Complété
Totally-Dramas-Addicted
0 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
juin 22, 2022
16 épisodes vus sur 16
Complété 0
Globalement 9.5
Histoire 9.5
Acting/Cast 9.0
Musique 9.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 7.0

Un très bon drama "Youth/University" avec un excellent cast.

- Le duo Cha Tae Hyun & Jinyoung est la clef de ce drama.
- Le couple Krystall / Jinyoung est très attachant (même si les OTP auraient pu être plus fréquentes, et l'alchimie un peu plus intense).
- La fraternité, l'amitié sont comme d'habitude les valeurs mises en avant dans ce type de drama. C'est fait ici avec beaucoup d'intelligence.
Le plot Hacker/policier est bien exploité et l'histoire est vraiment bien construite.
La réalisation est dynamique, soignée, avec de superbes plans.
Les OST sont entrainantes, très KPop.

=> Un très bon drama (qui permet d'admirer la plastique de Jinyoung :)

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
Marshmallow-Chocoholic
29 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
oct. 7, 2021
16 épisodes vus sur 16
Complété 0
Globalement 5.5
Histoire 5.5
Acting/Cast 6.0
Musique 5.5
Degrés de Re-visionnage 4.5

Does ‘Police Academy’ Need To Be Interrogated In Room 101?…



‘ Police Academy’ is a fairly lighthearted approach to the “detective and crime” genre- sweet and surprisingly heartfelt in parts, comical in other scenes and undeniably with more irritating flaws also . So this leaves the ultimate question; is ‘ Police Academy’ worth watching?

The acting front is solid enough here. There are a few slip-ups when long dialogue pauses or line deliverances felt a little mismatched against foregrounded scenes, but Jung Jin Young certainly exceeded expectations as main lead Sun Ho. The idol actor added a level of angsty-sweetness to his onscreen persona .

Sun Ho was a subverted example of the “ main lead with a tragic past”. He didn’t follow the stereotypical routes taken in fiction of being jaded, arrogant or the “ apathetic prodigy” but a fairly normal and confused teen. There were some surprisingly touching scenes ( never to be explored or seen again ) with surrogate father figure Yoon Taek II ( Oh Man Seok) as well as his fraternal-style relationship with best friend Yoon Seung Bum( Choi Woo Sung) helped to foreground some functionality within Sun Ho’s everyday life. However for our main character to befriend fairly positive influences such as Seung Beum and deal with a pretty austere paternal figure such as Yoon Taek this ultimately begs the question; “Why and how did Sun Ho learn to hack and get involved with the authorities ? “ There’s the argument by some viewers that " it is a take your brain out comedy" and “ Sun Ho did so because he was bored”", however, the show never really tied this major point concisely. Perhaps it wouldn’t be too bad if the drama hadn’t carried this over more as an important role in later episodes with sporadic and partially-inaccurate terminology and tech setups , only adding to the confusion as to Sun Ho’s involvement in this world .

This then leads us to talking about his “reasons” for training to become a police officer . A character doesn’t always necessarily have to go down the “ vengeance backstory” route, but it was an odd move that the drama didn’t interlink or at least explore more about Sun Ho’s backstory, his parents as well as some sense of relief and poetic justice for Sun Ho’s goal to become an officer . Aside from the prosaic reasoning in the show that “ the girl I like is pretty and can fight , I want to have a goal and follow her too.”

On this subject there’s evidently also the problem revolving around Kang Hee. Idol actress Krystal isn’t too bad here. This is admittedly not one of her most captivating performances, but not unwatchable either. Our female lead Kang Hee is a bit of a mixed-bag. Despite being Sun Ho’s "dream girl", Kang Hee does have a more evident character drive than Sun Ho in parts. Her mother is far from being a good citizen and Kang Hee has often put academic pressure on herself to succeed in order stray away from being labelled as her “mother’s daughter”. ( A relationship which was given a patchwork happy redemption arc later on without a lot of explanation)However here’s where we hit a major rut with Kang Hee; she isn’t a likeable character.

Of course we are supposed to like her in theory . She’s intelligent, a talented fighter and witty. However the problem with the female lead is that whilst she does have a ‘’complicated ‘’ past which helps to explain some of her motives, she never seems to learn to grow, accept or develop. Perhaps it wouldn’t be too bad if the show pointed this out or made Kang Hee mature by accepting her own mistakes or begrudgingly understanding the errors of her ways, but sadly Kang Hee rarely escaped her one-dimensional character depth throughout the drama.

