Complété
thisOx
1 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
févr. 10, 2024
4 épisodes vus sur 4
Complété 0
Globalement 6.0
Histoire 7.0
Acting/Cast 6.0
Musique 5.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 3.0
Cette critique peut contenir des spoilers

Déception

C'est une bonne série... "Mais"...
Le postulat de départ est intéressant. Un jeune homme désemparé meurt, rencontre la mort et se voit attribué 12 autres vies (autant que sur cadran d'une horloge; décompte qui tourne dans le sens inverse des aiguille d'une montre, j'ai aimé ce détail).
J'ai trouvé que chaque vie soit interprétée par un acteurs différent (jolie performance de certains d'entre eux d'ailleurs, pour caler au tempérament du perso de départ).
j'ai aussi aimé que le personnage principal soit un peu désagréable (une tête à claque parfois). Et la mort est sympathique (^^) et le méchant est grandiose !
Par contre, j'ai clairement eut l'impression de visionner un spot publicitaire du ministère de la santé public coréen !
"Non, ne vous suicidez pas, c'est mal !" et si c'est pas le ministère de la santé, c'est l'église (catholique ou autre)
Il est vrai qu'en Corée du Sud, comme dans tous les pays occidentalisés, le taux de suicide ne cesse d'augmenter. Je comprends que ce soit un problème (ça fait désordre). Mais là, le message de propagande est un peu trop martelé, ça m'a totalement gâché la série.
Voilà pourquoi je ne mets pas une bonne note alors que la production est plutôt bonne (interprétation, prise de vue, effet spéciaux). Bref bonne série, mais que je ne regarderai pas une seconde fois (sauf cas d'ennuis profond)

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
melywen
0 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
févr. 20, 2024
4 épisodes vus sur 4
Complété 0
Globalement 8.0
Histoire 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Musique 8.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 6.0

Originale

Cette série est originale de part son intrigue et son contexte. Il y a pas mal d'acteurs, certains sont vraiment de courte durée et d'autres durent plus longtemps... le personnage de la mort est mon préféré , ça façon de parler en énigme et ça façon d'être m'on fait sourire plus d'une fois. Le héros aurait mérité quelques paires de claques, ces réactions puériles sont devenues soulantes mais dans ces épisodes on ne traine pas , pas le temps de pleurer sur son sort la mort l'envoyait à une autre vie rapidement et on était à nouveau pris dans une nouvelle histoire.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
ibra
61 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
déc. 16, 2023
8 épisodes vus sur 4
Complété 4
Globalement 9.0
Histoire 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.5
Musique 8.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 7.5
Cette critique peut contenir des spoilers

Glamorous cast, thrilling show

totally enjoyed first 4 eps, charcter of death is really amazing as well as screenplay. this show is not cliche kdrama with happy parts only it is serious stuff with some real world issues. We have seen shows like rezero anime similar to this but what differentiates this is how every death is linked to previous one which is kinda amazing thought by writer.
only part I didn't like was some stories were little rushed to fit in 4 eps and obviously it makes sense when you have so many top tier actors coming in.
can't wait for next 4 eps.
Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
LexiB97
80 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
déc. 19, 2023
8 épisodes vus sur 4
Complété 0
Globalement 10
Histoire 10
Acting/Cast 10
Musique 10
Degrés de Re-visionnage 8.0
Cette critique peut contenir des spoilers

This is the hell!

Episode 1:
"You are guilty of coming to find me before I came to find you."
Episode 2:
"Isn't it that what you humans do? You care more about the thorn in your own finger than the knife inside someone else's body."
Episode 3:
"At first, it felt so unfair. But now, I regret being trapped in a prison called death after going out of the way to ruin my own life."
Episode 4:
"Humans always struggle to live only after they die, not while they are still alive."
"The reason we're afraid of death is because there will be no tomorrow."
Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
anti romantic
25 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
déc. 16, 2023
8 épisodes vus sur 4
Complété 1
Globalement 8.5
Histoire 8.5
Acting/Cast 9.5
Musique 10
Degrés de Re-visionnage 8.5

Butterfly Effect

Talk about the butterfly effect.
I know everyone has written a review on how good the drama is and how the actors have embodied the roles. However, can we talk about just episode one.
Everything in Yi Jae life would have turned out much better in a sense if he hadn't witnessed that man's death. That one thing was what literally spiraled everything out of place. Because he became traumatised he messed up in the interview.
It was almost like a bad omen. Everything after that kept going wrong. And we can literally see that DEATH was gripping unto Yi Jae since that scene. The dying man's grip on his blazer was soooo strong and felt very ominous to me at least.
So yea, everything after that one encounter with death set up the events that occurred after.
Which had me thinking what if? What if he hadn't encountered death that day? What would've happened? So that was just something I found very very intriguing.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
jwookie
15 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
déc. 17, 2023
8 épisodes vus sur 4
Complété 1
Globalement 8.0
Histoire 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Musique 5.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 5.5
Cette critique peut contenir des spoilers

