En cours 8/16
Sweet
14 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
mai 12, 2024
8 épisodes vus sur 16
En cours 4
Globalement 10
Histoire 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Musique 10
Degrés de Re-visionnage 10

Upcoming Best Romance Drama currently!!

Upcoming Best Romance Drama currently!!
This looks promising drama!! The texture is same style and genre with “one spring night” drama.
If you like “one spring night” and “something in the rain”, you will enjoy this drama too!!

Good directing and cinematography!!
a Realistic workplace plot will be with sweet romance!!!
I am fan of main lead actress and like their chemistry!!
hope to see more romantic scenes!!!

This will be slow burn romance drama and same vibe and texture with “one spring night” and “something in the rain” drama.
They have 6 years age gap only. Female lead was third year of university student and part-time study guide/instructor (not real teacher) while male lead was in high-school student (will be 18 or 19 age) for matriculation exam.


As per photos of age chart, current FL age is 35 years old and ML is 29 years old , that is why 6 years age gap only.

I enjoy this drama a lot!!! Can’t wait to see new episodes!!!!

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
En cours 6/16
Moses ck
18 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
mai 12, 2024
6 épisodes vus sur 16
En cours 15
Globalement 9.5
Histoire 10
Acting/Cast 10
Musique 9.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 9.0

Captivating premiere, Realistic education plot. Plus, heartwarming romance!!

The midnight romance in hagwon is captivating, the school and acedemy setting made it more interesting. And that's not all, the argument of seo hye jin and the school teacher on the multiple choice question made it more realistic.

There are many teachers out there who simply can't accept they made a mistake, especially when that mistake is being pointed out by an academy teacher or a student. When students tells some teachers about a question having more than an answer in the options given, they'll refute them by saying "I've already told you this is the only answer for the question". And they'd be more infuriated should the student mention that his/her academy instructor proved her right.
Humans learn from their mistakes, but some believe their mistakes should be covered just because they feel their pride would be hurt. And that's exactly what this teacher tried to do.

And honestly, school teachers and academy instructors perform the same duties but in different manners, I guess. school teachers teaches according to the national curriculum while academy teachers teaches a bit beyond curriculums. But all in all, both of them teach and impact knowledge, isn't it?

This drama is indeed very promising, with excellently executed plots. I'm excited to see more captivating episodes to come!!!

UPDATED
The romance between the two leads is both heartwarming and believable. The chemistry between the actors is undeniable, and their interactions are both funny and touching.

The writing is sharp and witty, with a good balance of humor and pathos. The dialogue is natural and believable, and the characters' emotions are conveyed with authenticity.

The acting is superb, with all three leads delivering nuanced and emotionally resonant performances. The actors bring the characters to life and make them feel like real people.

Overall, "The Midnight Romance in Hagwon" is a captivating and heartwarming drama that will appeal to watchers, romantic comedies, and slice-of-life stories. It is a well-crafted and emotionally satisfying series that will stay with viewers long after the credits roll.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
En cours 16/16
bleh
14 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
Il y a 18 jours
16 épisodes vus sur 16
En cours 25
Globalement 2.0
Histoire 2.0
Acting/Cast 7.5
Musique 5.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 1.0

Intensely boring and completely lacking of any substance

Don’t be fooled by the title. This is no “noona romance” drama. In fact theres barely any romance to begin with. It’s a drama that primarily focuses on a niche story about teaching in hagwon and what it’s like to be a teacher.

The writer presented it in a way that gives a false impression that it’s thought provoking and it might have some symoblism thrown in here and there but it’s completely devoid of anything interesting.

This drama brings absolutely nothing to the table. The characters are extremely uninteresting due to lack of characterization, no comedy at all, no stakes or interesting villain, and absolutely no romantic progression whatsoever.

Just a bland old story about teaching in hagwon. That’s all this is. It has absolutely nothing more to offer rather than that.

If you are in to that niche then this might be the drama for you but for the vast majority of people this drama is better than sleeping pills and it might even cure your insomnia.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
En cours 8/16
Apurva
11 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
mai 11, 2024
8 épisodes vus sur 16
En cours 3
Globalement 7.0
Histoire 6.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Musique 6.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 3.5
Cette critique peut contenir des spoilers

Slow paced. Not living up to its potential. I used the fast forward button far too many times.

I am here because I found out we finally have Wi Ha joon as the male lead. The story didn't sound that interesting to me & I feel like this is one of the drama's where you are not sure if they will end up together or not.

