Complété
lex Finger Heart Award1
217 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
oct. 26, 2023
9 épisodes vus sur 9
Complété 0
Globalement 6.0
Histoire 5.5
Acting/Cast 7.0
Musique 6.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 1.0
Cette critique peut contenir des spoilers

A cliche love story about your “not so typical” girl next door & the ordinary boy she falls for.

***DISCLAIMER: This is just my opinion, we don’t have to agree and I’m not here to argue with anyone. This review is kind of long so please bare with me.***

A/N: I went into this drama blind without reading the webtoon or having any preconceived ideas.

Tropes: girl next door, grumpy/sunshine, friends to lovers.

General Overview:

I kind of liked this drama because it is really nostalgic and takes you back. The cinematography is beautiful and it seems like it was meant to be a documentary or memoir of sorts recounting Doona and Won Jun’s experiences and how they crossed paths and essentially changed the trajectory of each others lives forever.

An ordinary guy and a superstar girl – that’s a cliche if I’ve ever seen one. I found it kind of tricky getting into this drama because the first 2 episodes are slow and you’re not really sure what exactly is going on because theres not much context but as you keep on watching and bridge the gap between episodes 2 & 3 and really delve into episode 4 & 5 things start heating up and becoming more interesting. I like the relationship between Doona and Won Jun because it shows us what a new adult / young love is and how at times it can be messy especially when there’s a lot of miscommunication thrown into the mix.

Their love story is by no means perfect but it’s also realistic in the way that other people watching can definitely relate to it and look back on their own past relationships / first loves and be reminiscent of a similar time / experience in their lives. Even if you have never experienced something like there are a lot of important life lessons to be learned.

I honestly feel like this drama lacked depth and they could’ve done so much more to better capture the struggle between wanting to live a normal life with your love and choosing to chase/ follow your dreams and be an idol. The ending sucked big time but again, I had already predicted it would be a sad/open ending by episode 5.

____________________________________________________

A More Detailed Review (spoilers ahead):

Doona opens with Doona submerging herself in a pool of water and seemingly sinking to the bottom of it and drowning… I believe this is a reflection of how she truly feels on the inside.

The drama follows Dream Sweet Doona, a kpop idol who has fallen from grace and has taken a hiatus from being an idol due to an on-stage accident in which she stated she could no longer sing. We see her smoking profusely in a lot of the shots... we're not sure what's going through her head. Doona appears forlorn and despondent, as if she is fighting to find her place in the world while being neglected by the individuals she most badly wants to hear from. The number one person is P (her agent), who does not respond to any of her texts or phone calls.

As the story progresses we see Doona meet Won Jun and a love/hate dynamic develops between them. She can’t believe Won Jun doesn’t know who she is and that he’s not a fan as she sees him sporting a sweet dream hoodie. Anyways a uncanny dynamic develops between them and Doona finds herself annoying him and asking him out to eat for the fun of it. Won Jun thinks she’s only teasing him and is not actually serious. They get into a spat one night as Won Jun says something that hurts her feelings and sends her over the edge.

From there they make up and you see them hanging out and Doona giving Won Jun advice on love as Won Jun still seems to have feelings for this girl (Jin Ju) from his past. It seems they were almost high school sweethearts and did like each other but in the end things did not work out. Now a year later, Jin Ju has re-entered his life and Won Jun wants to obviously be more just friends but they keep missing the timing. I think this is essential to the plot because Jin Ju is a symbol of the past… and past memories while Doona is a symbol of Won Jun’s present and future. Back then, Won Jun was weak timid and was not able to confess to the girl he liked and win her over. This past Won Jun seemingly no longer exists as he is intrigued by Doona. He enters unfamiliar territory when he is with her and so she seems enthralling and fun to hang around. Even though Jin Ju and Won Jun have all the history and memories, it shows you can only hold onto a person for so much and no more. This was demonstrated when Jin Ju finally starts showing interest in Won Jun and was able to confess her feelings, he had already mentally moved on and was now interested in pursuing Doona.

Insights:

Doona lacks emotional intelligence because she has never led a typical/normal life. She also has trouble controlling her emotions, which I believe is related to her lack of emotional awareness. As someone once said, you have to be good with yourself before you can be good for other people. I think Doona needs to take care of herself and prioritize her mental health. It was very saddening watching her go through these psychotic breaks and moments of weakness completely alone. If “being in a room of crowded people and still feeling alone” was a person, that would be Doona.

