Complété
Sindsoron
23 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
avril 12, 2014
Complété 0
Globalement 7.0
Histoire 7.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Musique 8.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 6.0
Movie with the architecture in the background, directed by the architect. After a fairly successful directorial debut with Possessed (2009), once an architect, and now director, Lee Yong-Ju came back with a new movie. In contrast to his debut, which was something bordering on horror/thriller, his second movie is a romance with a suitable amount of melodrama. Architecture 101, a title that could not be probably better matched. In the end we have an romance whose title does not contain any references to love, and at the same time is strongly associated with the plot of the movie. Another advantage of the movie is it's cast, which surprised with the good acting. In the main female role we have Han Ga-In (known for her series The Moon Embracing the Sun (2012)), and a young version of the character is played by Bae Suzy. Both ladies are not known for being good actresses and usually present just decent acting, hence the big surprise was how well they coped. In the role of the male is Uhm Tae-Woong (rose to fame thanks to role in Cyrano Agency (2010)), while the young version of his character is played by Lee Je-Hoon (very good role in My Paparotti (2013)). Good cast and interesting title, attracted to theaters just over 4 million viewers and brought a profit of more than $ 30 billion won (~$29 million).

The story is fairly standard and represents an unfulfilled youthful first love. The whole story develops around a pair of students. On the one hand we have a beautiful and somewhat mysterious music student Seo-Yeon (Bae Suzy/Han Ga-In), and on the other a shy architecture student, Seung-Min (Lee Je-Hoon/Uhm Tae-Woong). Their affair begins with the first class of "Introduction to Architecture" and with last, ends. After 15 years, Seo-Yeon finds Seung-Min and employs him to rebuild her home on the Jeju island.

Both stories are intertwined in a pleasant and peaceful way. Lee serves up standard problems, in the form of first love of two students, and the bittersweet romance of the same pair in their prime of life. It seems that we get another typical romance, with all its advantages and disadvantages, but in the case of Architecture 101 is only a first impression. What makes this particular movie stands out from the others? Architecture. All known schemes are presented through the prism of ubiquitous architecture. Love of Seo-Yeon and Seung-Min follows the footsteps of "Introduction to Architecture" and ends after 15 years with construction of home. Lee superbly presented things we already know, in a new way, so that even a cliche story, ends up being "fresh" and consistent.

As for the actors, most of the time we see a pair of Bae Suzy/Lee Je-Hoon, partly a result of the fact that Lee Je-Hoon is de facto protagonist of the entire production. Although not quite similar to each other, we are able to believe that the naive and shy Lee Je-Hoon grew into a cynical and nonchalant Uhm Tae-Woong, and Bae Suzy playing the perfect Korean girl grown to be forthright but at the same time sensitive and delicate Han Ga-In.

All this makes it an excellent story that is closer to the viewer than the sleek affair of Romeo and Juliet. When Seo-Yeon and Seung-Min meet after years, he no longer sees her through rose-colored glasses, because he lost them long time ago. All the time he blames her for how their first love has ended, even though through the movie, we learn that he, because of his insecurity and low self esteem, is equally responsible. Our memories can deceive us, but the pain of unrequited first love will never disappear, the song, a face, book, almost everything can bring it back. The mind will deny it, but the heart never forgets.

Architecture 101 is a position that may bore many and surprise in not a nice way. I recommend people to watch it again, but calmly, to be able to empathize with the characters and think about the whole story. This movie has something which many similar production are lacking, despite the lack of rousing story or breathtaking effects, it really is not a boring production. This is a movie which, thanks to its simplicity, becomes intimate to viewer and seems very real, you only have to look a bit deeper.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
KdramaQueen89
14 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
juin 17, 2012
Complété 0
Globalement 7.0
Histoire 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Musique 7.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 6.0
I wasn't really expecting anything going into Architecture 101 just because i didnt think a movie about building a house would seem that interesting. However, there was more to it...

First, the plot was a calm one with the building of a house and reconnection of the main characters being the focal point of the present story line. The past storyline gives us important info on how the main characters met(as friends) and what were the events that led to their separation (still friends at that point). I really did like the story until the ending. The ending just didn't work for me but i guess you could say it was a realistic one.

Second, I thought this was well casted. UTW & HGI played thier older versions well and they had really good chemistry. As for the younger versions of thier characters Suzy & Lee Je Hoon were adorable and matched well. I know Jo Jung Sook had a very small role but once again he manages to make his character stand out.

