Complété
Aaku
26 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
juil. 28, 2023
14 épisodes vus sur 14
Complété 1
Globalement 10
Histoire 10
Acting/Cast 10
Musique 10
Degrés de Re-visionnage 10
Cette critique peut contenir des spoilers

The sparks and the spices

This dating reality show is so enjoyable. There are sparks but at the same time spices as well. The whole concept of the dating show is interesting especially the phone call to express the feeling part. The phone calls kept me at edge. Like I could never predict who each of the contestant would call. It was interesting and at the same time agonizing especially the phone calls involving the love triangles.

WARNING: Major spoilers ahead!!

Honestly Seongho and JunSeong are the best part of the show for me. I rooted for them since the very first phone call. "Roommate, hi" was what got me into the show and I fell deeper and deeper episode by episode. I couldn't help but cheer for JunSeong. He was so sure about who he wanted and the way he expressed his feelings in the most sincere way whenever he got the chance to, every second of it was absolutely worth witnessing. On the other hand Seongho was sure about his feelings towards Seonwoo until he wasn't. He wavered ever since the first call from JS. From "friendship 100% love zero" to "Beside JunSeong, others are like friends or colleagues to me", he came a long way. And damn their dates were an absolute delight to see especially the one after call match. The sparks were flying everywhere. They really stole the whole show for me,

Moving on to SeonWoo, I won't lie at first it really felt like he was leading everyone on and I wasn't quite a fan of it but as I watched more of him, he grew on me. And the love triangle of Hyun Joon, Min Sung and Hyun Jin, it was a bit of a mess. For most of the part except Hyun Joon, the other two seemed confused. They were certain one moment and the next moment they were not. It was honestly agonizing to see but I do get it that none of them were actually at fault. However, I liked Min Sung and Hyun Joon together. Their date was cute. But it's commendable how Hyun Joon stood up for himself. Also, Yung Hee damn he was so consistent and his efforts towards SW melted me. And Jeong wook this guy deserves nothing but happiness. He is such a softball mahn. I hope each one of them a happy life. I hope they live it to their best and also find the one they love and who loves them back too.

Overall an enjoyable show that kept me awake one whole night and even after I caught up to the recent episodes I could not stop myself from binge watching it. Highly recommended!!

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
BL Compilations
14 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
juin 23, 2023
14 épisodes vus sur 14
Complété 0
Globalement 9.5
Histoire 10
Acting/Cast 10
Musique 10
Degrés de Re-visionnage 8.5

enjoyable m/m reality dating series

Overall: pretty well done, however there was definitely some misleading/confusing editing (especially in the finale) to create additional drama which I could have done without. When watching "reality" series, I always keep in mind that producers might tell the guys what to do/say and that editing can be extremely misleading (not showing things, change the order, etc). My goals were that the guys have some fun and being on the show helped (or at least doesn't hurt them) in their personal and professional lives. I have zero problem with them promoting their businesses as being queer has likely given them personal and professional disadvantages (and perhaps more so after appearing on the show). 14 episodes about 1 hour each. Aired on Gagaoolala & iQIYI (depending on your country)

Content Warnings: discussion related to homophobia/life experiences

What I Liked
- I like how they started with a date and the twist gave a bit more drama
- the 30 second phone call thing was good (I personally think it's best if the guys say who they are and call someone they are romantically interested in to avoid mixed signals/increase the odds of a mutual match)
- the twists were well done
- once again a good decision to not let them say their age or occupation right away. I think people get fixated on those things when in reality personality, values and goals are much more important compatibility-wise and it will make a good reveal in ep 3
- jenga game was a good way for everyone to learn more about everyone else, and although it got kind of serious, it seems to have brought them together and is an important thing for viewers to see/learn about
- production value such as nice music, set design, editing, etc

Room For Improvement
- too many phone calls, would have liked to see some more larger group games
- needed a graphic at the end of each episode to see who called who/was interested in who because I get confused and wanted to see if there were mutual matches
- needed nametags or nametag necklaces at least for the first few episodes to get familiar with all of their names
- there was confusing/misleading editing that I don't think was needed

Life Advice: I really want to have heart to hearts with a few of these guys, but here are my main takeaways/advice
1. Being "nice" is frequently much more hurtful if you are leading someone on verses being honest and saying you aren't interested in a person romantically
2. (related to number 1) Honesty is the best policy - make it clearly known from the beginning who you are romantically interested in, I know it can be embarrassing, but if you aren't mature enough to be honest then you aren't mature enough to be in a romantic relationship
3. Be careful of changing yourself for a romantic partner - it's fine to change things that you want to change, but don't change yourself to fit someone else's desires for how you should be, otherwise you're at risk of losing yourself and your happiness
4. Work on your own self esteem - don't expect another person to complete you but rather complement you. Using another person to prop up low self esteem is likely not going to end well.

