Complété
Entertainment Guru
10 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
oct. 15, 2021
8 épisodes vus sur 8
Complété 0
Globalement 8.5
Histoire 7.5
Acting/Cast 9.0
Musique 10
Degrés de Re-visionnage 8.0

Short but better then some full length BL

So I am being brutally honest I didn't have much of interest, because I was like another love triangle. And they don't have time so they are going to rush, but when I watched the first episode omg like our main leads chemistry Haewon and Eun Kyu was so strong and even JiSoo and HaeWon chemistry was so good, and even though it's love at first sight. But it didn't look unrealistic. Like they are able to serves a better story then Bite Me. Like it's thousand times better then Bite Me. Like they are able to show a love Triangle and give it a proper ending then Bite Me who have 12 episode but still can't able to show a good confession. Like let's talk about the acting they were so good in terms of chemistry to dialogue delivering everything is better,
Music Oh La La Oh La La welcome to my Florida, like one of my all time favourite Osts
Re-watch I am gonna re-watch this right now
It's deserves your time and efforts

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
Bex
41 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
oct. 16, 2021
8 épisodes vus sur 8
Complété 1
Globalement 3.5
Histoire 3.5
Acting/Cast 5.0
Musique 5.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 1.0

I really thought Idol Romance finally made a good show

After the first two episodes, I thought this show was going to be good. I thought "Wow, Idol Romance finally learned from their mistakes", but immediately after episodes 3 and 4, I realized that they hadn't. The only thing I liked about this show was Eun Gyu, but more on that later.

The story was just boring. Nothing happened. In the span of 8 episodes, not a single thing happened. The whole show can be boiled down to this: a new guy joins a restaurant and creates an overly dramatic love triangle that would never happen in real life. I don't understand who green-lit this script. It could've had the potential with a different storyline than just another love triangle. I do admit, Hae Won and Eun Gyu did have decent chemistry. The actors did their scenes nicely. But what seriously lacked was some development in that relationship. And the fact that Ji Soo and Eun Gyu got into such a dramatic argument about a guy they'd known for a month, despite their 15 years of friendship, seriously annoyed me as a viewer. There was so much backstory between those two friends that never got unpacked, other than maybe 5 minutes across all episodes that just dropped bombshells of information on us.

Along with the story, the characters just bothered me in so many ways. All of them. They were all poorly written. This is no hatred towards the actors, by the way. But I don't get why all the characters were so childish when they were all at least in their twenties. Why did they all start acting so fussy just because of some new handsome guy joining? Ji Soo was just a very uncomfortable character in the weird way he forced himself upon Hae Won, but Hae Won was also annoyingly naive. And I didn't understand what the real function of Ha Jin and Joo Seo Hyuk was. They were just kind of there.

I hate critiquing acting because I know I'll never be able to perform the same way, but the acting in this show was not that great. The only actor who I genuinely thought was good was the actor playing Eun Gyu. The guy playing Ji Soo was also good at times, but it was Eun Gyu who carried the show acting-wise. I hope to see him act in other shows after this because he really has talent.

Overall, no, I did not like the show. And I honestly don't recommend it to anyone. I think you'll only like this show if you swallow *anything* related to BL. But this show was just not good. I would've dropped this show if it weren't for being so short.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
Kate
35 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
oct. 15, 2021
8 épisodes vus sur 8
Complété 0
Globalement 6.0
Histoire 5.5
Acting/Cast 8.0
Musique 7.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 5.0

Overly dramatic considering the actual content.

I sadly have to say, the only things I enjoyed about this short BL were Kim Yoo Hwan’s performance and the set design for the café.

From the strong jealousy that can mess up a friendship that lasted 15 years, through the magical speed of learning how to cook, to uncomfortable skinship Ji Soo was doing, I am just confused. The overreaction on the character’s parts did not correspond well with what was truly happening on screen too.