Ep 1: The beginning is very slow paced, the characters seemed boring in the beginning. It was somewhere around the 20 minutes mark that things finally started to get interesting. The interactions between the FL & the school teacher was so charged with friction. I liked the way the FL approached it rationally, not a fan of how the school teacher reacted. Have seen that reaction from a few men while having rational conversation. You feel as if you'll get hit for sticking to your convictions. The romance part is a bit slow. But I could see the potential in the final minutes of the episode. They have known each other for a while so there's no instant spark or meet cute that we usually see with other romances. The acting is okay, the story lacks.

Ep 2: The pacing was pretty much the same as the first episode. 20 minutes in and I wanted to drop it, but for some reason I continued. I got to see Wi Ha Joon's pretty smile at the end. I'm sad to say I'm not looking forward to watching the next episodes.

Ep 3: It seems that my patience has been rewarded with some witty communication between the leads. I love the witch and her hairstyle, she looks amazing! Her all black outfit was such a stark contrast to her greyish white hair. She is a character that has made things interesting. This episode has made me look forward to the drama now.

Ep 4: Kinda saw it coming. At least the FL was open to a different style of teaching that would benefit the student the in the long run. Here's to hoping that they'll do better in their next round against the witch. The witch clearly won this round.

Ep 5: It was okay episode with some enjoyable moments. I can't believe they are just going to let the FL go for one mistake. They aren't even giving her the chance to rectify it or work together so that they can come up with a plan. At the same time, I also like the idea of FL working with the white witch! They'll make such a powerful team (Not a fun one like our leads but at least an interesting one)

Ep 6: Finally the romance is here. Even without reading the description of the drama, you are aware that the ML has feelings for the FL. It's not clear whether she pretends to not know about his feelings but she isn't all that surprised when he confesses. The rest of the story was okay, as expected. The white witch didn't get much screen time, I wanted to see more of her.

Ep 7: The problem with the drama is that, it is unable to create that curiosity that has people waiting for the next episodes. I'm sticking around for the two main characters, they are very low key adorable and comfortable to watch. I like that the main characters will be getting together, I am not sure who is against their relationship as shown in the preview. Right now, even the white witch is not enough to keep the storyline from getting boring.

Ep 8: Another sweet episode with the leads exploring their newfound relationship.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
En cours 10/16
SongofSixpence
3 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
Il y a 7 jours
10 épisodes vus sur 16
En cours 0
Globalement 6.5
Histoire 7.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Musique 5.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 5.0

Mismatched writer and director makes for a mediocre melodrama.

Beautifully directed, but unfortunately the writing isn't on par with the production. While Ahn Pan Seok often chooses dramas with a strong thematic narrative instead of detailed characters or complex plots at midway MRITH still hasn't developed any of those things. Newbie KDrama writers usually work for years as assistants before they shop their own scripts and this one probably should have stayed an understudy for a while longer.

Something in the Rain and One Spring Night (the director's previous works) are societal issues slice of life with melodrama romances. They tackle how parental abuse primes women to accept abuse in the workplace and their romantic relationships which creates a difficult to break cycle. The FL is saved by the love of the ML, but he's an unsuitable partner and they have to conquer trials, tribulations and villains to be together.

Classic melodrama, close curtain.

MRITH doesn't deviate much from that formula - embattled hagwon tutor FL trapped in a career-life crisis until first student (and of course, first love) ML shows up to free her - but puts more focus on issues in lieu of romance. Which is perfectly fine, if the writer does a good job at meaningfully addressing those issues.

So what critique does MRITH offer?

That education should focus on students... without any realistic means to do that.
That authority in education is the enemy... without any exploration of how or why.
That hagwons are the great equalizer... without acknowledging the serious downsides.
That teachers should be good teachers... which just circles on back to the first point.

It leaves a lot to be desired in depth and subtlety, especially compared to similar dramas that tackle education issues. The plot that attempts to reinforce those themes is equally lacking - it's mostly petty office politics blown exponentially out of proportion with some makjang circumstances and farcical villains to match.

The lack of a strong narrative would be understandable if the relationships and personal struggles of the cast took a central role instead, but every side character speaks with one expository voice - the writer's. And the writer is only concerned with one thing - hammering their message home over and over and over.

There's really nothing else to distinguish MRITH except the romance, which isn't particularly compelling unless you're into the student/teacher taboo. ML is a manic pixie dream boy - impulsive, devoted and with minimal development outside of facilitating FL's journey to personal fulfillment. FL suffers from Mature Female Lead Syndrome - so well rounded there's no edge to her personality. Together, they're unmemorable except for the cringe bodice ripper romantic dialogues that occur with regrettable regularity.

