Complété
etherealjae_
11 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
nov. 11, 2023
8 épisodes vus sur 8
Complété 3
Globalement 8.5
Histoire 8.0
Acting/Cast 10
Musique 10
Degrés de Re-visionnage 9.0

Ao Haru Ride’s Best Live Action

Let me start with stating that I was a fan of the anime, and quickly pick up the manga right after, and unfortunately did not end up as one of my favorites due to many frustrations, but I was super excited about this live action since the trailer came out, why???

THE PERFECT CAST! like I was so surprise of these cast. I have also previously watch the live action movie version, and that pale into comparison with it’s casting especially for the main leads. I expected myself to be attracted to Kou, but never expected myself to be more attracted to Futaba on this version, the actress is such a delight to watch, and she wasn’t just pretty, she absolutely nailed the character, it was such a natural to watch her.

Season 1 only has 8 episodes, compare to anime who has 13 episodes, and the anime did not even get to a point where the main leads had their first kiss, so that being said a lot had been skipped. This live action was more fast paced and only focus on the highlights of the story, I would have like them to have spend more time on the friendship side too, and here I am suddenly wishing JDrama would have more episodes on their season. Probably the only cons I could point out. It would have been more flesh out relationship/friendship wise if there were more episodes to show the interactions.

Despite it being felt short, this version was definitely worth watching, the cast brought in their characters on a silver platter, they like came out of the pages, and portrayed their part beautifully.

The chemistry between the leads was great! I wish to see more and more of them, and I cannot wait for the season2. I need the sweet couple moments!

IF YOU ARE NOT FAMILIAR WITH THE STORY:
The premise was amazing, the story is truly a classic romance story with all the drama if you like drama. Childhood friends/crushes who parted ways due to unexpected situation, and met again when both aren’t the same person as they used to be, and despite that changes, managed to still fell for each other the second time around and mixed it with drama.

I used to be very frustrated with Kou like I wanted to shake him so badly, but with this version (at least to what has been shown so far in terms of Kou’s attitude with Futaba) it’s been tone down which I appreciated so much, and the portrayal of the actor makes me understand his situation and his actions, his eyes are very expressive that hold such sadness, and all kinds of emotions.

With more drama coming their way on season 2, I would like to separate that second half of the story from my rating, season 1 served well and big thanks to the cast, I enjoyed every part of it.

THE OST WAS SO BEAUTIFUL! I’m addicted to the ost, it has been on repeat.

P.S. big thanks to the subber that subbed the show, she didn’t want to be linked but you’ll see her watermarked at the credits, it’s been amazing watching fansubs again, it takes me back when subs are done so beautifully matching the fonts, subbing all parts.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
S a n d u n i
3 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
déc. 16, 2023
8 épisodes vus sur 8
Complété 0
Globalement 9.0
Histoire 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Musique 9.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 9.0
Hey there! So, I recently watched the live-action adaptation of Ao Haru Ride Season 1, and let me tell you, it was absolutely fantastic! As a fan of the anime version, I was thrilled to see how well they brought the story to life on the screen.

The casting was spot-on, with the actors perfectly capturing the essence of the characters. I was particularly impressed with how well they portrayed the complex emotions and growth of the main characters, Futaba and Kou. Their chemistry was so good, and it made their journey all the more captivating.

The visuals were stunning, with beautiful cinematography that captured the essence of the anime. The settings were vibrant and added to the overall atmosphere of the story. The production team did an amazing job in creating a visually appealing and immersive experience.

One thing that stood out to me was the way this live-action adaptation stayed true to the heart and soul of the original story.