Given that Donna appeared to have been groomed from the age of 13 or 14 until her early 20s, my heart ached for her. Doona became codependent on her agent as he effectively made her into an idol. It's obvious that the agent did not view her as a real person, but rather as a product or item. He was a manipulative man who only valued her when she was complying with his wishes. Her agent was simply emotionally absent and only doing his job but Doona misinterpreted it for love and concern. In essence, he exploited her as a tool as Doona only piqued his interest when she brought in big bucks and advanced his career. The moment the flip switched in her head and she told him she could no longer handle the idol life he became very cold and distant. It just showed that his affection for her was conditional on her performing and acting a certain way.

It's clear that Doona is a complex individual who has led a very one-dimensional existence. She had a one-track mind because her life was always regimented and linear. Her walls and fences gradually started to come down when her celebrity faded and she had some alone time without others chasing her, revealing the shell of a girl who genuinely needed to repair her inner child. Her mom dropped her off and was too busy coning others out of their money, so only her grandmother took care of her. She did not regard Doona as her daughter or child, but rather as a paycheck. She seemed more liberated and at ease when she spent time with Won Jun. I feel like hanging out with Won Jun made Doona feel free and ordinary. In a way he came into her life as a blessing.

Likes:

I enjoyed the cinematography and the setting. It was a very cozy and fitting drama to watch in the fall!

I liked Se Jong’s performance as Won Jun. It was refreshing to see a very emotionally intelligent man grace the screen. He literally was such a green flag and gave off the impression of a man who was ready to open his heart to someone who didn't appear to deserve him. Se Jong portrayed his innocence and naivety to perfection. It was endearing, but it also demonstrates how males are capable of feeling emotions and having strong feelings for the person they love. I can understand why he was only able to see the best in Doona because love is blind and gives people rose-colored lenses.

The chemistry between Won Jun and Doona was off the charts, if that's what you were mainly watching for. Warning if you are currently single this drama will definitely make you feel even more so. I felt like a third wheel or like I was intruding when watching some of their scenes because it was a bit intense and caught me off guard.

I thought Ha Young’s portrayal of Jin Ju was endearing. Her character brought so much light even in darkness and was one of the best to come out of this drama. Ha Young is seriously so charming on screen and has one of the best smiles I’ve ever seen. Her story was so tragic and she smiled and pretended to be happy on the outside to conceal the fact that she was actually breaking inside. She has strict parents which I’m sure people on here can relate to however the emotional and physical abuse she faced daily was so uncalled for. I liked how Jin Ju handled it with grace and eventually left her home situation. I was lowkey rooting for her and Won Jun in the beginning because she seemed like the of ray of sunshine he needed in his life. To me their personalities seemed more compatible than Won Jun and Doona but they took too long to confess how they felt. Even though her and Won Jun did not work out I am glad they are still friends… and you never know they might have missed their timing now but they could always reconnect years from now.

I also enjoyed the performances of the supporting cast. I-Ra and Jung Hoon were cute and I am happy they got together in the end. The friendship dynamic between everyone was refreshing and I’m glad they still met up to hang out and drink together rather than the friendship being lost after everyone moved out of the building.

Dislikes:

I must admit that Suzy's performance was not the best; I feel like she could have put more effort into truly selling the role. She mostly just posed in the scenes and kept on smoking and sighing which got really repetitive. She seemed to be in unfamiliar territory and did not have a similar experience to channel when playing Doona (a pop star fallen from grace) This led me to believe that she had never really had a had first-hand experience with despair, mental health concerns, and depression / loneliness as an idol. This role was clearly daunting for her and it showed.

In the 3rd act conflict when Doona saw her ex (the agent) and dropped Won Jun’s hand not once but TWICE I was pissed. Like that was an immediate red flag! And then she legit got in the car with the ex and didn’t like that he wasn’t reassuring her and saying all the things she wanted to hear then she opened the door, threw herself out of the car and hurt her foot?! That was absolutely psychotic and batshit crazy. Then she wants to come crawling back to Won Jun and playing the victim?! LOL this was so toxic and messy but at the same time realistic portrayal of young (blind) love. But more seriously, in those moments I questioned if Doona actually had any care or sympathy for Won Jun or his feelings. She was saying one thing but her actions always consistently proved otherwise. I guess this is what people would call a contradictory character but to me it was apparent she needed to work on herself because her behavior was deplorable.