Even though Cha Woo Min's acting was lacking, the chemistry between Hae Won and Eun Gyu was quite nice - the problem was the lack of development. They presented it as quite a strong connection and love, while they barely knew each other. Considering they are all adults, the scale of the problems that Hae Won’s pretty face brought to the café was ridiculous.

This whole “lost dad” story came out of nowhere, and felt like an afterthought. Even the dynamics between Ji Soo and Eun Gyu were simply confusing.

Truly felt blessed by Kim Yoo Hwan - he delivered the internal struggle so well, it was easily visible on the screen even without any dialogues.

Overall, I don’t really have thoughts. It’s just one of the shows that happened, I saw and then moved on. I feel like it could have been a really nice short BL if they toned down the dramatic aspects - it was not that deep.
Will be paying attention to Yoo Hwan’s future projects since he impressed me a lot.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
Ophelio
8 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
oct. 16, 2021
8 épisodes vus sur 8
Complété 0
Globalement 6.5
Histoire 6.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Musique 6.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 7.5

"The (un) Tasty Runtime"

So the tasty Florida was a nice little BL. I don't have much to say because... There wasn't much. Hence the title.I have some criticism tho. But let's start with the good which is the acting and the visuals. Loved it, chef kisses. The visuals were amazing and the acting was not bad, it could have been better but hey, this is their first series so that's a good sign. Korean series are always so striking visually and this was no exception.Now, the bad. The runtime. You guys, I need y'all to give BLs more time, please. The series was so short that the issues were resolved in a matter of two seconds.
Production companies need to give Koreans bls more time, and this is essential for bl stories to grow and have a bigger audience in Korea. It is a fact, think about, if you only have 10 min - 12 min and only 8-10 eps, the development of the overall series is 0-5 (I guess lol), meaning, us (the audience) won't care for whatever you are giving us, therefore, we won't support the bl. Believe me, I have stopped watching some BLs because they lack that development. so please, thank you.

For more Visit my Tumblr myshyyangel.tumblr.com

DISCLAIMER: AFTER RE-WATCHING, MY OPINION HAS CHANGED ON THIS BL. I AM SO SORRY

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
u got mail
7 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
oct. 16, 2021
8 épisodes vus sur 8
Complété 0
Globalement 9.0
Histoire 7.5
Acting/Cast 8.0
Musique 9.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 8.0

Tasty but needs little spice

so i have seen some reviews and how they condemn the web series but i think the did pretty well. i dont know if they are rookies but i loved their effort especially that of the main leads. their chemistry was top notch without even trying. the story was quite basic and i think they could have done better. now if there is any aspect that felt off for me was that the other 2 best friends were not really connected to the drama. i feel that though its a web series with little time, the directors would have done better to have a better dialogue for them that would bring the series together rather than having it seem like bits and pieces.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
BL Compilations
10 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
oct. 15, 2021
8 épisodes vus sur 8
Complété 0
Globalement 8.5
Histoire 7.5
Acting/Cast 9.0
Musique 9.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 7.5

A cotton candy BL - sweet & fluffy with nothing substantial to it

Overall: if you want to see a ton of longing and jealous looks, gorgeous guys and like food, then this is the show for you. FYI the description on viki is not accurate as to how the plot plays out (you don't cook for someone that you hate). At only 8 episodes ~10 min each, it's very bingeable. I'm waffling between overall an 8 or 8.5.

Content Warnings: 1 punch

What I Liked
- the visuals
- the production value was good
- there were several sweet moments
- the funny moments , my new favorite way to tell someone their cooking is awful "it tastes new" haha
- I actually don't mind the common tropes like accidental fall, hurt/comfort, apron tying, drunk scene, etc.
 