Overall the actors are what makes the movie memorable but the ending kind of ruins my overall enjoyment for it.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
VioletSakura
23 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
mai 26, 2012
Complété 0
Globalement 6.0
Histoire 6.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Musique 6.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 2.0
Actually I'm disappointed in this movie, as it left me with an empty feeling, which movies like this, even if they end the way this movie ended should not leave the viewer, in my opinion.
Fist of all, I did not get into this little history of life of the characters fully, as it was too cropped and didn't give enough depth. Then I didn't come to like ANY of the main characters, the younger version of the guy is shy and silent... but hey, he presents himself a total looser all the time! I couldn't believe his actions as a man in love, giving up on the girl he loved so dearly, and at the situation he did it, it was the most awful part, instead of jumping for her rescue, he just left... what a loser...
The girl...Suzy...Suzy... I couldn't get over her HyeMin (Dream High) when I was watching this... yes she was a little different, but her cold act was screaming HyeMi all over the screen...
The older version, actually, were more lovable, but they were the ones who drew the ending of the movie, so, hey, what the hell... if you're telling a story, be so king and draw a normal ending!!!
I was waiting to watch this movie very-very much for several reasons: first of all the cast - Lee JeHoon was amazing in Fashion King and believe it or not was born in 1980 and was playing a young student here as a counterpart to Suzy, who is like 18 or something... he was cute, yes, but again,an awful character was his young guy... *shudder*
Jo Jung-Suk... yes, I love thins man, kill me, he was so funny and actually when his character was with the main lead, somehow the main lead did not mean so pathetic, just a young guy, who needed advice with his girl~ lol, when he was explaining how to kiss, I was on the floor :p
What I want to mention, the movie has a beautiful cinematographic solutions... actually some fantastic ones... shots of Seoul, the sea, the house he builds, the narrow streets, the old house... the game of lights...
Should you watch it or not? I have no idea... I just gave my opinion... choose for yourself, you may like it...

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
eiyaah
5 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
mai 16, 2013
Complété 0
Globalement 9.0
Histoire 8.0
Acting/Cast 10
Musique 10
Degrés de Re-visionnage 8.0
i just finish watching this now... i already watch this few times but watching 10 minutes of this movie i always end up not watching it and now i finally finish it ! at last i can say that i'm completely done watching this AN INTRODUCTION TO ARCHITECTURE :))

well i saw negatives comment but honestly for me yeaah it's not such a rare kind of movie but at list i can say that i find a little bit pleasure watching it. Why? well i love that the director and the writer chosen that kind of ending well if they pick something like same kind of other movie ending i just feel that it's just like a canned movie but because the concluding part is like this. It's more look like realistic i love the lee je hoon and bae suzy characters. all the actors is great i also like the music so much. over all i can say that it's nice that i choose to watch this movie for today (*0^)?.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
SKhan
3 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
oct. 19, 2015
Complété 0
Globalement 6.0
Histoire 6.0
Acting/Cast 5.0
Musique 4.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 1.5
I wanted to love this movie, I really did. It wasn't terrible, it was watchable but did it deserve the rave reviews it got? Definitely not.

Whilst I understood hat the writer wanted to show a love that was sweet and innocent, a lot of the time I found myself questioning the relationship. Mostly due to the chemistry between the main actors. I didn't find it hard at all to believe Seung Min's love and could feel how strong his feelings were. However, with Han Ga In's character it felt as though she was going through the motions of someone who was in love. I just couldn't understand what she was thinking at all. I have never been a fan of Han Ga In anyway, all the characters she has played always felt the same as the last one and she never really brought anything new and different to the table. This movie did not help her reputation of having just a pretty face with no acting ability. I did find the younger version of her better and more convincing as a character. Suzy did a great job in her interpretation as Seo Yeon and really brought the character to life.

This thing that this movie definitely did right was casting Jo Jung Suk. His character was so hilarious and loveable and hinted at his ability to do a comedy role.

I have to say the story is very well told and visually the movie was beautiful. The house that was made was amazing and blew me away. The camera angles used were very nice and the way the story showed us the main characters in the past was done in a way where the movie still flowed well.

Although this movie wanted to show us the beauty of first love, I don't think the writers did a very good job of reflecting this when the movie was in the present day. This could be due to the chemistry between the main leads and the fact that Han Ga In did not really make a good older counterpart for her character. Overall the movie was ok, but not worth the hype.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
purplejoys
3 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
déc. 12, 2015
Complété 0
Globalement 7.5
Histoire 7.5
Acting/Cast 10
Musique 5.5
Degrés de Re-visionnage 3.0
I came in with high expectations because a friend recommended this to me. And while it wasn't completely disappointing, it didn't meet my expectations. It's good but it's not great. It is a quiet, thoughtful movie that skillfully depicts the highs and lows of first loves. This movie can be best summed up in one word: realistic. The best part of the movie is Jo Jung Suk who plays the best friend of the younger version of the male lead -- all his scenes are fantastic!
Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
bluevelvet
3 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
août 20, 2014
Complété 0
Globalement 9.0
Histoire 10
Acting/Cast 10
Musique 10
Degrés de Re-visionnage 9.0
A very serene, unexpected kind of love story. It has an emotional roller coaster factor like other romantic movies, maybe the highs and lows aren't as dramatic as some moviegoers of this type search for, but they do exist here. What I like best about this movie, and what surprised me, was the realistic storyline and interactions that followed. Even better? The actors' delivered realistic portrays, too. Maybe it doesn't have wild and crazy twists and turns and dramatics, but I prefer something that feels a little more closer to real life. Something that could actually happen, slice of life. Over all, I enjoyed this sweet and short, yet meaningful, movie. To be honest, I'm glad films like this are able to be made in such a big-budget, big box office world.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
addicted2dramas
3 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
juil. 15, 2013
Complété 0
Globalement 8.0
Histoire 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Musique 9.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 7.0
I put off this movie till now because I was turned off by its title. It didn't sound impressive at all. Once I decided to give it a chance, I was very well entertained.