The miscommunication between the leads was absolutely unnecessary and they could have fixed their issues with a simple and honest conversation. When Won Jun asked her if she’s back bc her agent didn’t want her I was like damn! Get her again for me. Being the other person, who appears to be someone's fallback or backup plan in case they can't get the main person they're seeking, is a tragic situation. The exchange between Doona and Won Jun eloquently encapsulated how awful it is.

I was irritated by the agent's attempt to minimize Won Jun's significance. He pretended to be concerned about Doona's welfare, but his true motivation was to use her as a means of generating income for himself. He presents himself as superior to everyone else and shows pretends like he has no concern for those so-called "kids." Mind you he's in their business 25/8 and suggested they break up immediately. In my opinion, the agent acts like a whiny boy who gets upset when he doesn't get his way in a situation.

9 episodes seemed too short but also too long because if you think about it this drama could’ve easily just been a 2 hour movie lmao… there’s so much unnecessary dragging out of the plot.

As I reviewed my episode ratings, I realized that I only ever gave one episode an 8 out of 10, while the others received ratings between 6 and 7. In my opinion this drama suffers from a severe lack of depth and overcompensates by focusing too much on ridiculous relationship drama. It does far more showing than actually telling. Then again, there is only so much they could fit into 9 episodes. Realistically speaking this drama only needed to be about 5 or 6 episodes long, after that it became tedious and started to drag on.

____________________________________________________

Quotes I liked:

"Of course we won’t always know everyones story entirely because we all have a version of ourselves that we want to hide from the world."

“You once said to me that you and I come from two completely different worlds. That you never could’ve imagined we would ever cross paths. So to find ourselves sitting side by side was purely by chance. Or maybe even an act of destiny.”

“You may be right that we met by chance. But I’m still happy you were the one I met.”

“But do you know what’s really hard? It’s not the people who were never there to begin with. But it’s when you lose the people that were always there from the start. That’s enough to drive you really insane.”

“You’re selfish and unstable and you hurt me without even thinking twice about it.”

“You came and totally flipped my world upside down! But still I’m feeling crazy because I want to be the one that you want.”

“Blaming the winner when you lose is really only going to make you look a lot more pathetic. It’s a bad look.”

____________________________________________________


Final Thoughts:

Overall this drama is the definition of a friends to lovers, toxic love story with miscommunication at the forefront. It was comforting and nostalgic in the way that sometimes you need a soft drama which you can relax and watch without focusing too much on a heavily plot driven story.

Should people should watch it or not? I have no idea, it depends on your taste and if you enjoy cliche and predictable dramas or not. It seems like a drama for persons who enjoyed Nevertheless. As I said it's difficult getting into the drama because of the slow pace and I'm not sure how many people would actually stick around to see their relationship "progress." Their relationship is chaotic and toxic so if you do decide to watch brace yourself!

In my opinion, people encounter stories like these on a daily basis, but most of them romanticize the toxicity and fail to highlight the difficulties that come with relationships and the desire to be wanted or chosen in the same capacity / way that you pour love and care into your partner.

What broke my heart while watching was the fact that both characters had their short comings but Won Jun was willing to overlook all that and give Doona a chance but she was not emotionally available / mature and just carelessly played with his feelings because what she needed at the time was his attention and comfort. Even though Doona knew they wouldn't last in the long run, she effectively used Won Jun as a stand-in in her life. Doona is a real emotional wreck, and I was struck and annoyed the entire time I was watching.

Nevertheless, I believe there are many valuable things that both younger and older individuals may learn. Cease the moment, learn to be emotionally intelligent, go after what / who you want before it’s too late. Some people believe Won Jun and Doona ended up together but I believe they met each other at a time in their lives where they both needed each other. Simply put, not everything is meant to last forever and if you ever want to find happiness, you have to learn to be okay with that.

With all that being said I gave this drama a 6.5 but after assessing everything I rounded it down to a 6/10.

Anyways that’s my two cents, you can watch it and see for yourself!

(Ty to those who read this far!)

