Complété
Blkittykat
13 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
avril 3, 2024
14 épisodes vus sur 14
Complété 0
Globalement 4.0
Histoire 4.0
Acting/Cast 4.5
Musique 7.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 1.0

An adaptation no one needed

I'm actually writing this review much later than I actually finished the series, because I was certain my angry screams weren't quite review material. And when I say angry, I was seething.

This is one of the worst things I've watched, and the moral, feel good factor aside, this was literally a mess. After all that, they didn't even get the moral, feel good story right, did they?

I'm trying to be as eloquent as I possibly can, otherwise this would just be a lot of angry rambling, about how the story was beyond horrible, that having the lead spout some generic pap about forgiveness and togetherness after making her go through 12+ episodes of torture and bullying doesn't really cut it. It's so messy and difficult to watch. The storylines are either incredibly boring or downright offensive.
The characters are also the literal worst, I had such a hard time rooting for any of them. You just go from episode to episode wondering how people can be this horrible, insensitive and just plain annoying at times. Sometimes, you just want to go feral and jump through the screen to knock some sense into them, because mostly, they all suck.

The acting.. it wasn't horrible. Well, it wasn't horrible from everyone except the leads. You would think the leads would be the two characters you would most want to see, that they're the ones you would root for, but never have I ever come across two characters whom I have wanted off my screen. Kind of worked though, because Win's character Guy, he's barely in it. Great's character Saint probably had more screentime, as probably did Jane's character Faye. Which would have been fine since the two of them actually acted, but like I said, you don't really want to see any character on screen. Except for Ann. Ann is good, Ann is the best.
Now because Guy isn't featured a lot, he doesn't share a lot of scenes with Baifern's character Liu, and Saint has more scenes with her. So there were a lot of people who had a hard time believing in Guy and Liu as the main couple, and while there may be some truth to this, I don't think it was the main problem. Win and Baifern just don't have chemistry. Yup. They have absolutely no chemistry together which is surprising because I've seen a bunch of their works and they're good actors. They could have pulled off these roles with a much better nuance than they actually did so I don't know what happened. I will admit that the screentime Guy got does have something to do with them not being able to quite convince us that Guy and Liu work well together, but when it comes down to it, the leads have no chemistry. They're both always yelling at each other, or yelling that they're hurting each other or crying about hurting each other that by the time they cross all their misunderstandings and get together, you're praying for them to break up.
Which brings us to the pacing. 10+ episodes on needless bullying, manipulation, trauma, which doesn't really stop until the last ten minutes of the finale. It just shifts from one person to another until you're clutching your head, begging them to end it. And if you came for the romance, let me tell you it took literally forever for them to actually have some semblance of a good relationship and even then, you really can't care enough.

This review is already longer than I intended it to be, so I'll try to keep the rest of my thoughts to a minimum. It was difficult to watch, I appreciate that they tried to portray the reality (to some extent) on the emphasis of physical appearances that is forced onto everyone these days, but nope, it didn't work. It absolutely did not. After everything is said and done, let's be honest, this was an adaptation that never should have happened.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
ariasmiling
10 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
avril 2, 2024
14 épisodes vus sur 14
Complété 0
Globalement 1.0
Histoire 1.0
Acting/Cast 1.5
Musique 1.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 1.0

The worst remake I have ever seen.

Before starting this series, I was excited to see Win as the protagonist. But when I saw the first episode I knew this was going to be a disaster, unfortunately I was right.

The Korean version is a very important series for me because I identify with both Sumi and Mi-rae. I could feel the pain that they both had to endure what toxic society demands of us women. Be beautiful, thin and kind to the point of hurting yourself so that this cruel world will accept and love you. They both suffered in different ways, but they were both hurt in the process of being accepted.

Here the first thing I felt was that Liu did not carry the same burden and they did not judge her as much for her operation. Which is a crucial point because Mi-rae by having to go through those horrible criticisms of hers was able to overcome, accept and love herself as she was no matter what others said about her.

Secondly, his great hatred towards Guy was problematic. She made the character frustrating until the end. She could unconditionally trust anyone she barely knew, except Guy, who she really hated for no reason. It is very ridiculous and her character was not well written or well executed by the actress. I really think it was a bad decision for the actress to take this role, she didn't really convey any kind of sympathy or compassion for what an idiot she was.