I really like the premise of the movie. Movies or dramas that go back and forth in time all have a similar concept. I rather enjoyed the way it was shown. The two main characters- the younger and older versions were both wonderful.

This movie very accurately depicted the feelings and innocence when it comes to first love. The best part about it was its realistic ending. Had it ended in any other way, it would been another one of those cheesy chick flicks where every thing is a fairy tale. It's nice to see a movie which is both heartwarming and realistic. It's hard to find movies like these.

It was really well shot and the cinematography was done well. I also loved the cast of the movie. Han Ga In was awesome and looked very pretty. Her character wasn't perfect but I found myself smiling at her behavior and occasional antics. I have seen Uhm Tae Woong in a couple of movies before and he was okay in those. It was hard to believe how old Lee Je Hoon really is. He was perfect as the 18-year-old in love.

I would suggest this movie to those who like realistic endings. I myself enjoyed this movie very much and would not hesitate in watching it again (maybe).

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
DontPanicToktok
2 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
mai 15, 2013
Complété 0
Globalement 7.0
Histoire 10
Acting/Cast 10
Musique 8.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 6.0
That movie was great.I didn't really think it would be that interesting. but it turned out to be amazing.the story was great.I liked how they showed more than one perspective.and the cast was also amazing.I wouldn't change a thing about it.I didn't really like the ending.it was kind of confusing I expected it to be more reasonable....but overall it was a very entertaining movie.I totally recommend it.
Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
nyny
2 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
août 3, 2013
Complété 0
Globalement 9.0
Histoire 9.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Musique 9.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 6.0
I might be alone in how much i loved this movie but i just wanted to get my thoughts across.

the ending doesn't have to be satisfying for the movie to be "good". unlike others, i adore this movie for staying true to its realistic roots and portrayal of a first love.

i think from all these light and fluffy dramas these days where the girl always gets her fairy tale ending, many watchers get the misconception that this is how all stories should be. (don't get me wrong, light-hearted dramas are my muse)

"an introduction to architecture" is beautifully (and bitterly) realistic. the younger characters are definitely believable, flawed and confused just as any adolescents would be. and their older selves just as vulnerable internally despite their matured exteriors.

Truthfully, i don't think i would re-watch this again because that would be too cruel to my heart but i would still recommend this to other watchers who don't mind a realistic input and output in a movie.

so don't go into this drama excepting a fairy tale, watch and appreciate its raw vibe and depth, especially in the character's emotions.

:)

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
danhasaband
1 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
sept. 15, 2016
Complété 0
Globalement 6.5
Histoire 7.5
Acting/Cast 7.0
Musique 7.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 4.0
I though this film was just average to me for the most part. I loved the nostalgic feel it gives off and the idea of experiencing a first love for the first time again though. Both Seo Yeon and Seung Min get a second chance to go back and take a chance with no regrets which helps them both finally put that disappointment of missing out on each other behind them.

This it allows them to move on with their lives. Closure is a powerful feeling and I think both characters will be better off having finally put to rest that chapter of their lives.
The idea of first love is often romanticized to the point where you question your memories. There’s often you filter out the bad memories and only remember the good.

This movie shows that life isn't a romantic fairy tale story, where the guy finally gets the girl. It’s a sad but important message to portray. Overall though I felt the movie was slow in its pacing. There was real captivating moments and it just didn’t generate enough sparks of emotions for me. I appreciated the ideas and vibe of the film which has a good concept, but wished the movie could have been more captivating

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
blueaoichan
2 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
oct. 5, 2012
Complété 0
Globalement 8.0
Histoire 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Musique 7.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 5.0
The main reason why I watch this is because of Suzy. I love Suzy so I want to watch this, but then I see so many people say they are disappointed with this movie so I'm really curious and watch this.

I personally the story is really really great. I love the story a lot. It's not light love story but not deep as well. Just teenagers first love that has many difficulties.

I love the cast. I like Suzy and the Sungmin Boy. I also like the older Suzy and the older Sungmin. I think all of them play the role really well. I really love that Sungmin Boy's acting I think he's really great !

Overall I think the movie is great but the ending ruin it all. I expect better ending but it turned out to be simple and realistic ending. I still think this movie worth to watch so I recommend this movie to everyone :)

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Architecture 101 (2012) poster

Renseignements

Statistiques

  • Score: 7.4 (marqué par 5,462 utilisateurs)
  • Classé: #7011
  • Popularité: #1522
  • Téléspectateurs: 10,738

Top Contributeurs

9 éditions
9 éditions
7 éditions
7 éditions

Listes populaires

Listes apparentées d'autres utilisateurs
Favorite Movies
219 titles 98 loves
Korean Movies
214 titles 70 loves

Récemment vu par