Then there’s the potential ‘’ onscreen relationship’’ between Kang Hee and Sun Ho. The setup itself is simple enough; Kang Hee is Sun Ho’s crush and his raison d’être. The female lead has rarely noticed Sun Ho up until the storyline of the series, but this soon changes when events begin to unfold. It’s a straightforward enough concept and whilst Krystal and Jin Young’s onscreen chemistry was decent enough, the relationship often hit a rut due to a lack of definitive development as well as hitting an anticlimactic conclusion.

Meanwhile away from the problematic romance factor of the drama there’s then the topic to discuss about Yoo Dong Man ( Cha Tae Hyun) also. Aside from serious questions being raised about how Dong Man wasn’t picked up by any of his colleagues for his initial attitude to Sun Ho, Dong Man is your typical seemingly “ gruff and arrogant cop with a heart of gold”. It was evident that the drama would go down the route of exploring Dong Man’s gradual buddy friendship with the male lead and it was undeniably sweet. On the other hand there was lot left in the air about exploring more complicated depth with Dong Man’s character; his past, rivalry, rookie days and his own complicated feelings when the antagonist is revealed in their midst was often left as unexplored territory.

The antagonist(s) and “climatic tension” of the drama were fairly predictable- not bad per say, but simply existing for the sake of “ plot drive” rather than being given depth or more prominence. As a consequence the ending was quite anticlimactic. Sweet and on a happier note than possibly viewers were anticipating but nonetheless cliche and slightly disappointing.

Whilst ‘ Police Academy’ did offer some enjoyment through its impressive cast lineup and style, the drama’s ability to tackle character writing, depth and plot tension and climatic build seemed sporadically thrown together and lacklustre often resulting in anti climatic solutions or endings . Overall ‘ Police Academy’ was mediocrity at its best- okay if you’re watching just out of boredom and not bothered about writing during a binge-watching session but those looking for a drama with an enjoyable police buddy element and depth may want to look elsewhere.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
the_sapio_nerd
50 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
oct. 5, 2021
16 épisodes vus sur 16
Complété 7
Globalement 6.0
Histoire 7.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Musique 8.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 4.0

Use it as a trash watch or drop it, won't matter.

Police University should have come 5-6 years back to be accepted as something good (not even very good because Kdramas had such dramas back then too which did extremely good). With a basic decent plot, this production messed up with every different aspect of a show, creating several flaws that can't be ignored.

Police University is basically the happenings of a university which is definitely different than other academic educational institutions along with an accompanying plot of cybercrime thriller that the main cast tries to solve. Yu Dong Man (Cha Tae Hyun), an ace in homicide plus cybercrime investigation with 20years experience ends up in Korean National Police University (KNPU), as a disciplinary action due to messing up a high-profile case. There he meets Kang Sun Ho (Jung Jin Young) as a fresher with whom he have had bitter experience in recent past. Due to multiple encounters at critical moments, they decide to work together on the case and gradually grow fond of each other. Oh Kang Hee (Krystal Jung) a girl determined and hardworking, have had hard times because of her mother who has been prisoned multiple times. She also finds the case to be linked to her mother's conviction and helps the duo in solving it. There are also Roh Bum Tae (Lee Dal) and Jo Joon Wok (Yoo Young Jae) who are the lead couple's closest friends in the university and are also a part of the secret investigating team.

Other minor yet important characters are:
Park Min Gyu (Choo Young Woo), who is also a good student, in one-sided love with Kang Hee and plays cheap tricks few times; Choi Hee soo (Hong Soo Hyun), a judo professor; Kwon Hyuk Pil (Lee Jong Hyuk), law professor, Seo Song Hak (Kang Shin Il), professor of Scientific Investigation & Public Administration.

I can't say that the plot development is very bad but it's definitely below average and awfully dull. It was dragged at many points that it becomes boring and so many illogical as well as useless elements. There are plenty of instances of inconsistent writing and the there is a null character development for the even the main characters. The screenplay writing skills are of poor quality, no doubt the writer is a rookie. The story, plot or screenplay, none of them felt like that of a university life in 80% of the drama. I mean police university is different from the usuals but this was very far from that.