And since there seems to be some comment brigading going on, let me disclaim:

1. Yes, I'm an adult.
2. Yes, I'm a fan of slice of life, slow burns and noona romances.
3. Yes, I know the difference between a melodrama and a romcom.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
En cours 4/16
Aimen
16 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
Il y a 24 jours
4 épisodes vus sur 16
En cours 0
Globalement 10
Histoire 10
Acting/Cast 10
Musique 10
Degrés de Re-visionnage 10

COMFORT DRAMA

If you're looking for a drama that doesn't have over complicated, difficult plot or any other shenanigans going on, and you want to relax with a slow burning romance, I DEFINITELY DEFINITELY DEFINITELY recommend this drama...We all know, HOW AMAZZZZING our main leads are, but what I wanna talk about is the OST....??❤❤❤❤That legit is one of the best OSTs of 2024...
Besides this, the overall cast is fantastic, I KNOW I KNOW, many of them still need character development, but that's why we're here, to see them become the BEST versions of themselves....
Sooooooo, If you're into such dramas, this drama will surely feel like, "HOME" to you...♡♡♡♡♡♡♡



byeeeeee♡♡♡♡♡♡ (I'll update this after I finish this drama...xoxo)

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
En cours 5/16
saja
4 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
Il y a 17 jours
5 épisodes vus sur 16
En cours 2
Globalement 5.0
Histoire 4.0
Acting/Cast 6.0
Musique 8.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 1.0

great actors invested into a non potential story!!!!

this should be considered in my opinion like a documentary about the korean academy teaching system rather than the premise of being tagged a noona romance/older woman younger man?!?! or with a minor side story of slight romance!!!! so don't be deceived to expect a noona drama that ended up to be a misconception in this mainly korean educational content!!! I think the poster is giving the wrong idea about what we are watching as it is barely having some vibes of romance!!!

I was interested to begin this story as it was "PROMISING" to have a noona drama my favorite genre and for the poster giving such vibes of a catching and firing chemistry between two top notch of first class korean actors!!!! but when diving in the drama for the first few aired episodes, I can consider that the perceived reality was so deceiving for such baseless story!!!! I didn't gave up to continue watching it though so many disappoitments but I am feeling nothing is changed in the way the script is written of only focusing on "the teaching korean system of academies"!!! so no wonder why the ratings are dropping a while ago!!!

I am not against to show is it what about the reality of korean education but I think it is tackled in a boring and lenghty way that made me losing interest in the story and asking myself what I am actually watching?! as it was totally different from what I was expecting to watch not only romance for sure, it is normal to have the focus on the academy settings but not to that lifeless extent shown, but even if there will romance I am feeling like the female lead is forced to show some interest in the male lead!!!

the director ahn pan seok of the story is known for his previous dramas of that "slow burning stories" style, though I am not a fan of that type of dramas that I watched some of it but I think every average drama he managed before was better than this current drama!!! I ended skipping a lot of scenes when it comes that the majority part of the drama till now is about that academy teaching only!!! there was complaints about the synopsis being boring but will we have that promising romance making some hopes to not give up?!?!

I think wi ha joon is doing a great performance and all his best to approach jung ryeo won but she instead always showing him a rude face and rejecting him for every suggestions he is proposing to her!!! though we witnessed some progress in their cooperation in the teaching activities but I felt there is a lack of chemistry in their acting!!! I think wi ha joon is a great actor paired with jung ryeo won but the way ryeo won is treating ha joon like she is forced to accept him to be her colleague or to exist in her life!! and like smiling to him against her will?!

I was expecting something different in their chemistry even if it will bloom in a later stage for the female to accept the male in her life and being him the first chasing her is not a bad idea but I am not feeling that amazing chemistry or an excitment even the preview of episode 6 is showing a great progress of ha joon to convey his sincere love and refusing that ryeo won will leave daechi chase academy for being employed at a new one!!!

I know there will be a lot people still pleased with the story and being excited to see the first move of wi ha joon to kindle this promising firing chemistry with jung ryeo won and not agreeing with my point of view about how I found the drama!!! but still I am curious how it will turn in the end though there is a baseless and boring story!!!

I was hoping to raise my ratings more than that but keeping the same situation of skipping a lot at every episodes was disappointing and it is unworthy to wait every week for a new episode!!! otherwise the music was the only thing making a great ambiance here!!! soothing the nerves and giving butterflies!!! I could be still didn't gave up the show for the sake of the great ost?!?!???

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
En cours 2/16
ikaikaika
7 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
mai 13, 2024
2 épisodes vus sur 16
En cours 0
Globalement 9.5
Histoire 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Musique 9.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 9.0

Romance in Afterschool Academy

After watching Episodes 1 & 2, I’m in!!!!
Under the same director as 'Something in the Rain' and 'One Spring Night,' I believe in this one.
This tutor-student relationship, where in the past and now they are colleagues at an afterschool academy (called hagwon in South Korea), a young man falls in love and chases the woman, who is 6 years older than him, that he likes, is always worth watching. So far, both the female lead and the male lead have their own solid arguments. And the communication between them ?, especially when we can see the male lead's micro expressions as he talks to her at the cafe ?.

