Complété
Tudalenn
0 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
mars 4, 2024
15 épisodes vus sur 15
Complété 0
Globalement 6.0
Histoire 6.0
Acting/Cast 5.0
Musique 6.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 6.0

Quel dommage! Quelle déception!

Si l'on veut passer sur tous les détails gênants de ce drama, on peut être entousiaste mais, car il y a même des mais : il y a un fond d'homophobie très ennuyeux, exemple lorsqu'un des protagonistes se défend d'être gay en disant qu'il aime un homme pas les hommes, comme si aimer les hommes était dommageable. J'imagine bien que c'est difficile d'assumer dans le monde actuel d'être "différent" d'une norme que l'on nous inculque depuis la naissance, mais cela aurait été plus correct qu'au moins un des protagonistes dise qu'il est gay même s'il en a honte, même s'il le découvre après ses 20 ans. C'est souvent ce que propose certains BL : "je t'aime car c'est toi mais je n'aime pas les autres hommes car au fond je suis hétérosexuel!" Ce genre de discours m'incommodode au plus haut point. Tout ça pour que cela soit plus acceptable par la majorité. C'est vraiment moche. Sinon cela aurait pu être un très chouette BL romantique. Je n'ai pas encore parlé des baisers et du manque de désir des deux protagonistes. Ils sont dans la vingtaine en bonne santé physique et is s'embrassent comme des enfants de 6 ans et n'ont aucun désir sexuel. Cela peut être un très bon sujet à traiter mais je ne crois pas que ce fut le cas. Le personnage de Arthit semble totalement amorphe sensuellement parlant et même dans SOTUS S. Je ne parle pas de tout le côté bizutage qui est traité à la légère : soit c'est du bizutage et il faut le combattre, soit c'est de l'initiation et les initiateurs peuvent être polis, corrects et le faire sans gueuler comme des cons. C'est dommage, quelle déception! Ce drama est passé à côté d'une belle réussite et surtout d'un beau message qui aurait fait chaud au coeur de beaucoup de gens.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
Silver_Sylphy
110 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
déc. 27, 2016
15 épisodes vus sur 15
Complété 15
Globalement 10
Histoire 10
Acting/Cast 10
Musique 10
Degrés de Re-visionnage 10
Cette critique peut contenir des spoilers
At first I was not expecting to enjoy this from the couples perspective, but more from the university/ hazing angle. I mean another BL (when I did realise it was BL). Nothing wrong with a good BL story, but it's getting kinda long in the tooth.

That being said, I did not read any spoilers before (hence not knowing it was BL). The upbeat music score (Soh Sut Soh Say performed by Keng Thachaya) was just so powerful it had to be attached to something, at lease, exciting. Boy was I in for a surprise!

The actual hazing was a bit far fetched for reality, but added to the premise and story quite well. The SOTUS acronym was really fully thought out. (Could someone Thai say if it is real?) Not starting as the typical love story was, again, another plus. Trying to cipher out where it was going was like being a detective. Would it be more about the hazing and the relationships formed because of a fear of the seniors? Would it force the juniors into relationships? The development of the characters was not predictable at all.

The magnificent performance of N' Krist (Sangpotirat Perawat) and the facial expressions of N' Sinto (Ruangroj Prachaya) really added to tension and emotion. Not in any way putting down the pool of amazing Thai actors, and having watched quite a few Thai Dramas, I don't think anyone else was more worthy to play those parts. These two played well of each other and even the rest of the cast, bringing a feeling of realness to the episodes.

The ending. Wow. It is just the perfect circles of circles. Karma, faith and such. Everything just falling together for a reason!

The only one critique I could find was the secondary characters could get a little more development. They do take a backseat to the main. By backseat I mean all the way in the back of an articulated bus! A little more time about them would have been just perfect! This, in no way, takes away from the realness or storytelling. It's just a very, very tiny gripe.

All in all a worthy story, impeccable acting and amazing music score. Well worth the watch! Has to be the best for it's year and possibly one of the best Thai Dramas of all times! Hormones set a bar, but SOTUS has raised it!

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
Pinoy Ares
45 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
avril 6, 2020
15 épisodes vus sur 15
Complété 2
Globalement 8.0
Histoire 8.0
Acting/Cast 10
Musique 7.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 6.0
A lot of people has been suggesting this drama so i thought id watched it and see wha the fuzz is about. There was so much shouting in the first 2 episodes that my housemates complained about the noise.