Guy... Well, I started watching this because I was excited to see Win. But the minutes on screen were so few that it made the chemistry between him and the actress difficult. He didn't acting well either, he looked like a robot. Unable to resolve or help Liu like Kyung Seok did with Mi-rae. I think he still needs a lot of training to act.

Faye... the actress acted well. I think she is the only redeemable one in terms of acting. But her story was ridiculous. Her motives of hatred towards Liu were also. Sumi hated because a friend of hers stole the boy she liked for an operation. Not because of whether she had money or not. She really lived in a pigsty. She barely had a mattress on the floor to sleep on. Still, she Faye complained when she even had a computer to streaming lol.

The ending was just as disappointing for me. I really wasn't expecting anything at this point but it still managed to disappoint me even more.

I liked that Sumi made a change in her hair, and she who hated perfumes will start using them. I also liked seeing that there was a psychologist to treat her mental problems. And the conversation she had with Kyung Seok.
I also think it was a good decision for Sumi to take a break from university so she could be better about herself. And although she and Mi-rae didn't become friends, it was a nice gesture that she returned to university just to give Mi-rae the perfume she always used to wear as a gift from her.

With the damage that Sumi did to Mi-rae, it was totally normal that they couldn't be friends but that Sumi, in her own way, thanked her and asked for forgiveness.

Faye and Liu... they could never be friends with someone who really wanted to see you destroyed. That's not credible.

Saint was really annoying, when the sunbae's character was actually very kind and understanding. He seemed more of a protagonist than Guy and that was the case until the end. I also didn't feel that friendship that Kyung Seok formed with his sunbae. The only thing Saint did was bother.

And what can I say about the final kiss? Nothing really romantic and everything very forced. Since Liu spent most of his time hating him, they couldn't have had chemistry. It also seemed like Win was being forced. He and the actress really had no chemistry at all.

The Korean version's message is much deeper but no one wants to watch it because it's "boring." So what was this?

It was torture to watch it, but I told myself I was going to finish watching it so I could have all my thoughts about this remake clear in my head.

And no, I didn't want it to be exactly the same. I don't criticize him for that. A remake always brings new things and that's great. But here time was wasted on so many absurd things that the essence of the original work itself was lost (I'm referring to the webtoon).

The director and the screenwriter really did a very bad job.

So no, I don't recommend it at all. I know there will be people who will like it but from my point of view if you are looking for a well-defined message, with romance and chemistry, just don't watch it.

I for one will pretend this drama never existed and will never watch it again.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
tuna Finger Heart Award1
2 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
avril 3, 2024
14 épisodes vus sur 14
Complété 0
Globalement 7.5
Histoire 7.5
Acting/Cast 8.0
Musique 6.5
Degrés de Re-visionnage 4.5

Interesting

The series started quite innocently, and since I hadn't watched 'My ID is Gangnam Beauty', I have no comparison. The action unfolds quite quickly, but it wasn't bothersome.

At first, I thought it would be a typical romantic series, like most GMMTV romances, with some dramatic elements. However, I was really surprised by the end. The return to the initial themes of the series was a big plus, and many things were unexpected but didn't feel random. Everything was understandable, which is a big plus.

In my opinion, there were some minor flaws due to the fast-paced action, but overall, it was very enjoyable to watch. I recommend it.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
kajirae Coin Gift Award1
2 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
avril 12, 2024
14 épisodes vus sur 14
Complété 0
Globalement 7.0
Histoire 5.0
Acting/Cast 6.5
Musique 5.5
Degrés de Re-visionnage 2.0

Better than My ID is Gangnam Beauty

I just finished watching this and I don't plan on giving spoilers, but I am going to make very direct commentary.

The story is so-so, but I thought they did better than My ID is Gangnam Beauty. I didn't like that one at all, it bored me to death and I had to fast forward through some of it.

Great sis such a good job playing Saint! His character was a bit selfish (and he knows that) but still so likable. He just did a wonderful job playing the part.

Aou as Jerry was just in the background and barely even a side character until the last 3 or 4 episodes when he finally started talking, but when his character had a moment to shine he was absolutely brilliant!! I was so impressed with his acting. I've seen him act in many things, but this time he won me over.