This show has good potential

Loved all the cast but tbh I do not like the main character. He has already lived 7 lives and yet he still hasn't even tried to learn a new strategy to survive but still seeks out money and loves material goods. ig its excusable since he didn't really have any money when he was alive however, he should know by now that they don't matter if he dies in the body he's in. My favourite life was Jae Wooks life as the prisoner cause the way he dealt with the bully pretending to be a psychopath was good. " living a life of fear isn't a life lived" (or something like that). The biggest thing I hate however is the fact that I now have to wait 1 whole month for 4 more episodes like there was no need for that but it had a good cliffhanger so I'm intrigued enough to wait. My guess is that the gun doesn't work on death or maybe he would be punished cause he killed or something. Ps Sunghoons life was hilarious cause he was practically paid to introduce himself and then splat on the earth and royeun celebrating 30% ratings killed me?. Its a good show nonetheless so I suggest everyone watch it, at least to see your fav actors and actresses.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
strawyuu
45 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
janv. 4, 2024
4 épisodes vus sur 4
Complété 11
Globalement 6.0
Histoire 5.5
Acting/Cast 4.5
Musique 6.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 2.0
Cette critique peut contenir des spoilers

A faux-deep show with a harmful message

I’m actually surprised to see how much praise is being sung for Death’s Game. Death’s Game is by no means philosophical, nor does it bring anything new to the table in terms of discussion around the subject of suicide. It simply offers the common - and harmful - rhetoric of “You should feel guilty about (thinking of) killing yourself because your death will hurt others.”

Living to avoid causing pain to others - and by proxy living FOR others - is no way to live at all. In fact, according to this rhetoric, if no one would mourn your passing, then it should be fine for you to die by your own hands. Your desire to live has to come from yourself because the minute it depends on other factors you lose any semblance of control over it.

Death’s Game tackled its message wrong from the start. In my opinion, an anti-suicide show should focus on the “joys” rather than the pains of life. If you’ve ever said something along the lines of “I’m feeling down/sad/upset” and been told “well others have it worse,” did that really make you feel any less upset? Probably not. This is why reincarnations such as the baby’s don’t work as substantial support for the show’s main message.

On the topic of support for the show’s main message: this support is thin. Why? Because so much of it is just pure shock value. There are multiple instances of this. The baby. But also the prisoner reincarnation. One would think this particular story would end with the hit-and-run daughter’s father killing who he believes to be the perpetrator BECAUSE this would tie in with the idea the show was pushing about the consequences of Korea’s lenient juvenile laws. But no, the main character is then stabbed a SECOND time by another twist villain. Did this add anything to the show? No. In fact, it lessened the impact of the previous scene. So why did it need to happen?

On a side-note, the twists in this show are so random. Some I predicted from the start, like the brother being behind the airplane crash. Other twists just exist to be twists. That is not good writing.

Additionally, logically-speaking, why does Death target our main character specifically? Does she give this same experience to everyone? Surely there are others who fit her criteria more explicitly. And, on the other hand, imagine someone who has suffered much worse than Choi Yi Jae. Does said person deserve to experience more suffering (multiple deaths) simply because they sought to put an end to their own? Definitely not.

I really can’t tell what this show wants to be. It feels so ungrounded from reality that I find it hard to take it seriously. The tone feels a bit all over the place. It doesn’t help that the special effects look cheap, and that the dialogue sometimes sounds incredibly comic book-y. All it was missing was some text bubbles. I’m assuming that might be because the show is an adaptation from a Webtoon, but what works in comic format won’t always work in live action. Also, I’m not usually one to comment on bad acting, and I’m sorry to say that despite the cast being visually stunning, this show is chock-full with it.

Lastly, I felt no emotional connection to any of the characters? I wasn’t sad about any of the deaths. Which I find surprising given I’m very empathetic and often have no trouble doing so. Nor did any character relationships particularly stand out. The main character and his gf have the stock template, textbook start to their relationship, and their dynamic isn’t particularly interesting.

If Death truly cared about the main character’s respect for “death” she would show him how to love living again instead of torturing and potentially emotionally traumatizing him for the remainder of his existence.

Death’s game is not as deep and thought-provoking as some laud it to be, and it's honestly worrisome how well-received such a show is. It presents its singular perspective on suicide, which negates and ignores the mental health aspects that come along with suicidal ideation.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
KinnPorsche
27 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
déc. 15, 2023
4 épisodes vus sur 4
Complété 1
Globalement 9.5
Histoire 10
Acting/Cast 10
Musique 9.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 9.0

When death is NOT the end but THE BEGINNING.