The title says it all - Its an entire series about the SOTUS tradition, if you are looking for romance/love story, i feel like there was too little of it here. Kudos, at least for trying to show something a little bit different.

The strength of this series is the cast. Krist and Singto, and even all the support did a good job.

However, 20 episodes for the whole series is just way too much and I think they could squeeze the entire show into 10 episodes and it will still convey the same message. It feels like there were so many over extended scenes to fill up the time.

Lastly, the actual love relationship between the 2 main cast didnt really develop until the last few episodes leaving them with little time to actually portray the love story - there was almost no intimate scenes. Its like the characters stayed in the closet for too long and didnt want to ever go out. Even when they were alone there was almost no intimacy, leaving me to question if its really love or just bromance.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
Liz
40 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
janv. 10, 2017
15 épisodes vus sur 15
Complété 0
Globalement 10
Histoire 10
Acting/Cast 10
Musique 10
Degrés de Re-visionnage 10
(Sorry for my english)
It's incredibly rare for me to give 10 to something because I think that's the vote reserved to just masterpieces and nothing else but that's exactly what is Sotus for me: a masterpiece and the most beautiful and perfect love story I've ever seen.
I love every aspect of this drama, the actors are great (especially the two leads who seem really in love, I was blown away by their performance, they deliver all the feelings in an incredible realistic way) the characters are all likeable and adorable, the music is beautiful and perfect in every scene, the love story is finally a realistic one (I was so tired of the love at first sight of movies and drama..) that keep me in tension since the very beginning ... I have no complain at all and I have to say that I hope that there won't be a second season, I'm too afraid that if there is the magic will be ruined by the same old cliches ..
I must, howewer, admit that not all in this series is perfect, there are some incredible bad mistakes like bracelets that change to one arm to the other and many things like this that could have been avoided with more attention.. the sound also is somethimes really bad but I know that is a problem of all the Thai series.
These two problems anyway for me don't ruin at all the magic that I feel in this serie that I must say it became my favourite serie of all time... yes, I'm madly in love with Sotus XD

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
Muzik_Lover
23 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
janv. 8, 2017
15 épisodes vus sur 15
Complété 1
Globalement 9.0
Histoire 10
Acting/Cast 9.0
Musique 8.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 9.5
I've known about Sotus the Seris being in production from well over a year ago. Even before Make It Right the Series came out. It's just that I lost hope/interest (if that's the right words) in it because it was taking so long for the series to come out, but when it eventually did I put it on hold for the first 3 months of it's airing because I was too into other dramas to watch Sotus. When I finally got around to watching Sotus; I was not the least bit disappointed.

The series is great with a really well written story be Bittersweet with it's "typical" kind of plot line, but interesting setups. What makes the series stand out is that the two actors portraying Kongpope and Arthit are really immerse into their roles that it makes the acting seem natural and flowing. If you were to compare with Lovesick and MIR (although I don't like to compare them), the acting seems more natural, but maybe that's because of the age difference between the leads of Sotus to the leads of Lovesick and MIR.

For being relatively new actors, Krist and Singto were very talented and as I stated above; acted very natural. All the other actors were great too.

I didn't really get pulled in by any of the music in the series, but overall the selection of songs in the series were not bad. They just didn't appeal that great to me.

There were some awkward scenes where things just "stood still" for a minute or 2 and you didn't really know what was happening, but other than that the series was great!

Definitely a must watch/re-watch! And I hope for a season 2 like the rest of the Sotus fans!

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
Pinoy_Oppa
13 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
févr. 5, 2017
15 épisodes vus sur 15
Complété 0
Globalement 10
Histoire 10
Acting/Cast 10
Musique 8.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 10
I just finished watching this series and all I can say was that it exceeded my expectations. It was a pre-produced drama and it was well crafted, the development of the characters are being done beautifully. The pacing of the story was well crafted and the acting was as natural as it can get.

I wish I can read the English version of the novel by Bittersweet. This show just brought everything into one, there's a bit of comedy, bit of drama, bit of annoyance and much on romance.