The story is dominated by Cha Tae Hyun and Jung Jin Young giving other very less screen-timing, making them insignificant. Whatever the characters other than these 2 did, awfully looked like mere showoff which was forcefully fitted to make the drama lengthy and attractive, which became a miserable failure.

Park Min Gyu who is supposed to be the 2nd ML turned into a noone after 5-6 episodes, adding to his pathetic acting; ngl, I don't think he's prepared for cable dramas yet. Jin Young needs to improve his skills; his character rarely did give off the vibes of a male lead, his expressions to be particular were not very suited according to the mood, also annoying. I wonder why Krystal accepted this drama where her character even as a FL is nothing but an annoying, immature girl and isn't appealing even in the peak moments. The character was only there to fulfill the ML's love interest. Firstly she's not a rookie actress and secondly she's worked in good dramas but this just---. I have admired Cha Tae Hyun from his pree 2000 dramas and movies and he's a nice actor but I couldn't get myself to like his character in here. May be he was directed to act like that but that also made him lose the essence of his own skills. And Young Jae plus Lee Dal duo who are supposed to be comedy sidekicks kept passing lame jokes till the end which weren't a bit funny.

Director could have compensated this bad script but even he failed to do his best. In fact, another major drawback for this drama is it's sound and screen editing skills. I swear it low-key felt like that of a pre 2010 drama but again, those drama did better job in this regard. The camera work sucked to it's core making the viewer lose interest to continue. OSTs are good, I gotta admit.

Comparing it to some of the dramas with similar setup, a very good drama comes to mind, i.e. LIVE (2018). Though KNPU things were for just one episode followed by the story of a patrol division, the movie did an amazing job seeking attention and winning hearts but look at this mixture of light comedy and lame investigation work. I'm not sorry that I couldn't even enjoy it as a light drama.

The story felt kinda good for the first 2 episodes. The rapid yet touching progression of the plot, Sun Oh and his adoptive father plus brother, his backstory and present life portrayal were all good but it somehow fell through in 4th episode and nobody could help it. I feel it should have been a 12 episode drama only for the sake of not making the viewers lose interest and eventually drop it in between. However, one of the very few things I liked about it was the mystery plot, as for to discover who the key personality at the top of the pyramid who have deployed so many people for his greed. They managed to keep that in suspense till the very end and the revelation was quite astonishing. I'm glad for that.

Overally, Police University (2021) deserve the least hype and I'm glad it ain't that popular in real time. I had so much expectations from the story because of the cast obviously even though I was aware of the skills for most of the characters but I came here to be disappointed. It's totally fine even if you don't try this. It's just me who is bad at dropping so I anyhow forced myself into finishing this. Or if you wanna kill time, use it as a trash watch.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
Lipsi
22 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
oct. 5, 2021
16 épisodes vus sur 16
Complété 0
Globalement 10
Histoire 9.5
Acting/Cast 9.5
Musique 8.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 7.5

Worth watching❤

Story:
Ok i love the story so far. It started with A detective named Yoo Dong Man who is willing to catch the culprit of a illegal gambling site & Crossed path with a Hacker named Kang Seon Ho while tracking the illegal gambling site which kang seon ho hacked & stole money from the illegal gambling site for his father's surgery. Then Kang Seon Ho met a judo Ace girl named Oh Kang Hee & fell in love with her at first sight. While following her footsteps he applied for Korean National Police University & got accepted. He then again crossed path with Yoo Dong Man who is now a Professor at KNPU. They both basically hate each other but they grew fond of each other and started investigating the illegal gambling site along with other professors & students.

Acting:
They all are new to me as i started watching kdramas like from only 6 months. But i must they all are so good actors❤ i can't judge them as they are so talented.