"What have i done to DESERVE this? What is my SIN?"
"You went looking for DEATH even before DEATH came looking for you."

PLOT/STORY LINE
It's the story of a young man who's greatest sin was to go looking for death before it even ever came looking for him.[commits suicide]
Death angry at his audacity and insulted by his flippant attitude towards dying, comes to punish him with her game and mindfuckery: He is to be reincarnated into bodies of 12 people 12 times just to ultimately die, he must experience death over and over again through 12 other lives. But the only way to change is if he can find a way to survive the imminent death coming for these lives, he gets to live out their lifetime in the same body.
The ML is not A PERFECT HUMAN, no he is just as selfish, greedy, stupid, overconfident. And he is also sensitive, emotional and sentimental. He has faults and i think thats makes the story even more better.

The DRAMA has everything. It has THRILLER, ROMANCE, COMEDY, very DARK HUMOUR[surprisingly], ACTION SCENES.

CAST/ACTING
Holy shit, can i say this cast is like INSANE. Like it screams A MILLION BUCKS and has HIGH BUDGET written all over it in bold. Dare i say this might be the most iconic cast in a decade, like imagine all the famous and amazing K-actors of recent time all coming together to create a big bang with this.
And not only the cast is giving the VISUALS but that acting is a slay. The way each actor portrays the character and story is just chef's kiss.

The way you see the protagonist goes through thousand different feeling during the whole trail makes you feel like you are living the character.
The feeling of hopelessness, sadness, betrayal, pain, anger, frustration is so potent in the series that you feel it in your bones.
THE CINEMATOGRAPHY, THE VISUALS, THE OST, THE BGM, THE PLOT LINE, THE ACTION SCENES.
Everything seems like perfection.

Like i have nothing more to say other than that NOT WATCHING this is a loss. It is damn near the best kdrama i have potentially seen this year.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
cc5
7 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
janv. 5, 2024
4 épisodes vus sur 4
Complété 0
Globalement 6.0
Histoire 6.5
Acting/Cast 8.5
Musique 5.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 1.0

A storyline that tries hard to justify itself but fails to do so.

spoilers are there, read at your own risk.

As from synopsis, the story is basically about an ML who gave up on life due to unemployment and getting turned down from most jobs which leads him to feel useless and kills himself. In turn death punishes him, saying he will be transferred in bodies of people for twelve times and these bodies are someone fated to die soon and if he manages to survive in any of those twelve times, he can escape going to hell for sin of committing suicide. The whole plot is about death asking ML does he realize anything from the lives he lived, had he learnt anything and every time hero says I will beat you in this and survive against you.

Like so the hero goes to live in bodies of 12 lives who are destined to die soon. Now each episode is filled with star cast who acted those 12 lives, and it was really entertaining. It wasn't boring at all and all those lives are connected to each other in the storyline and the wrap of those lives to the whole plot made so much sense, even though these 12 lives people are strangers to each other character, yet they all are tied up together brilliantly to make sense. For that alone I gave this show 6.5 rating.

The only reason I'm disappointed is the that even to the end death punishing ML didn't justify in slightest sense. At the end hero realizes he made mistake by killing himself because he gave the people he loved to live with the pain of his death. Which is a very valid reason and I agree the ML is at fault to an extent because the only thing that put him down and depressed is his unemployment, he had other things that most people won't even have. He had a girlfriend who wasn't ashamed he couldn't find a job but was rather supportive and proud of him and was ready to take care of him always. He has a wonderful mother who didn't pressure him into finding a job. Most people who actually kill themselves are someone who is totally alone unlike ML. Maybe ML failed to recognize this and killed himself without realizing how it would impact his close lives. Which is something some of the depressed people who still have supporting families fail to realize and end lives. I agree they shouldn't do that, this is why awareness of seeking help for mental health is very important. but other half of depressed people are someone who are abandoned to live in agony.

Anyway, by my above paragraph you might think death was right punishing him because ML ended his life without thinking about loved ones, but here is the twist. As you have read, ML goes to live in 12 bodies, during this time death says she won't interfere and also says I don't kill people, people are bound to die by the fate that was written to them. All along she tells ML he committed a sin by killing himself instead of dying at the time the fate was written. She says one shouldn't choose death but should die at fate written by god.

Let me tell you, in all those 12 times ML got to live, he witness his girlfriend death who gets murdered tragically, his mother is also supposed to die in a hiking accident but got to live because ML finally won against the fate of surviving in at least one of the twelve times and last life is he possessed his mom's body. Which means ML if he didn't commit suicide, not only would have witnessed his GF death but also his mother death and still live in unemployment.