Comparison to other m/m dating shows
1. Sparks Camp (Philippines) on YouTube. 10 guys, anyone can pursue anyone else, too many group games that are not getting to know you types, but overall done well
2. Love House seasons 1 & 2 (Vietnam) on YouTube (most have English subs, this is ep 1 of season 2 no subs though https://youtu.be/TKzT_nHfVTA ). I liked this set up more than Bromance because the guys could all pursue one another. I didn't like the "secret couple" aspect and dividing them up based on sexual position seemed odd (can't they discuss that in private???) Season 1 was also the most brutal "rose ceremony" I've ever seen in any dating reality show. Season 2 was better.
3. Bromance (Thailand) is also on Gagaoolala. This is the typical Bachelor/Bachelorette set up with a bunch of people competing against one another to be with the 1 bachelor. I didn't like this because they could have all been hitting on each other and we have multiple couples! I got kind of bored and skipped a bunch.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
Nzzybae
11 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
août 4, 2023
14 épisodes vus sur 14
Complété 0
Globalement 9.5
Histoire 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Musique 9.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 10

THE STANDARD

To think that i thought the prequel was good. This is hands down better than the first season.

From the first episode to the last episode, they had me hooked and invested in all the men.

The men are wholesome to watch. Watching them, I found myself rooting for most of them, even the unlikeable ones. I'd advice people to watch with an open mind and not judge the men quickly because despite it being a tv show, the men are still human and are prone to make mistakes.

I won't spoil the show rather, I would recommend the show everyone and to all allies.

Personally, I wish all the men well in their future dating lives.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
TeddyBear
4 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
août 5, 2023
14 épisodes vus sur 14
Complété 0
Globalement 10
Histoire 10
Acting/Cast 10
Musique 10
Degrés de Re-visionnage 10

BEST DATING SHOW OUT THERE

This is literally the best dating show ever. Nothing comes close to this one. His Man 2 made people believe in love again, Be it straight or LGBTQ+ it can make all who see it fall in love and believe that true love is possible. The production crew hit the jackpot this time with the cast, every single one of them is so good, Of course, we have our main characters, JS and SH, who made the show their pre-wedding photoshoot. The osts were so beautiful, I must give hats off to the staff. I love how all the cast felt like family at the end, I don't think any show can top this one.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
Arun
4 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
août 4, 2023
14 épisodes vus sur 14
Complété 0
Globalement 10
Histoire 10
Acting/Cast 10
Musique 10
Degrés de Re-visionnage 10
Cette critique peut contenir des spoilers

Gay love, queer joy and queer hope

This show was the epitome of queer joy for me. Seeing eight real gay men with varying personalities, flaws, and aspirations show their genuine feelings and share their real stories over the course of eight days made me very happy. Let the world see that we gay (and by extension, queer) people are no different from anyone else, we share the same desire to love and be loved.

Those watching from a position of privilege please remember that these gay men have chosen to step into the light, some for the very first time, in a socially conservative country that still discriminates against them routinely. It will be best not to judge them as characters in a show but as real people.

All that being said, JS & SH are the highlight of the show for me. I know it's cliché, but they really made me believe in true love. I was glad to see that neither of them are afraid to show emotions and voice their feelings. Their occasional banter and romantic interactions made me feel things I haven't in a long time. I hope they have a wonderful life together.

JW was another favorite of mine. The personal journey he goes through in this show is a familiar one. I hope from now on he can be his authentic self and express his true emotions through his music as he clearly hopes to do. Everyone else was also great.

In conclusion, this is what proper representation looks like. Just real gay people being their real gay selves.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
derrick
3 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
août 9, 2023
14 épisodes vus sur 14
Complété 0
Globalement 9.5
Histoire 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.5
Musique 9.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 8.5

Gay Dating show done right!

As a gay man myself, it is refreshing to see a dating show that has not only made me feel butterflies in my stomach, but also feeling the same struggles that the men in the show are facing as well. Nothing about this show felt forced, just humans having feelings for one another and how they chose to express those feelings that they have in the way that they know how to. The casts were really the right mix of chemistry within the house, which made the show even more entertaining. Having watched both seasons of his man, season 2's men were much more vocal and active in their thoughts, which brought about a different feeling as compared to watching s1.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
leedohyunstan
3 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
août 12, 2023
14 épisodes vus sur 14
Complété 0
Globalement 9.0
Histoire 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.5
Musique 9.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 9.0
Cette critique peut contenir des spoilers

May d best man win !!!