Overall:
Police University is currently the best among all. It's neither a heavy thriller drama nor a typical Rom-Com drama. It has the perfect amount of thrill, mystery, suspense to blow ur mind, a cute healthy romance between the two leads to make ur heart flutter, a strong friendship and a heartwarming relationship between the teachers & their students. The way they all support each other is worth watching ❤

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
Architectofnonsence
17 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
oct. 6, 2021
16 épisodes vus sur 16
Complété 5
Globalement 5.0
Histoire 5.5
Acting/Cast 7.0
Musique 6.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 1.0

Don't waste your time on a series of Clichés drama

It started with an amazing first two episodes that had so much potential then went down hill after that ,,,, I waited for good bromance and was very disappointed ,,, I waited for good romance and it became all about repeated overused Clichés
I waited for good crime story and it was really draggy boring with no exciting or thrilling element
I waited for good Police academy life story and it became a very bad commercial about police university with everything rosy and lovely so sweet to be believable
I'm so angry at my self for continue to hope and every episode is a big disappointment
truly you will waste your time watching this very cheesy drama

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
Ali316
17 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
août 17, 2021
16 épisodes vus sur 16
Complété 0
Globalement 10
Histoire 10
Acting/Cast 10
Musique 10
Degrés de Re-visionnage 10
Cette critique peut contenir des spoilers

A fun and serious lessons on life being good. Vs being acriminal

Wow another great drama. The cast fits its parts: Cha tae Hyun plays Yoo Dong Man a police officer demoted to a professor at the PA for his unethical means to bring down a gambling ring. Then we have the handsome/Hot Jung jin Young plays Kang sun ho who's parents died when he was 10 raised by dad friend he was lonely and smart he started playing with a computer and became a hacker on black Net know as Joon. His stepdad/bro gets in an accident with Dong man & find out he has CA., but surgery is $7000 so he hack it from illegal gambling ring. Not soon after Dong man and parnter arrest the 2Boys via video the father begs to give them a chance and so he did unwillingly. Next we see Sun ho meets Dong man at the P. A. he tells him to quit, but kang sun wants to prove himself to be good. Just before being accepted Dong man finds out that the hacker Yoon who been helping him is no other than Sun ho. As things turn for the worst his partner PaWow another great drama. It does have a few spoilers but not the full effect. It's about catching a gambling ring within the police dept. and the police academy holds the ring leader. It's full of excitement, murder, intrigue mystery, romance, jeousley and funny as you think you figured it out..Bam your wrong.
I think the cast picked fits its characters: Yoo Dong Man a police officer demoted to a professor at the PA for his unethical means to bring down a gambling ring that caused his fiance death. Kang sun ho who's raised by his dad friend after their deaths. Being smart he loved playing with computers and becomes a hacker on black Net know as Joon to help people. His stepdad & brother get in a car accident with Dong man & Park choi jin and find out he has CA. The surgery is $7000 so he winds up hacking an illegal gambling ring he was looking into for bird. Not soon after his dad surgery Dong man and choi jin interrogate the 2Boys after there caught on video at the atm. The father begs them to give them a chance to make it up and live and learn and so he did unwillingly. While helping his brother Yon seung bum at a judo match he over hears Oh kang hee is going into the PA(he fell in love). Next we see Sun ho meets Dong man at the P. A. he tells him to quit, but sun ho wants to prove himself to be good. While investigating the PA Dong man has been trying to reach yoon so he has Choi jin look into. They later finds out that Yoon who been helping him is no other than Sun ho. As things turn for the worst when choi jin is drunk and call dong man and state there in the PA then hes injured. So now Bird ask Yoon for help as they begins following the clues ex: phone, bugs, finger prints, computer etc as Dong man investigate new players are being tossed in the mixed. He begins to question those around him in order to clear there involvement and makes new friends along the way. Sun ho goes to court with kang hee as her mother is being framed of running a gambling site and Sun ho sees the same Monogram used. Then back at PA sun ho computer is hacked by a blackmailer who has a copy of his arrest record. As clues are showing up about ex prof.Go an ex-cop & felon so Dong man decided to be a detective again so quit the PA, but doesn't tell anyone. So the students start to follow clues and get help from prof. Hyoek pil & Prof. Hee soo and get his attention. So they all start to work together and put the pieces of clues together in one place. They figured out where the target is, but once again someone tipped them off and it seem that every time you suspect someone your really not sure. As we get closer to the end the clues and evidence are becoming clearer and the bad guys are nervous. Knowing Dong man was tailing them he was setup and hit by a truck on drivers side needing surgery to head. Sun ho decides to continue following Dong man notes and hacks the computer of the blackmailer and then calls the police. So now the BM needs Sun ho to get him out in return he gives a keycard for a safe in the Pa that holds the ledger and money. Dong man is visited in hosp by *$&#*who gives him sun ho arrest record then warn him he could be next. I really dont want to go further as i would need to use the names or give away the great ending that I didnt even expect it. So this is the quickest version. With his friends help they find where the keycard goes, but the 2 boys get caught and put in front of committee in the meantime he breaks in, find the safe, once open the BM appears and put a gun to his head then our girl shows up and TASER his ass lol. As this is happening Dong ma leaves hosp and goes to PA to save the kids. ( During flash backs we see what actually happens) Bad guy taken to jail while sunho and dong man try to break the ledger code and upon leaving hosp sunho is arrested. then the *$&#*offers to release him for ledger things go back and forth as they finally figure out who the Prime person was and why it happened as they try to close it... Something new happens and Sun ho being a hacker comes into play at the PD and he is either suspended - expelled -or quit - jail time. What happens to Sun ho??? Stay tuned and watch the show dont fast forward in the beginning of each episodes as they are flashback and clues.. Enjoy as much as me😀👍🏻