I also love the introduction, the OST, and the small details the director puts in each episode.
Let's see how the story will develop in the next episodes!!!

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
En cours 2/16
Coolforthesummer
26 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
mai 11, 2024
2 épisodes vus sur 16
En cours 8
Globalement 9.0
Histoire 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.5
Musique 9.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 9.0
Cette critique peut contenir des spoilers

Cozy Blend of Education, Romance & Realism

I simply loved the whole episode. it felt incredibly natural, heartwarming and cozy. The most of focus was on the conflict between the high school teacher and the academy instructor along with Seo Hyejin's student raising an issue about a question with multiple answers yet the small moments and execution of the drama made it a very heartwarming and cozy experience for me.

I liked the issue they raised in ep 1 about multiple choice question having multiple answers. No matter how many times i see how korean schools and students are competitive, it always amazes me to see how they create issues out of small mistakes. I bet if it were my school, teachers would have given one extra mark to all those students who chose either of the two correct answers instead of retaking the exam. But korean schools take them to a whole new level of seriousness lol.

The cinematography lent a realistic touch to the episode with the atmosphere feeling warm and inviting. The interactions between characters were natural and genuine, avoiding any ott moments.

Although there wasnt much screen space for romance and the ML in ep 1 but leads first encounter after years to their meeting at the coffee shop, everything felt so smooth. Their chemistry was so natural, it didnt feel like they were acting but more like they were actually those characters.
I also loved how easygoing the SFL character was. At the instructor's exam hall, her interaction with another fellowmate was really smooth. She was very likable with only one scene in the whole episode. Would like to see her more.

I hope the drama continues to address the various challenges students & instructors face in korea's competitive society while maintaining a balance between romance and educational issues.

Also i loved how the drama gave me vibes of some of my favorite workplace dramas like Misaeng & Black Dog.

Overall ep 1 left me thoroughly satisfied and im excited for what's to come.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
En cours 1/16
Vincenza Belli
7 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
mai 11, 2024
1 épisodes vus sur 16
En cours 0
Globalement 10
Histoire 10
Acting/Cast 10
Musique 10
Degrés de Re-visionnage 10

Great start

Wow first episode was supeeeer cuuuute!!! Reminded me of something in the rain feat one night spring. The pace is chill and the chemistry is just ahhh so effin great. The moment he told her to call him sansenim aka teacher I squealed hard. They are giving IT couple. Super excited about this one,but also afraid about the teacher that gonna start some series wack sh#t to ruin the FL.
Cet avis était-il utile?
En cours 1/16
sloanefix
5 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
mai 12, 2024
1 épisodes vus sur 16
En cours 0
Globalement 10
Histoire 10
Acting/Cast 10
Musique 9.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 9.0

The vibes are vibing, the romance is in the air!

Man resigned from big company to be close to his crush, and this happened in episode 1! honestly, we stan.

Ha Joon in a romantic role is giving everything, his open smiles, flirty posture, walking by FL's poster and admiring it, surprising her in ther office, this man was made to play the romantic lead, he's swoon-worty!

Jung Ryeo Won is as great in melo as she's being a badass, the woman has done both Witch's Court and Wok of Love, the range! She has a smile that is self-assured but not invulnerable, as we see from her alteration with that prideful teacher who wants to destroy her life.

It's been a long time since I was so enthusiastic about a drama, but this one is hitting all the right spots!

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
En cours 1/16
Fran Neptune
4 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
mai 12, 2024
1 épisodes vus sur 16
En cours 0
Globalement 10
Histoire 10
Acting/Cast 10
Musique 7.5
Degrés de Re-visionnage 7.5

Female lead looks strong.

It's looking really good for the first episode. Keeping fingers crossed that there's no love triangle and no misunderstandings that lasts too long . And I really like a female who's strong and don't come across as pushovers. This does not mean that you are never wrong but be willing to fight for what you want. So far so good. Again fingers crossed ?
Cet avis était-il utile?
The Midnight Romance in Hagwon (2024) poster

Renseignements

Statistiques

  • Score: 8.0 (marqué par 1,324 utilisateurs)
  • Classé: #2581
  • Popularité: #1246
  • Téléspectateurs: 13,444

Top Contributeurs

179 éditions
46 éditions
17 éditions
8 éditions

Listes populaires

Listes apparentées d'autres utilisateurs
All Time Favorite Dramas
686 titles 1714 loves 35
Noona Romance
513 titles 280 loves 17
tvN Dramas
324 titles 186 loves

Récemment vu par