You might think if he didn't kill himself, he may have protected his gf and mom by being near them. But death clearly says their fates are destined like that. Whether any change can happen to their fates is like a roll of dice, and no body can know.

Not only that, all the ten lives ML lived, are mostly innocent lives who got killed except for two or three lives where ML entered into evil people bodies who actually deserve to die.

So in conclusion, the drama major reason of death giving punishment didn't make sense because even if ML lived he had to live in misery of losing loved one's, if he kills himself, he has to face punishment of death god and get's killed 12 times. For me, the whole series I agree ML is at fault for not thinking about his loved one's and dying, but death is the most evil person as she punishes ML whose fate is already cruel even if he doesn't kill himself and another evil is god who wrote fate of innocent people to die soon in most painful way.





Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
Blkittykat
16 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
déc. 15, 2023
4 épisodes vus sur 4
Complété 0
Globalement 9.0
Histoire 9.5
Acting/Cast 9.5
Musique 8.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 9.0

Because you came looking for me, before I came to find you

Take notes because this is perfect execution on all fronts.

Choi Yi Jae, at the lowest point of his life as he sees it, chooses to end his life, only to meet Death who is angered with his flippant attitude towards her and is now putting him through a punishment of undergoing 12 reincarnations, each person on the brink of death, Choi Yi Jae is given the chance to save their lives. If he succeeds, he gets to live out the rest of their life, if not, he goes through his trial again.

And punishment it is because he has to not simply find a solution to prevent their imminent threats, but also go through the feelings of sadness, betrayal, pain, helplessness and more when his reincarnation eventually succumbs to their situation. Choi Yi Jae nevertheless goes through his lives with his personal agenda and goals, but with each passing lifeline, his attitude towards life slowly shifts as does his personal goal.

It's such a great beginning honestly, not just with the story, but the execution and the cinematography. And most importantly the cast. Wow. Seo In Guk is honestly such a good actor, plus each of the actors who play one of the reincarnations is brilliant at picking up on the little quirks that Seo In Guk brings to his character so that it looks like each of them is actually Choi Yi Jae. Just the guest cast is stacked, Choi Si Won, Sung Hoon, Kim Kang Hoon, Jang Seung Jo, Lee Jae Wook, Lee Do Hyun and that's just the first part. I haven't even gotten to Park So Dam yet, every expression and dialogue of hers carries the weight of her character. Every single one of them just brings something great to the table.

This was a really good 4 episodes, the plot honestly wrote itself and I can't wait for the next part.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
En cours 4/4
lynlynn
13 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
déc. 28, 2023
4 épisodes vus sur 4
En cours 0
Globalement 3.0
Histoire 3.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Musique 8.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 3.0

Great premise, stupid characters

Was really excited for this as the premise seemed interesting. Then we were introduced to Death. She's an annoying child throwing a tantrum because, according to her, humans don't deserve to kill themselves. She says there are way worse pain than living a crappy life. I guess people being sexually trafficked, liked the gangster's girlfriend, should just go on living no matter how hellish their life is. Oh, and she doesn't like being "disrespected", as if people killing themselves are doing it for fun.

The action scenes and the different lives are interesting, especially the gangster one. Sadly, this Death is not as cool as they could have had her be. She could have had a better reason for the game. Instead she just comes off as petty and silly. I just can't take her seriously with her constant threats, aka constant whinnying.

I know it's based off a webtoon but I honestly think it could have been much better with a different, more interesting reason as to why the game happens.

No hate to the actress. At least she has a cool look.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
umbaumbawe
7 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
janv. 12, 2024
4 épisodes vus sur 4
Complété 0
Globalement 5.0
Histoire 4.5
Acting/Cast 7.0
Musique 7.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 1.0

Flawed message

Korean dramas should really stop depicting people who committed suicide as selfish jerks who just didn't try their best and start talking about mental health issues and self-care. For me, this very reductive view of the problem negatively affects the whole story and makes the premise a bit ridiculous. The other aspects of the series are just ok. The series has several very good actors, but unfortunately the story does not live up to their talent. Some episodes were entertaining, but not enough to watch them again.
Cet avis était-il utile?
Le Jeu De La Mort (2023) poster

Renseignements

Statistiques

  • Score: 8.9 (marqué par 21,476 utilisateurs)
  • Classé: #106
  • Popularité: #216
  • Téléspectateurs: 48,721

Top Contributeurs

143 éditions
61 éditions
38 éditions
21 éditions

Listes populaires

Listes apparentées d'autres utilisateurs
All Time Favorite Dramas
678 titles 1672 loves 35
Short KDrama
2081 titles 428 loves 15
Webtoon/Miniseries Dramas
556 titles 262 loves 2

Récemment vu par