Room For Improvement
- this is a 'love at first sight' situation which though common, isn't my favorite
- how the two guys were fighting over the other guy like he was an object and didn't have any say in the matter
- odd how the cook left his recipes and baby photos in his old apartment
- though I think it played out pretty mildly, love triangles aren't my thing

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
virgievirgie
6 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
oct. 16, 2021
8 épisodes vus sur 8
Complété 0
Globalement 7.0
Histoire 7.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Musique 8.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 5.5

Short and Average BL drama

10/16/2021

This is a very short BL drama, eight 10-min long episodes. I would be pretty annoyed if I have to wait each week for just a 10-min episode. They should just make a movie. The drama is a low-budget production, which is not surprising. However, it's pretty average comparing to other BL dramas.

Considering this is the first acting gig for the whole cast, they did a decent job. I would say Kim Yoon Hwan, who plays the main lead, Euen Gyu, might be the better of the bunch. His chemistry with Cha Woon Min wasn't bad. However, the plot is too simple and not much happened. It's just many glances/staring between the two. The love triangle isn't done well.

I would only recommend this drama to those who think the actors are cute and good-looking to watch. I don't find them that attractive, except maybe Kim Yoon Hwan, so I didn't enjoy it as much. Of course, this is all subjective. I am not the target audience, esp. when I am an old woman. LOL.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
lestay
7 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
oct. 16, 2021
8 épisodes vus sur 8
Complété 0
Globalement 6.5
Histoire 7.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Musique 7.5
Degrés de Re-visionnage 5.0
Cette critique peut contenir des spoilers

Gonna be honest with you- this was just an okay series

I have completed this Korean BL series. And what can I say? I felt that it was just an okay series that I believe had so much potential, but, unfortunately, did not live up to it.

Story-7/10
I honestly felt that the series started off good. But something happened along the way. I mean, I was totally invested in the relationship of Seo Hae Won and Baek Eun Gyu. And then just so, we are told that Cha Ji Soo also like him. But, like you just know there is no way that this is a so called love triangle. Cause any body, even a blind person, can see that Seo Hae Won likes Baek Eun Gyu. What was the point of this aspect of the storyline? Doesn't make sense to me. And then i just got confused at the end because Baek Eun Gyu has left Seo Hae Won for a year to go and find/visit (I don't even know which one it is, cause I just glazed over) his father who is in Florida. So...yeah. And because of these random storylines trying to be told on an eleven minute eight episodes series, pacing here will clearly be an issue. But just because I like the beginning before all of this, I give this series a 7.

Acting/Cast-7/10
Kim Yoo Hwan acting stood out the most in this series out of all the actors. So, because of that, I will give it a 7.

Music-7.5/10
Honest to God, I forgot what the music sounded like. So, I had to go back and play it. And it actually sounds good. But because I forgot how it sounded, I'm going to give the music a 7.5.

Rewatch Valu-5/10
I actually do not see myself watching this series anytime soon again. I felt that for me this series really didn't make that much of an impact for me to say I won't watch it or to also say that I will watch it. It wasn't that memorable to me.

Overall-6.5/10
Overall, I give this series a 6.5. Personally, to me, it just wasn't that memorable to leave any sort of impression.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
Jessica
4 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
oct. 15, 2021
8 épisodes vus sur 8
Complété 0
Globalement 7.5
Histoire 7.5
Acting/Cast 9.0
Musique 9.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 5.0

Cute, But a Bit Basic

How to describe The Tasty Florida? It serves you several overdone romance tropes in a bite-sized, visually pleasing palette cleanser. Like most KBLs, the unfortunately low number of episodes combined with their short length leave us with a story and romance that feels a bit rushed and under-developed. Backstories regarding missing/dead family members, childhood experiences, and that pre-relationship tension-building could have benefited from further exploration and exposition, but I know that having a healthy budget that would allow the time to really explore these issues in a Korean BL is hard to come by. That said, those would have been the main factors to distinguish this short BL from others, so the lack of focus on them leaves this feeling rather typical. Instead of being memorable for the storyline, this one (to me) will be remembered more for the setting and set.