The two female leads played their parts pretty well. They at least had emotion and showed that they aren't bad actors. Their characters weren't exceptionally deep, but at least they had back story and showed some feeling.

Win was decent, but a little boring in this. He didn't have any moments that stood out as bad acting, but he didn't have any moments that stood out as good acting either. His performance was at least better than someone who just reads the lines and feels super flat, but only slightly better. At least he didn't come across as completely dull.

Overall, I had fun with this. It seemed to flow better, have more engaging drama than My ID is Gangnam Beauty. It has a very typical feel of what GMMTV usually puts out for the young adult audiences. It wasn't a favorite, I don't watch it again, but I did enjoy it and I am still glad I watched it.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
Lucifers_angel
1 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
avril 2, 2024
14 épisodes vus sur 14
Complété 0
Globalement 5.5
Histoire 5.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Musique 5.5
Degrés de Re-visionnage 1.5

Skip it, not worth your time

At first episode, I thought this one is going to better especially when we see the cast, but boy was I wrong. I literally skip through from episode 4 till the end.
They could had made it much better then Korean one if they just took comments from the viewers and redone it in the way how viewers suggested.
Writting is average, characters aren't well developt. We could have entire drama without main leads. Entire story is centered around Faye or 2FL.This was supposed to be some kind romance, but it had very little romantic scenes, and where it did had romantic scene there was no chemistry. Also, they wrote FL like a idiot.
But I have to say acting of Jane. Great, Emi and Aou is amazing.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
Sunny_707 Coin Gift Award1
1 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
avril 7, 2024
14 épisodes vus sur 14
Complété 0
Globalement 7.5
Histoire 7.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Musique 8.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 7.5

A truly cute and sweet Thai drama to watch.

Even if most reviews are negative towards the drama, don't let yourself be swayed.
I don't often write reviews but I had to write one for this drama.

! But before you watch this drama, you should bear in mind that it takes up the basic concept of "My ID is Gangnam Beauty", but not in its entirety. So don't expect a perfect copy of the drama. !

I really enjoyed the atmosphere of this drama, and the actors all played their characters very well. The romance and the love, which is pure and sincere, that links the two main actors in this drama, is what makes this drama really cute.

I also wanted to add that Win's acting as Guy in this drama, was really good and solid and really touched me at certain moments . (especially episode 11)
Guy's personality is so perfect! He's such a green flag!
Guy's personality, is why I also really liked this drama.

In short, watch this drama and you'll have a great time!

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
SnowWhite123
2 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
avril 2, 2024
14 épisodes vus sur 14
Complété 0
Globalement 1.0
Histoire 3.0
Acting/Cast 3.0
Musique 5.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 1.0

Terrible acting and bad storyline

This drama is an adaptation of the webtoon and Korean drama "ID Gangnam Beauty." The Korean version was already flawed but was still serviceable as the acting and chemistry between the cast made up for it. This Thai version is atrocious, I cannot even begin the boring conversations, the ignorance, bad acting and lack of chemistry. FL is so unbelievably frustrating to watch from beginning to end, the ML is a robot with no emotions, both leads have zero chemistry and you can feel the apparent awkwardness from both of them each time they are on camera. The SFL is mostly carrying the drama but the rest of the supporting amateur cast does nothing to elevate the drama. I cannot even bring myself to give a a passing grade. If not watching just to support your bias, definitely a waste of time and do not recommend to save your brain cells.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
Sweetsis
1 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
avril 2, 2024
14 épisodes vus sur 14
Complété 0
Globalement 5.0
Histoire 6.0
Acting/Cast 10
Musique 5.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 2.0
Cette critique peut contenir des spoilers

I hadn't watched the Korean versions

I hadnt watched the original as this isnt usually my taste when it comes to dramas and know it is best to keep it that way. I have regretted watching it as I only came to support win and ended up loving the other actors involved. Win is the ML and yet I felt he had the littlest time on the screen with SL and side characters popping up more then him.
I know we all see romance in different perspectives but come on I saw more friendship with me shipping the FL and ML with every other person than each other.
What it taught me about beauty was really the saving point of it as I leant valuable lessons in what beauty is to society and the prison it can create

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
MeiMei
0 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
avril 3, 2024
14 épisodes vus sur 14
Complété 0
Globalement 5.0
Histoire 3.0
Acting/Cast 3.5
Musique 2.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 1.0
Cette critique peut contenir des spoilers

I Am Not Sure What I Just Watched...