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
Frilay
7 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
oct. 5, 2021
16 épisodes vus sur 16
Complété 4
Globalement 7.0
Histoire 7.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Musique 7.5
Degrés de Re-visionnage 5.0

How do you keep a viewers interest?

For somebody who literally gave this is 10 when it was starting, I'm not that surprised on my rating being down... oh and I haven't written a review since at least early August so bear with me.

Police University is about the male lead, Sun Ho. Who is going to Police University mainly because of his crush. The female lead, Kang Hee! Then he's Dong Man, another male lead that's wayy older than the rest of the students in the university. He's been a police officer since! I personally think the story is just plain, like it's not so bad that you pause every scene, but it's not so good to be so exicted for another episode now that the show's done being aired.

When I first started the show, I was excited! Most people say the first episodes were slow but I think they were fine enough to make me excited! Somewhere around episode 9 per say is when the hype died down.... Maybe because I was behind episodes a bit? But when I caught up, it just got really boring...

I just had to put the love triangle in it's own category.. I mean, what even IS this love triangle?? Min Kyu has NO personality at all! Other than just having a crush on Kang Hee,. I think Hometown Cha Cha Cha did it better than this- I know I'm comparing two different shows right now but... this whole love triangle was and is a mess! Not even feeling a teeny bit bad for Min Kyu.

The acting? Oh my gosh, Jin Young.... where do I start man... at first, I thought he was actually alright, but no.... Ever since episode 10 or 11 I started realizing how bad this acting was... this is no shade to anybody who likes him! You can like whatever actors you like, I just... don't... Other than that, the acting was average as a whole. Minus Jin Young. And I just found out he's in MFFL?! I literally watched that and he was kinda good!

The music was pretty average... I bumped the score up a bit because of that one track called "Winners." It's pretty catchy!

I'm not re watching this, there's no way...

What this show lacked mostly was viewers interest. I don't how they did it, but they did.

But in general, the show is just average. They're WORSE shows than this that I won't even get into. Like I said, it's not so bad but it's not so good either.... I feel like some people in the comment section are being too extra.... if this was released in 2019 then I don't think a lot of people would complain as much as right now. I recommend you to watch if you either have nothing to watch or you want more things on your completed list! And I would also recommend to watch in 2x speed. Maybe 1.5x

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
cocovanne
5 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
oct. 7, 2021
16 épisodes vus sur 16
Complété 0
Globalement 5.5
Histoire 4.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Musique 4.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 3.0
Cette critique peut contenir des spoilers
At the time of writing this review the average rating was 8.1 which in itself is surprising because I wasn't getting positive vibes from different social media platforms about this show. I myself wasn't a lover but I can't say I hated it - definitely middle of the road.

I have three judging criteria for dramas & movies: Casting, Writing and Cinematography. If one of them is badly off then it's a no for me. But I can be flexible sometimes but it depends.

What worked for me in this drama was the casting. Their performances weren't award winning but there were moments when they got me (either funny or sentimental). They did a great job with the selection because everyone fit their role so well. And the cinematography, such an underrated appreciation but I love it when a show is done well and I don't have to squint and the camera work.

What didn't work for me - the Writing
Plot wise this show was a dud that really didn't develop to anything. It had an abundance of overused tropes and a lot of dead end scenes that really made no sense. Because of this there was quite an under use of the cast's acting skills.