Ok Just got done with the show ..have a lot to say ..will try to talk about each contestant starting from my favorite to least favorite ..I'm not marking this as a spoiler becuase my intention is no to talk about specific points but the statements below will contain SPOILERS so please read only if you are done with the show :
1. Yung Hee : My absolute favorite boy/man in the house. At 21 years he showed more maturity than a lot of other elder contestants. A very sorted person who had eyes just for one man right from the very beginning irrespective of whether that person returned his affection or not. And to another person that liked him he made it very clear as politely and genuinly as possible that even though he regards him highly he wil never have the same feelings for him. An outgoing and active man who knew how to drive well and also build up fire like a pro for barbeques..a true dream man in all aspects ..too bad a certain someone could not be swayed by his charms
2. Jun Soeng - An absolute delight to watch from start to end..perfect example of a Tsundere..like Yung Hee, his eyes were fixed on one man right from the first day and what I loved about him was that he made sure that the person he likes knows about his feelings ..he also helped them and was there for them even when that person showed interest in someone else..not once did this man pressure his crush to choose him instead ..he just showed his sincerity and determination till the end without forcing the other person and I think that's why his sincerity and care won his crush over and he came out victorious ...him and Sung Ho were the best part of the last few epiosdes..watching them being cute togehter was a delight .true testament of all good things come to those who wait ! Hope their relationship lasts long.
3. Seon Woo : The most popular man in the house who everyone felt attracted to from first looks. Though I sometimes disliked him for his people pleasing attitude but then I understood him a lot when he explained himself..I really felt bad for him towards the last few episodes..though I really wished he would give Yung Hee a chance I understand that feelings are not something you can control.
4. Sung Ho : Cutie Pie and though he wasn't the youngest in the group, behavior wise he was the most adorable and child like which is his charm...what I liked about him and and what differentiated him from Min Sung who was exactly in the same spot was that Min Sung was very vague till the very end about his feelings whereas for Sung Ho he liked one man at one point and though he had conflicting emotions because he liked someone else as well he never dragged it to the point where it would become awkward for everyone ..his confusion was justified but he put effort to clear his doubt unlike Min Sung who I felt kind of enjoyed the attention he was getting from 2 men and thus did not want to chose and loose the attention of one of them..
5. Jeong Wook : A pure and simple soul...he made me cry so many times when I saw that the housemates intentionally or unintentionally either put him on the sideline or ignored him..Like Yung Hee he also had eyes for only one man right from the beginning ..I think the reason Yung Hee could sympathize so much for JW's feelings was because he was also in the same boat having unrequited feelings for someone so he could feel how tiring it could be and that's why he always was there to support him as a younger brother. I really hope they can continue their friendship even after they leave the house.
6. Hyoeng Joo/ Daenyeol : I found him quite adorkable in the beginning but he really caught my attention in the last few episodes where he really came forward as a self respecting man..i think he's one of those people who will be really sweet and good to you till you don't hurt their pride or emotions ..I loved how he took a stand and rejected Min Sung first before Min Sung could make his so called Sophie's choice !!
7. Min Sung and Hyun Jin: The reason I decide to write about them togehter is coz I really don't care about them at all..Min Sung went from being one of my fav in the first 7 to 8 episodes to someone I hated in the last few epiosdes ..what came off as him being calm composed and sorted like a prince in the beginning was just a ploy to hide how attention seeking and deceptive this man actually is ..I think the reason they became a couple was coz Min Sung realized that he has to save face now coz Daenyeol will either ways reject him now so the best thing is to suddenly declare feelings for the other man he was so confuse about till one day before..I don't see that relationship lasting but if it does good for them..coming to Hyun Jin..I have nothing but bad feelings towards this person..didn't like hima lot even in the beginning but his conduct in the whole JH-MS-JH triangle just irritaed the f*** out of me to the extent I literally had to skip his part with Min Sung..the way I rolled my eyes and skipped over that entire part in the end where they became a couple..I was like good for you ..you both deserve each other..
More than the relationships, I think i will remember the friendships between the men which was really heart warming and I would like to see more of them meeting each other in real life !!