That said, the drama was simple and sweet and had me smiling in I think every episode from all the uwus. The chemistry between the two leads was pretty decent. You could tell they were comfortable around one another, and there was a naturalness and ease about their interactions with one another. The acting overall was solid; I only felt like a couple of the supporting cast was a tiny bit stiff, but nothing terrible.

I really enjoyed the OST. The songs were catchy and light and matched the vibe of the drama very well.

Overall, I would recommend, especially if you need something cute and fluffy.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
Queer
7 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
oct. 16, 2021
8 épisodes vus sur 8
Complété 0
Globalement 4.0
Histoire 1.0
Acting/Cast 5.0
Musique 9.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 1.0
Cette critique peut contenir des spoilers

Total waste of time

I just finished after binge watching it and I have to say that I have a love-hate relationship with the entire thing.

Love:
On the other hand, the music, the setting, and the good looking guys are the only things that kept my attention all through the entire show. The only things that saved it, in my honest opinion.

Hate:
Stereotypical new guy joins a place where two guys like him; one of the guys get the new guy and the other is a jealous asshole who deems it his right to claim the new guy as his own without doing anything about it. NO telling the new guy about his feelings toward him, no ASKING him out on dates, etc. It shouldn't have had a love triangle at all, if that's how things went down! Geez, I had high hopes for this one and yet it disappointed me. Truly wish I didn't watch it; as cruel as that sounds.

And the kisses! Geez, it's like every single K-drama BL has a one peck thing when it comes to kissing. I know that they're uncomfortable with it, but you guys are actors! You should know that acting is just that! ACTING.

I didn't like any of the characters at all, however. The actors themselves were okay but the characters they played; SO bland, SO annoying, just.. ugh. I'm disappointed.

Music was a 9/10, acting 5/10, story 1/10, Rewatch value 1/10

It's truly sad that I had to rate this one as low as I did but here we are.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
jea
5 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
oct. 15, 2021
8 épisodes vus sur 8
Complété 0
Globalement 7.5
Histoire 7.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Musique 8.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 8.0

A short and packed to-the-point BL story you rarely find

Short doesn't mean bad. I'm a bit surprised that it's not too fast-paced like the other short BL drama. I like that this drama is also to the point and so focused only on 1 couple which is the main couple, they only added scenes that were important to show the main couple's feeling development. As for the story...hmm I'm not really a fan, it's just so-so, not that interesting, nothing new, and not complex at all. For the acting, I think they're not that bad, but Kim Yoo Hwan (Eungyu) is surely a great actor and def in a different league compared to the other casts. I love their OSTs, the lyrics suits the drama. Because this was short and to the point, I will rewatch it again to refresh my mind.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
Unpopularopinionbydemand
4 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
janv. 29, 2022
8 épisodes vus sur 8
Complété 0
Globalement 7.0
Histoire 9.0
Acting/Cast 8.5
Musique 5.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 1.0
Cette critique peut contenir des spoilers

Cute Korean BL

Out of the recent Korean BL's I've tried to sit through (Peach of Time, My Sweet Dear), which caused me extreme boredom, and slight chronic insomnia, you couldn't imagine my reaction when this series popped up next on my watch list. it's the mix of Korean BL's being hysterically short, and disrespectfully rushed that draws me out of their stories, but finally, a BL that I can give at least some type of credit to. Not for being anything different than a regular K-BL, but at least for keeping me entertained. The Tasty Florida was a simplistic plot with beautiful-looking characters and chemistry that I can support.

Let's Dive In.

The Tasty Florida was another extremely short Korean BL, that follows a similar path of My Sweet Dear, but less dull, and characters that I can actually enjoy. It starts off with the new dude falling in the arms of another dude, giving us the perfect love at first sight trope, and from there were introduced to new people, a very weak love triangle, and a rushed ending. However, this series was super laid-back and beautiful -- starting from the restaurant, to the actors themselves. But again, this series suffers from the same matters that other Korean BLs do -- which is sad to say, cause this one had such great potential to be one of the best K-BLs, but instead it falls right under being just good enough.