Now for me going off the rails - Opinion Rant time
Since when has it become a thing to set up a character with skills and attributes in the intro episodes only to forget about said skills and attributes and make that character useless instead for the majority of the drama but then remember at the end and throw in a dog bone scene to use that said skill. I'm seeing this more and more in kdramas and I have beg the question "Why?"!
Why would you do that? In this case the star of the drama is a hacker. We saw him hack in the beginning and the end, the middle not so much. Why wasn't he doing what he was good at? Such a waste and to add further insult they made said character do some unnecessary things.

I also didn't like the black & white morality when it comes to crimes and the law. Maybe I'm too leftist but I see it as ways to punish the weak and keep them down. The tone didn't strike the right note especially when it was repeated that "no matter the reason one shouldn't break the law" - cue eye roll. And then lead trying to punish himself - more eye rolls.

But back on track now.
The drama itself wasn't a bad watch for the comedy. the sentimental scenes were a bit much but to sum up: Veterans would want to take a pass on this but it can be a fun watch for maknaes

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
CathiRo
3 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
juil. 9, 2023
16 épisodes vus sur 16
Complété 0
Globalement 10
Histoire 10
Acting/Cast 10
Musique 6.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 8.0
Cette critique peut contenir des spoilers
I ended up being pleasantly surprised with this drama. I especially loved Cha Tae Hyun. After really liking Cha Tae Hyun in Brainworks and now Police University, he’s become one of my most favorite actors.

The story itself was okay but most of the actors did a really good job. I hate to admit that once I figure out who the leader of the bad guys is I tend get impatient for him to be revealed.

Unfortunately the leading couple was boring; however, the male lead was more interesting with his mentor Professor/Detective Yoo. Their relationship was one of the highlights of the drama.

My favorite part throughout the show was the friendship and the loyalty between Seon Ho, Jun Uk and Beom Tae.; also Seon Ho’s adoptive father, Mr. Yoon. I cried when Seon Ho finally started calling him Dad. I know I’m sappy like that.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
Lexi Red
7 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
oct. 6, 2021
16 épisodes vus sur 16
Complété 0
Globalement 10
Histoire 10
Acting/Cast 10
Musique 10
Degrés de Re-visionnage 10

Police university

One of the best shows and i really liked it
The acting is good and my heart flutters every time i see kang sun ho❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤❤ and for sure i did hope jun wook end up getting a girlfriend but his friendship was strong enough to let him give up wow proud of u jun wook
I really liked if Min kyu s love affection took place more in the last episode , the directors didn't give that so i want a police university season 2
Love all the police university cast ❤
Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
OneAjhussi
3 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
oct. 7, 2021
16 épisodes vus sur 16
Complété 0
Globalement 7.0
Histoire 6.5
Acting/Cast 9.0
Musique 7.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 6.0
Cette critique peut contenir des spoilers

Pretty good for 2/3 of the drama then went downhill until the swerve.

1/ STORY:

A young hacker and a rogue police inspector meet by chance when dealing with a ring of illegal gambling. Things turn bad and they part ways but they are reunited later as student and teacher in the KNPU (Korea National Police University). From there they start a collaboration to stop the criminals from the ring hidden in the university.

The thriller starts interestingly. The drama manages to present a suspenseful tracking of the bad guys and it is difficult to identify the suspect among the different characters. The duo works well on the field and emotionally. It's like a buddy cop movie. The team of two is growing bigger as young Sun Ho befriends some comrades and they help him and inspector Yoo Dong Man and other professors give contributions.

There is a romance part. ML and FL are good-looking in uniform and their romance is told in a cute and unexpected way.

After 2/3 of the eps, things get serious as the dominoes start falling. And this is when the drama goes downhill. The drama puts misery on the ML and his professor and spins 5 episodes around the question of who the ultimate boss is. The final revelation of his identity and why he did what he did is ridiculous. The drama ends with a lesson of moral as the ML punishes himself out of a misplaced need to obey the Law when the society asked nothing from him about his mistake. If he wanted to pay, all he needed to is donate the money, take down the illegal website, become a cop asap and do the right thing. Why inflict himself a dumb punishment to make him loose two years of his life. Really an immature thing to do which spoiled the ending. When everyone was cheering during graduation, he was like an idiot.