Themes like friendship, respect, acceptance, rejection, romance are being tackled here. I loved how the title of the series did actually focuses on the story. At first, I have worries that it will get boring and the theme will become darker because I thought that the story will be about bullying, abuse of power and violence but I was so wrong...I loved how the character of Krist as Arthit took its turn from being mean to the sweetest guy towards Kongpob. Though he was confused as hell at first that had him worried about everything else in the world he was able to sort out his feelings and the way he acted to Kong was just the sweetest, i really love the tender moments between them and I couldn't get enough of it, I want more haha. Singto as Kong was also great in his character, he was this sweet guy all throughout the series but was vulnerable about his feelings towards Arthit. He knew for sure that he like Arthit and that his admiration developed into a stronger feeling but I just loved how positive his character is, despite of fear of rejection he was still positive that things will work out fine. These two main protagonist of the series are just so adorable, they're just so perfect together. In reality, Singto is a year older than Krist but him playing as a younger character was perfect and Krist on the other hand was convincing as a senior. Damn, you must agree I believed that you have your full admiration to Arthit especially with how his character evolve.

The supporting cast was great as well, they brought balance to everything in the series. And the people that surrounded Kong was as adorable as him, Em, Tew, Wad and Oak. They reminded me of myself when I was still a student having a squad like that made my student life memorable enough with the experiences I had from good ones to bad. The girls were so pretty as well. People around Arthit reminded me of my ROTC in college where that kind of squad was well respected at the same time, most juniors were scared of them.

I love this series that I didn't want it to end and getting extra episodes was still not enough because I need more haha. Somehow the story has to end, but one thing that made my viewing of this series more fun and enjoyable to watch was because of the side comments of the person who translated the subtitles from Thai to English. He or she injected his/her inner thoughts and side comments as subtitles as well. It had me laugh so hard.

Ahhhh that Pink Milk Monster is killing me!

God, why do this series has to end?

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
hajima_chogiwa
10 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
juin 24, 2018
15 épisodes vus sur 15
Complété 0
Globalement 10
Histoire 10
Acting/Cast 10
Musique 9.5
Degrés de Re-visionnage 10
Hello everyone. I don´t know who in the Thai drama fandom hasn´t seen this yet. And I don't know how much others like it. But I DO know that this is my favorite drama next to Together With Me.
Let me first address the cast and acting. Krist and Singto are absolutely wonderful and I have been in love with all of their works since this. The acting is very well done. All of the dramatic sense are well done and the crying actually looks real compared to other dramas. Next, the music. I loved the opening and the instrumental of it used in other sense really brings the music and show together. Rewatch value is definitely at the max, considering that I HAVE rewatched it.
One thing I really love about this show is how it doesn't need a ton of kissing sense or romantic things in it. This sho makes just small sentences have so much power and love in them that every time I hear Kongpob be his cheeky little self, I get butterflies. I honestly could go on about this show but at the same time, I can´t express my love for it if that makes sense.
Everything about SOTUS just makes me smile and I hope others will love it too.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
maryel18
10 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
févr. 22, 2018
15 épisodes vus sur 15
Complété 0
Globalement 10
Histoire 10
Acting/Cast 10
Musique 10
Degrés de Re-visionnage 10
At first, when I saw the photos of 2 male main lead I was not interested in watching it (actually I told myself, why that Thai dramas always have the drama that is BL). But since they always shows on trending videos , I look up here on mydramalist the reviews and it get me interested when saw the rating was high. So I watch it and I was never disappointed and find it interesting. This is my first BL drama I've ever watched since I'm super addicted  to Korean Dramas.  I just simply love this series, they are cute and lovely couple.
Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
Artisseoul
9 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
mars 9, 2018
15 épisodes vus sur 15
Complété 0
Globalement 10
Histoire 10
Acting/Cast 10
Musique 9.5
Degrés de Re-visionnage 10
Love! Love! Love! One of my favorites! Their chemistry is off the hook! Even though the love stuff wasn't immediate, it was HOT!!! I shipped them soooo much! Watch it! You won't regret!

You will ship them!! Kongpop looks like he will EAT Arthit any second now!! Arthit looks like a deer caught in headlights! Watch Season 2! You will not regret anything!

I love everything overalll... especially their character develpoment! I loved, and still do, Kongpop pick lines. he always says them at the right time, so it wasn't cringe!! PLS WATCH! You won't regret!! The actors are also good friends, so their chemistry are beautiful!!