The things I enjoyed about TTF: Let's give credit where credit is due -- all of the actors are gorgeous. Yoohwan and Kanghyuk have sharp features and blinding smiles, not to mention their incredible build. Seungjun has such an entertaining hairstyle, that fits perfectly with his lean stature, and mesmerizing facial structure. Woomin is adorable, with a childlike aspect in his face, and windswept hair, but Zeze hits different. he's like a God. He looks so ethereal and majestic that he can't be true. so unbelievable that I had to pause the screen for a moment and just gawk at his beauty. And to add on, they all put on a really nice performance. I liked Yoohwan's the most, with Kanghyuk playing a close second. But either way, they all did a really good job. I'd say the lowest acting-wise was Zeze, but even then, he's done better than others I've watched.

I also really did enjoy the chemistry between Seo Hae Won and Baek Eun Kyu. I'm a sucker for the "realizing-I'm-falling-in-love" trope, and just watching two people gain connection and build up chemistry until it reaches its peak and it has to climax. and these two are great examples of that. I wish that it could've been developed a little longer, but then again, that would mean we'd need a longer series, but for what we got, I was satisfied. I think these two did an amazing job at showing their chemistry through eye contact and simple gestures. I absolutely loved them.

I'd have to add on that the production was really nice. I loved the scenery of the restaurant. The colorful vibes and the cool warm pastels accentuated the mood of the series. I liked the overall cinematography of it all.

Some things that needed improving: Cha Ji Soo was treated horribly. I was actually very much interested in this character and very much so rooting for him and Seo Hae Won for half a second. But sadly, the love triangle this show tries to have is so weak that it's barely even there. Of course, we already know who the lead will end up with in the beginning, but if they're going to go for a love triangle then I think they should've gone full force. Have Seo Hae Won also develop feelings for Ji Soo. Have them maybe end up kissing, or have a conversation about it. Love triangles are because the lead is in love with both choices, not just one. Also, how Ji Soo decided that he would be okay with watching the guy he likes and his best friend dating every single day at work is beyond me.

The dojo thing was very pointless. It didn't drive any plot, it didn't raise any conflicts -- it was just there. Sure, the scene with them rustling and rolling around on the mat was cute, but what other justice did it serve? Nothing! That time could've been used to add more plot, to build more connections. I would rather see more Zeze being godly than a dojo.

The ending was rushed, and the year time jump through me completely off guard. Not to mention, that there wasn't any type of character change in regards to features or just relationships over a period of time. I hate time jumps when they don't show a change of growth in characters. Them crying in each other's arms was cute, but I think just 5 or 6 months with him away would've been fine.

Ratings:

Story: 9 - From what we got in this short series, the story was good. I'll take off a star for the weird time jump, and the rushed ending.

Acting: 8.5 - Everyone did a really good job. There were some hiccups here and there, and some acting choices should've been different, but overall, it was good.

OST: 5 - I don't remember it which means it wasn't a distraction but was also not anything to recollect.

Rewatch Value: 1 - I might actually go back to watch certain parts of this series, like Sao Hae Won cuddling a drunk Eun Kyu.

I recommend this series for anyone wanting a quick and pretty lighthearted watch.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Florida Banjeom (2021) poster

Renseignements

Statistiques

  • Score: 7.3 (marqué par 11,572 utilisateurs)
  • Classé: #7466
  • Popularité: #761
  • Téléspectateurs: 20,726

Top Contributeurs

23 éditions
16 éditions
16 éditions
15 éditions

Listes populaires

Listes apparentées d'autres utilisateurs
BL / Gay (*Rated Order*)
653 titles 2828 loves 46
Korean BL Master List
227 titles 1003 loves 6

Récemment vu par