So overall, I highly recommend this live-action adaptation of Ao Haru Ride Season 1. Whether you're a fan of the anime or new to the series, it's definitely worth watching. Get ready to be swept away by the heartfelt story, the talented cast, and the visually stunning world of Ao Haru Ride ♡.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
princetongirl818
2 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
nov. 27, 2023
8 épisodes vus sur 8
Complété 0
Globalement 7.5
Histoire 8.0
Acting/Cast 7.5
Musique 7.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 6.0

how does this compare to other versions?

this is another manga series which like kimi ni todoke got a newer drama adaptation. although I prefer the movie of ao haru ride from 2014, I did like seeing extra scenes from the manga in this version. BUT none of the live actions ever covered the actual retreat scene, which I guess doesn't matter too much for the romance, but it would've been nice to see that.
the anime only has 1 season and a few OVAs but otherwise it feels quite incomplete and only covers roughly 3/13 volumes of the manga, whereas this first season (eight 25min episodes) jumps through scenes all the way till about volume 6!! but fails to include some important plot points from the manga and thus rushes through the romance aspect. All this to say I do think the cast looks a bit more like the anime BUT I still still prefer the movie cast. the only actor I like in this is Kou. I'll keep my eye out when the second season airs next year though.

p.s. the kikuchi actor they chose looks too much like plastic! even the actor in the movie looks way better lol (nothing against the actor personally though, but I'm not a fan of kpop looking guys lol)

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
virgievirgie
1 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
févr. 26, 2024
8 épisodes vus sur 8
Complété 0
Globalement 8.5
Histoire 8.5
Acting/Cast 8.5
Musique 8.5
Degrés de Re-visionnage 8.5

Simple story of teen loves with a more melancholic undertone. It makes me feel something.

“Ao Haru Ride” aka “Blue Spring Ride” is a sweet coming-of-age teen first love romance. The story is simple and nothing you have never seen before. It conveys the shy sweetness of young love, but also adds a more melancholic undertone to the overall plot. It’s not a romantic comedy but it has the youthfulness of high schoolers.

The characters are all likable and no one is perfect. I really like the female lead, Yoshioka. She was introduced as someone shy and an outcast. But she has made the decision to work hard and change. There are bumps along the way as she grows to be her more confident self, with the support of good friends surrounding her.

Male lead, Kou, has gone through some tough times in his young life. The more melancholic part of the plot surrounds his sadness and sudden change in personality. Nevertheless, he’s still a teenager. When the matter of the heart comes into play, it’s hard for him not to get a little wishy-washy and confuses Yoshioka.

I really enjoy the interaction between Yoshioka and Kou. They started out really shy (and very cute), but the growing friendship and affection made them more comfortable around each other. They share a few quiet, honest and intimate conversations. My favorite moment is when they were at training camp in the earlier episodes, and they were having their heads down on the desks. That was intimate and romantic.

I also like the blossoming friendship of the 5-some, between Yoshioka, Kou, Murao, Yuri and Kominato. Each character slowly becomes more comfortable with each other and then shares some of their intimate thoughts. The girls and boys individual friendships also develop separately and beautifully. They are all sweet and kind-hearted and it’s lovely to not have any annoying characters.

Season 1 closes on a nice note, but we can expect season 2 to bring us more heartaches and love triangles/squares/pentagons. I look forward to seeing how Yoshioka and Kou’s story ends (and I hope it ends positively and sweetly).


Completed: 2/25/2024 - Review #409

Season 2 review: https://mydramalist.com/profile/voicelesslove/reviews/342639

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
Rabbit
1 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
nov. 25, 2023
8 épisodes vus sur 8
Complété 0
Globalement 9.0
Histoire 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Musique 8.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 8.0

My past nostalgia

Ao Haru Ride's drama live-action series stands out as one of the most captivating and nostalgic experiences I've ever encountered in the realm of Japanese dramas. Watching it transported me back to the sweet and enchanting atmosphere of 2019, a time when indulging in classic Japanese dramas and movies was a cherished pastime. Every episode of Ao Haru Ride felt like a journey through time, wrapped in a delightful blend of romance, drama, and the unmistakable charm of Japanese storytelling. Thanks for this
Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
PHope
1 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
nov. 26, 2023
8 épisodes vus sur 8
Complété 0
Globalement 5.0
Histoire 7.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Musique 5.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 5.0

Good Enough

Japanese Drama " Ao Haru Ride Season ! " is the adaption of the popular manga, which was also made into an anime series and a movie previously.