This series isn't just a retelling of "My ID is Gangnam Beauty." It took a similar concept but ended up feeling like a disappointing rendition.

One of the major letdowns is the lack of communication between the main characters, Liu and Guy. Their interactions come off as stiff and devoid of any meaningful dialogue. Instead of addressing their issues directly, they rely on misunderstandings and assumptions, which frustrated me as a viewer. It's hard to understand why they even developed feelings for each other.

Liu's constant need for Faye's approval and her baseless animosity towards Guy could have been easily resolved through open communication. However, she chooses to fall into a repetitive pattern of seeking validation from Faye while holding onto unfounded resentment towards Guy, all because this man did not like her perfume scent.

If you're considering watching this series, I'd recommend saving yourself the trouble. I've seen the Korean version, and it's far better.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
Omini
0 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
avril 2, 2024
14 épisodes vus sur 14
Complété 0
Globalement 4.0
Histoire 4.0
Acting/Cast 6.0
Musique 5.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 1.0

Hate it break it to you, but it’s been boring since the start.

There is no reason for this show to exist, no substance of worth, or story that is trying to be told. It’s just there for the sake of being there.
While the first episode was pretty good episodes has evolved to the typical episodes of the week series where they have a random adventure, only to be followed by another random adventure the next week. Most series need a goal the characters want to reach or overcome. If there is no goal, the series becomes pretty aimless, pointless and boring. But after 10 episodes them just trying to be annoying, mean and ignorant - is just tiresome.
I'm still wondering when Liu fell so in love with Guy when they barely spent time together. She was always with Saint.
Liu and Guy always fail to understand each other. Did I want to knock some sense into both of them? Absolutely. She is naive and stupid and he is ... he is cute. Guy is quite a wilful and determined character desperate to find any semblance of love history.
And I really did not like Faye as a person at all but she makes for an incredibly compelling character. She was the beacon of everything that was wrong and bad.
I just adore Saint. He's so freaking kind and in solicitous and I loved every minute of it.
Sometimes I wish I had a friend like Ann.

It’s a boring ride to be sure.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
Themaskedwarrior
0 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
avril 2, 2024
14 épisodes vus sur 14
Complété 0
Globalement 6.5
Histoire 7.0
Acting/Cast 4.0
Musique 6.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 1.0

Wasted potential

I was excited, hoping win would portray the role aptly. But the constant unwarranted hatred towards guy led to lacking of chemistry which the original oozes of. I used to get butterflies during the date game confession. This was so meh.

The FL actress looks more like natural beauty unlike the orignal who looks like she had work done. Hence not convincing. Her protray of Liu was so bubbly and not reserved.

The pacing was fast. The leads fought and resolved within an epi.

I felt like I was watching a show about faye instead of FL. Even the univ scenes were relateable in original. This is was not so. So I 2Xed and finished it.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
Ari_008
0 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
avril 2, 2024
14 épisodes vus sur 14
Complété 0
Globalement 5.0
Histoire 5.0
Acting/Cast 10
Musique 7.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 1.0

It's a okish drama

The first few eps felt quite promising but then the FL and SML felt like the main couple and despite Win being the ML he got the lest screen time and the script was a little dragging in few eps but still its not that bad afterall i really liked the the ost specially the opening the acting was good Jane(faye) was able to piss me off many times lui was just too idiotic . The drama is overall okish you do not get romance as much just 1 or 2 dates thats it
Cet avis était-il utile?
Beauty Newbie (2024) poster

Renseignements

Statistiques

  • Score: 7.3 (marqué par 1,033 utilisateurs)
  • Classé: #7837
  • Popularité: #3039
  • Téléspectateurs: 4,678

Top Contributeurs

130 éditions
52 éditions
25 éditions
21 éditions

Listes populaires

Listes apparentées d'autres utilisateurs
Upcoming dramas
463 titles 148 loves 4
GMM TV
211 titles 133 loves 11
GMMTV 2023
20 titles 57 loves 6

Récemment vu par