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
kx_sana
2 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
août 4, 2023
14 épisodes vus sur 14
Complété 0
Globalement 9.0
Histoire 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Musique 3.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 1.0
Cette critique peut contenir des spoilers

THIS IS MY OPINION

This really made me feel a lot of emotions I felt extremely happy for SW & JS, but for MS & HJin it felt a little bitter maybe because it started out of nowhere like I completely understand cause you never know when you are going to fall for someone but it still left a bitter taste. After that it was really sad to see David throughout the whole show cause he was honest with his feelings like don't get me wrong a lot of them did the same it's just that his actions weren't pushy. the four guys at the end just sad smiling was really an overwhealming feeling , also not throwing any hate towards MS but i really don't believe it when he said he's true to his feelings like those "feelings" looked like straight up guilt, i found some of his actions straight up immature and selfcentred, if he's in a relationship or not right now i think he should reflect on those type of actions cause if he really made that choice out of guilt it's going to be really painful to the person he chose but anyways i wish all of them hapiness in their relationships doesn't matter who they're with now.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
Lipsi
2 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
août 19, 2023
14 épisodes vus sur 14
Complété 0
Globalement 9.0
Histoire 7.0
Acting/Cast 8.5
Musique 7.5
Degrés de Re-visionnage 6.0
Cette critique peut contenir des spoilers

DAMN I WAS FEELING SINGLE IN 39 DIFFERENT LANGUAGES THROUGHOUT THE WHOLE SEASON

I binged watched this in two days and damn the sweetness and spiciness throughout the whole season. Some of them were sure about their feelings. Some of them wrre confused. My absolute favorite couple definitely our highlight of the show junseong & seongho. Seongho went from "Friendship 100% love zero" To "Others are just friends and colleagues in front of junseong" I loved how consistent junseong was. At first my favorite individuals were yunghee & junseong. And i loved them throughout the whole season. My another fav was jeongwook. He shined individually and his journey was like personal growth. I hope him to be more confident about himself. I want to write more but i suck at expressing my thoughts so that's it. I wish all of them a happy future with their loved ones.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
Sundeep
2 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
août 4, 2023
14 épisodes vus sur 14
Complété 0
Globalement 10
Histoire 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Musique 10
Degrés de Re-visionnage 10
Cette critique peut contenir des spoilers

Amazing Season

This season was so much better than Season 1.

My main pick was Junseong and Seungho from the start, since the 1st phone booth call. "Roommate, Hi." Such an iconic moment in this season. Ultimately, they chose each other and became the 1st couple from this season, which I was so happy about. On the other hand, there was one, Hyeongjin who I had to reconsider getting a relationship, especially with his rude and pushy behaviour; even Dabit and Hyeongjun had to tell him about the date and love interest they had. In the end, Hyeongjin became a couple with Minsung, which became the 2nd couple from this show.

I do feel bad for the other four who couldn't get into a relationship, but I felt terrible for Seonwoo; he played a significant role in Junseong and Seungho's life in being in a relationship. I felt emotional for him, and I hope the person he would love would reciprocate his feelings.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
sanvation
2 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
sept. 9, 2023
14 épisodes vus sur 14
Complété 0
Globalement 10
Histoire 10
Acting/Cast 10
Musique 10
Degrés de Re-visionnage 6.0

The best and most entertaining k-drama/reality show

i honestly loved everything about this show, each episode had me hooked and i was not bored for a single second, each episode is like a new story so there is always something to look forward too, the cast were all very cute and the couples in the end were so cute, this show is kind of slow paced (14 eps and each is 1hr or more) so its kind of a one time show becuz you already know what happens so it won't be as fun the second time you watch it, but the first time you watch it, you will really like it. I really liked the reality of this show, there were lots of emotions and how humans behave when they fall in love, everything about this show is just so perfect.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
BbalanceD
2 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
août 5, 2023
14 épisodes vus sur 14
Complété 0
Globalement 10
Histoire 10
Acting/Cast 10
Musique 10
Degrés de Re-visionnage 10

Season two has improved the format

Attractive men who get the chance to step out of their comfort zones to quickly choose and declare their interest in the inhabitants and hope it gets reciprocated.

Terrific show that will hook you into the emotional turmoil that is looking for romance in a contrived situation (8 strangers meet in a house full of cameras) under time constraints of 8 days.

Egos are bruised and some get inflated but at the end of the day all the participants get a chance to express themselves and to reflect on how they approached love.
Way better than season 1.
The location was superior. The final discussions, episode 12, between the men who had unfinished business so they could express their feelings individually was handled well. Lots of opportunities to select a date or roommate and someone they hadn't dated.

Great pacing and capturing the action.
Point for improvement - name tags it can be confusing for non natives like me.
A chart to show current date pairings and connections.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
His Man Season 2 (2023) poster

Renseignements

Statistiques

  • Score: 8.5 (marqué par 3,619 utilisateurs)
  • Classé: #554
  • Popularité: #2228
  • Téléspectateurs: 6,885

Top Contributeurs

26 éditions
25 éditions
16 éditions
14 éditions

Listes populaires

Listes apparentées d'autres utilisateurs
LGBTQ+
304 titles 11 loves
lgbtq+
152 titles 2 loves
2023's watching list
124 titles 1 love

Récemment vu par