the producers' intentions is making me want to eat and have a hot boyfriend, then they are accomplishing it!

Tommy is just not my type of guy and I really dislike his hair, but I do like him as a character. My skinny bubbly arse feels represented and I can't wait to hear him sing at the end.

The kisses although not great they make you bite into the fluff, but I don't feel this strong chemistry to be honest.

I like the story, the cinematography, the location, and the music. I personally love the overall production, It's so characteristic.

I really like everything about Han Bada, so there is no point addressing how attractive I thing he is

It's a 7.5/10 for me but I might give it an 8/10 depending on the last 2 episodes

Cheers!

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Ocean Like Me (2022) poster

Renseignements

Statistiques

  • Score: 6.7 (marqué par 6,379 utilisateurs)
  • Classé: #9864
  • Popularité: #1160
  • Téléspectateurs: 14,462

Top Contributeurs

31 éditions
21 éditions
18 éditions
14 éditions

Listes populaires

Listes apparentées d'autres utilisateurs
Korean BL Master List
227 titles 1004 loves 6
Short KDrama
2102 titles 441 loves 15
2022 BL drama list
131 titles 239 loves 22

Récemment vu par