First of all, whoever did the cast did a miraculously good job. The two main leads, especially Kou, look exactly like the manga characters, which is uncanny.

Also, the drama creates the right atmosphere, light and youthful, which suited the school based story perfectly.

In addition, it was nice to have a deeper look into Kou and his troubled outcome.

However, the series, mainly due to its short length, was like a checklist of the key points of the original story, rather than a smooth plot with the right excitement and intensity, that takes its time to progress.

Finally, the performances were good by everyone in the cast.

So, overall, five out of ten.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
Tanky Toon
0 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
avril 28, 2024
8 épisodes vus sur 8
Complété 0
Globalement 7.0
Histoire 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Musique 8.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 3.0
Cette critique peut contenir des spoilers
It started out interesting until it wasn’t. Let’s start with the simple part and discuss the second couple, where Murao persistently followed Tanaka Yoichi despite his rejection, not because she was unattractive, but because she was a teenager. Despite being warned about the consequences of being involved with an adult and a faculty member at her school, she did not seem deterred. I really have no patience for people who are only concerned about their own feelings, despite bringing other people into trouble and not thinking about the consequences of their actions. That being said, I mostly overlooked the parts with those two.

Now on to the leads. The premise of their meet-cute was interesting, seeking refuge in a desolate corner from the rain (of course!) Then their friendship blossomed because of their quirkiness and commonality. And it all changed when Tanaka transferred to another school. Upon his return, Tanaka-now-Mabuchi becomes less carefree, and more aloof, even towards Futaba whom he liked back then.

We later learned that Kou had a hard time dealing with his mother’s passing, hence his dreary and detached attitude, which was perfectly understandable. But that doesn’t mean he can take out all his frustrations and dump them on his friends. I can understand how grief can change people’s personalities, and the first time he abruptly left Futaba without saying a word, was undesirable but reasonable. However, for a guy to keep doing this time and time again to a girl whom he supposedly likes, would not fly with me.

I used to root for Kou and Futaba to be together, but Yoshioka deserves better. Kou keeps ditching her and giving all these excuses, then becomes angry when someone else becomes interested in her. He’s just treating her like a toy, losing interest in playing with her until another child enjoys it. He even admitted to his friend, that even if he likes Futaba, he has no intention of dating her. Then he brushes off the accidental kiss as if it’s no big deal and gets upset when she ignores him as he did to her?????

Towards the end of the first series, I was no longer invested in their story and wished for Futaba to be with Kiuchi instead. At least Kiuchi is consistent, and transparent with his feelings. If Kou cannot prioritize Futaba, then she’s not that important to him. He could have sent a simple text, saying he will be late or that even if he can go to the festival, he needs to be somewhere else later. Anything really to give Futaba at least the time of the day as she had provided him. But no, he ghosts her and is more concerned about his classmate just because they shared the same pain of losing someone close to them.

If Futaba insists to be with Kou, what next? On the day of their wedding, something comes up again that he’s unable to attend? But hey, if that’s the kind of guy she prefers, then she better be prepared for the consequences and don’t come crying. I’m so pissed to even watch the second season. It’s not worth it to keep my blood boiling.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
livetobreathe
0 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
nov. 12, 2023
8 épisodes vus sur 8
Complété 3
Globalement 9.0
Histoire 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Musique 9.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 9.0
Cette critique peut contenir des spoilers