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
Toppiyo
9 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
août 8, 2018
15 épisodes vus sur 15
Complété 0
Globalement 10
Histoire 10
Acting/Cast 10
Musique 9.5
Degrés de Re-visionnage 10
If it were somehow possible to convince everyone on this planet to watch SOTUS, I would do it in a heartbeat. This drama has impacted me in so many ways. As long as I watched this, I felt like there was nothing else going on the world, the world was just this drama. Perhaps not the healthiest feelings to have, but it really drew me in in a way that I cannot explain.

Dramas have made me cry before. But I've never cried because one ended. I found myself unbelievably heartbroken after finish the last episode of the second season. Little things would remind me of this series, and I would become sad after remembering it's over. I spent so many hours watching fan videos and interviews with the actors. I convinced my friends to watch it, and I'll keep trying to convince even more friends to give it a go.

SOTUS is very unique in that it can be enjoyed by many people. One of those friends I mentioned is a straight male - and he really enjoyed it (although he had to look away during kiss scenes!)

At first, Arthit might seem like an asshole - the hazing process might not make any sense - but you'll start to understand by the end. Rewatching this series was just as great as it was watching for the first time, because now I know what the hazing really meant, and why Arthit does the things he does.

The romance is just so well done, it isn't forced in its development. They don't try to like each other, it just happens, without their control.

Even the side couples are adorable.

My only wish in life is for a season three.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
Polaris
12 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
mars 5, 2017
15 épisodes vus sur 15
Complété 0
Globalement 10
Histoire 10
Acting/Cast 10
Musique 10
Degrés de Re-visionnage 10
This piece of art defines BEAUTY.

They say love makes people irrational. We can be unreasonable and our opinion becomes unreliable. Even so, I am writing this review not caring about sense and logic. I just want to gush over the perfection this series has shown us. From the story to the dialogues (YES, those sweet, sweet dialogues that could have been cringe-worthy disasters if not built up and delivered so well in the story and by the actors), one can only praise the writers, the production team and the cast. I'm in love, and I don't think I could get over it soon, I'm not willing to do so.

Perhaps, everyone is excited for the next season especially after it was confirmed that one is under production, but all I have in heart is fear. I don't want its beauty to be tainted or tampered. I can only hope for the best while expecting the worst. #haveFAITH

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
Kyuubikage
10 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
avril 21, 2020
15 épisodes vus sur 15
Complété 0
Globalement 6.0
Histoire 6.0
Acting/Cast 7.5
Musique 7.5
Degrés de Re-visionnage 5.0
Cette critique peut contenir des spoilers

Needs Work

I'm late to the party, though in this case isnt a bad thing.

Let me start by saying hazing is a fucking attrocious act and it should not ne treated as anything less.
The homophobia is something ill comment on later.

You can definitely tell this is an earlier BL drama due to how subject matter presented and how topics are poorly handled. Like how this show ia trying to make hazing seem like a trivial thing...i shit you not.

Three or more odd moments stick out were characters are like 'oh i met my wife' or 'it heloe appreciate...', 'and i made friends...'. that is just glossing over an act that is very problematic. Its not an after school event were people ocassionally get abused by others, its a problem and it is poorly handled, i cant helo but think the head writer was very disillusioned.

Now onto the homophobia...i dont know what its like im Thailand so i have to right to throw american homophobia into their culture, but the "i don't like men just Arhit..." ruined that moment when they openly admited they are dating. Yhis isnt the first bl to do this, but as high as it is rated youd think they set a golden standard and they go below what is stated.

It has no rewatch value. Its not even good fluff, the story is more "serious" with the hazing, but the lack of using the material to have a better story was completely wasted

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Sotus: The Series (2016) poster

Renseignements

Statistiques

  • Score: 8.0 (marqué par 30,370 utilisateurs)
  • Classé: #2612
  • Popularité: #223
  • Téléspectateurs: 49,873

Top Contributeurs

47 éditions
41 éditions
33 éditions
31 éditions

Listes populaires

Listes apparentées d'autres utilisateurs
BL / Gay (*Rated Order*)
653 titles 2825 loves 46
Thai BL Master List
687 titles 1495 loves 11

Récemment vu par