2/ CHARACTERS:
- Yoo Dong Man : loud and annoying sometimes but has his own dedication and ethic regarding his job that are not so bad.
- Kang Sun Ho: useful skills as hacker but I found him a bit bland and saying sorry too many times. His decision to punish himself in the end was respectable but the way he did it was plain stupid.
- Oh Kang Hee : Pretty useless apart from that intervention in the shooting range. She was there mainly for the romance.
- Park Min Kyu: Annoying love rival who still has a happy ending.
- Two goofy friends: nice friendship and rivals in love with a funny ending
- Judo professor : I liked her. She looked both a fun person with a sad past and a suspect of crime.
- Law professor : From suspect to buddy.
- Professor Seo: Boss of KNPU and benevolent guy with a too human side
- Park Cheol Jin : Good guy, good cop who lost his way.

3/ OST:
Nothing special. Adapted to the cop genre.

4/REWATCH VALUE:
Nothing sparkling and fun enough to make it rewatchable.

5/ OVERALL.:
Started well but ended disappointing. The last episode was crap. 7/10. You won't miss anything by passing this one.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
Sidhika Trisha
5 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
août 13, 2021
16 épisodes vus sur 16
Complété 2
Globalement 8.5
Histoire 9.0
Acting/Cast 8.5
Musique 8.5
Degrés de Re-visionnage 8.0

friendship is this series is muahhh

●HOW I CAME TO IT
Among dozens of dramas going on why did I have to come across POLICE UNIVERSITY, maybe because I have a sheer admiration for uniform. We have seen lots of drama about high school, medical school, law school, Fashion Schools, and Army Schools, but this drama was about cop school I couldn’t resist watching until its finished. I know it's a big mistake because I just loved the two episodes. AWESOME.

●FIRST IMPRESSION
The first episodes open up with an advertisement for Korean National Police University's new recruitment, followed by a high school judo competition and a gambling scene at a casino. In the first 15minutes, only this drama set a high bar promising to give us an amusing ride of friendship, thrilling action, chasing criminals, and tough trained police officers.

●PLOT VIEW
I get the idea that Kang Hee, Sun Oh, and Dong Man will build a great team at the university, and eventually, they will help him crack his case of gambling. Dong Man may seem harsh, but he has seen through Sun oh, he doesn't want him to become a harmful officer, his intense grueling will lead him to become an honest officer. if Dong Man let him loose, he might have felt inferior but instead of being harsh why is he soft towards him. there will also be some family secrets surfacing in future episodes.
the overall plot is very interesting we could see the rookie officers crack a big case, despite being punished. they made great team. I loved how Sun-Oh character get a development. I love the view on giving up life when things become hard. getting punished is better than doing suicide. humans need guts to suicide but it takes even more guts to take the punishment and live this precious life.

●ACTING/CAST
I am looking forward to everyone's great acting. I get the feeling of Hwarang by seeing the boys doing mischief and yet supporting each other.
Krystal as Oh Kang Hee looks tough yet gentle. I last saw her in the prison playbook and she had grown a lot as an actress. Her expression and body language are nice. her story seems like of a problematic family
Jung Jin Young as Kang Sun Oh had such has a baby face that he looked like a high schooler. His looks add to his genius hacker personality yet a solitary soul. I hope he shows great growth and becomes a model police officer.
Cha Tae Hyun as Yoo Dong Man a righteous police officer wants to crack cases but ends up in the Police university. His role suits him well. he will give the students important life lessons, making them into good officers. I also hope he also gets some brains considering how irrational he acts sometimes in 2nd episode.

●MUSIC
Winner OST by Han Seung Hoon had an upbeat tone. It perfectly blended in the scenes as BGM and gives a more passionate feel.
I am waiting for more ost eagerly to see what's in the store for us.

●REWATCH
Rewatch will decide later. But one thing is for sure, we will get to see some epic friendship, which I definitely would love to see again.

● UPDATE
~I would rewatch a few of my favorite scenes showing the friendship. I really adore that about the show.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Police Academy (2021) poster

Renseignements

Statistiques

  • Score: 7.9 (marqué par 10,439 utilisateurs)
  • Classé: #3037
  • Popularité: #580
  • Téléspectateurs: 25,843

Top Contributeurs

187 éditions
73 éditions
55 éditions
29 éditions

Listes populaires

Listes apparentées d'autres utilisateurs
All Time Favorite Dramas
686 titles 1725 loves 35
Teams & Partners
192 titles 174 loves
Crime/Politial Dramas
343 titles 153 loves

Récemment vu par