Concise first love story! Modern heart-tugging short adaptation of the manga

I was a little sceptical of this adaptation but there being only 8 episodes and broken up into 2 seasons, there are pros and cons to this. First of all it's a patient game to wait for all the episodes before you start watching. I became low-key obsessed with this drama! Perfect FL & ML, Great chemistry!..very aesthetically pleasing usage of filters, cinematography and certain scenes that is really pleasing as highlights of the story. example, the FL 'confession' attempt as the trains passed, the 'sniffing' scenes...so sweet and heart tugging....
Since it's a portrayal of first love, you really feel the young love that is blossoming and growing with the main cast. It also follows rather closely to the manga except since this is condensed into 8 episodes for the first season, I find its sufficient enough to highlight and not dwell too much on the side characters, focusing more on the interactions between the 2 leads n the friendship aspects that is so reminiscent of the youth phase. Perhaps because its rather condensed version, the buildup to the sense of 'loss' felt by the FL to the sudden absence of the ML was quite diluted but it compensated with the focus on the closer interactions of the two - Once again highlighting that they are meant for each other. I seriously cannot wait for season 2 and I hope they will continue to put focus on the 2 leads and the realisation of the love between them.
The first season had to build up on the both of them knowingly holding back with the FL taking more of the proactiveness, showing the 'passiveness' of the ML to open up his heart despite his continuing attraction to her. It was only mainly triggered by the showing of a rival that spurred him into some 'action' though without outcome as we know this will only come to actual fruition much later (if they follow closely to the manga). Overall this is a really visually pleasing and sweet love adaptation that makes me anticipate the conclusion by the next season!

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
michelleoc
0 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
févr. 26, 2024
8 épisodes vus sur 8
Complété 0
Globalement 7.0
Histoire 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Musique 3.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 6.0

Sweet first love story

Warm. That's the word that initially comes to mind when I think about this show. The actors were all good, the story was sweet, and there were some seriously romantic scenes, scenes of innocence and discovery (heads on the desk, that's all I'll say). There was a sweetness about both the ML and the FL, and they did a good job of portraying the shyness of first love. There wasn't really a lot going on, I was able to just settle in and enjoy.

I might watch it again at some point, since it's short.
Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
Hail - hailkingseokjin
0 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
févr. 11, 2024
8 épisodes vus sur 8
Complété 0
Globalement 9.0
Histoire 8.5
Acting/Cast 9.5
Musique 8.5
Degrés de Re-visionnage 9.0

Perfect adaptation

I've watched the anime and read the manga multiple times and I'm SO satisfied with this. It's almost perfect. The rhythm, the acting... just wow! Beautiful adaptation.
That said, I just can't be unbiased, cause any flaw the story might have I've already expected. So for me this grade is unbelievably low. As an adaptation it deserves at least 9 or 10.
If you enjoyed the anime or the manga, you'll most likely love this. It's not cringey nor shallow as the movie (I wrote a terrible review for it, but for comparison purposes, the phrase that summarizes it the most is "I would've rather just rewatched the anime, I feel like I wasted remembering the story on something so below in quality.").

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
KellySandy
0 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
avril 15, 2024
8 épisodes vus sur 8
Complété 0
Globalement 8.0
Histoire 7.5
Acting/Cast 9.0
Musique 7.5
Degrés de Re-visionnage 7.5
Heartwarming and light

I think the cast is lovely. After 4 episodes, the friendship is really showing. The acting is very good, you can really feel the "first love" awkwardness. Personally, i really like futaba and kikuchi's chemistry tho, they are very soft to each other (yup, i'm having a second lead syndrome please help). Overall worth to watch especially if you are a fan of the anime bcs this live action potrays the characters perfectly!
Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
Mary
0 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
mars 10, 2024
8 épisodes vus sur 8
Complété 0
Globalement 9.5
Histoire 9.5
Acting/Cast 9.0
Musique 9.5
Degrés de Re-visionnage 9.0

Kou, I do accept you.

So, I started this series with the idea of healing from a heart break lol and it definetly did help!
Although the first few episodes didn't grab my attention, I kept watching and totally enjoyed the pace of the story after episode 4. I could feel the tension between the characters and that always brings extra points to my reviews hahaha
Cet avis était-il utile?
Ao Haru Ride Season 1 (2023) poster

Renseignements

Statistiques

  • Score: 8.1 (marqué par 2,275 utilisateurs)
  • Classé: #1917
  • Popularité: #2335
  • Téléspectateurs: 6,509

Top Contributeurs

39 éditions
29 éditions
22 éditions
16 éditions

Listes populaires

Listes apparentées d'autres utilisateurs
Live Action Shoujo Manga
238 titles 342 loves 6
japanese movies;
101 titles 241 loves
Upcoming dramas
471 titles 154 loves 4

Récemment vu par