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
chazerb
292 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
oct. 20, 2023
9 épisodes vus sur 9
Complété 15
Globalement 10
Histoire 10
Acting/Cast 10
Musique 10
Degrés de Re-visionnage 10
Cette critique peut contenir des spoilers

Artistically stunning with hidden meanings :)

I don’t write many reviews. I’ve only ever written one before and it was for The Glory. But this stunning drama deserves one, especially as I am upset at some of the comments and reviews made so far.

I am in England, and currently we are having a pretty intense storm so I am home and had free reign over the tv. I had saw this on my Netflix recommendations, so decided given its nine episodes that this would be my treat for the day (alongside wine and chocolate obviously ;)

This drama is stunning. Visually, directionally and its gorgeous writing. The main characters are endearing and free spirited. I resonated to Doona through mental struggles and her cold approach to relationships.

Key to the series here is that Doona is outwardly cold, but inwards she is warm hearted and yearns for love and approval. This needs to be remembered as you go through the series, every decision she makes you need to remember that inwardly she feels so much profound pain. She also loves Wonjun more than anything in the world. But she needs approval, and her career is the only thing that can satiate that need.

Your twenties is a period of change and growth. Ebbs and flows are normal - reviews upset about the ending are not looking deep enough.

Here’s something you may not of noticed. In the last few episodes - After the opening credits, at the beginning. There is a clip, which is very interesting in response to the ‘open’ ending. In the last episode, the clip is Doona and Wonjun meeting in a field of flowers. *look* at the outfits! Wonjun is wearing the suit and coat that he is wearing in the last scenes. When he is smiling at cake, glances at jewellery. Before walking in the hotel, and Doona turns round. Clearly she calls for him, or they are already in some kind of situationship.

The opening credit scene shows after this ‘open’ ending, they do meet and I believe the intention is to be together and make it work.

Because all these years later they are ready for eachother. They have the approval they needed from the world all those years ago. Now they are ready for it from eachother. Early on in the series, Doona says that her personal life and career would calm down after a few years. In 2027, that has happened and she can love freely the person she loves.

Gorgeous hidden meanings and direction. The director is a genius, look at CLOY. People shouldn’t write this drama off, be upset if you were initially- go back and re watch looking at the depth and meaning of words.

It’s beautiful and has enriched me for the better.

I hope it enriches you as well.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
MsNotes
40 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
oct. 22, 2023
9 épisodes vus sur 9
Complété 2
Globalement 9.0
Histoire 9.5
Acting/Cast 9.5
Musique 9.5
Degrés de Re-visionnage 7.5

Love story of celebrity Doona. Toxic. Hot. Engaging.

Imagine a book you had fun reading and the writer gives you a blank page to decide their fate... I think most people synced well with the starting story but what's debatable is... the ENDING. It depends all on how much linked you were to the story and which kind of decision you would've taken if you stood in their shoes. with how much I understood the complexity of these characters I kinda liked the ending.

"Doona!" is a melodramatic beautifully written story of a fallen star, Lee Doona who was having a hard time for multiple reasons and hence somehow messed up her career and ended up living in a rented house in Seoul which led to her encounter with Won Jun, a university student. They shared the house with few other people hence taking us on a journey of awesome friendships, compelling romances and much melodrama.

Although that description sounds like a cute, healing, delightful story. Its kind of the opposite with immense angst, as you witness these messy characters taking up messy choices. They'll wreck your mind but as complicated and toxic as it gets, you'll be more addicted to this and excited to know the end.

with amazing emotional build up and acting, the leads have sizzling chemistry even though they're poles apart. She needed someone to heal her loneliness and the male lead who has never made a risky move realising that he could actually go head over heels for someone like this.

I love the realistic approach of this drama and how no character looked perfect. Even the ML who looks superficially perfect had some minor flaws if you notice. so they had flaws, enough depression inside them that they expressed at different scenes, they made mistakes, regretted them and none went by smiling "okay I'm good"... If you're sad and hurt, cry, move out, don't act up, like this ain't a fairytale.

What levels up the spice of this drama is the melancholic OSTs, crazy visuals, you can't help but stare at Suzy (like damn Bae Suzy and her overall presence is aesthetically a treat to watch) and I'm surprised that I was not disappointed by anyone's acting. They were all wonderful infact especially Bae Suzy (its basically her drama, you'll see the plot revolving around her too)

Overall this was an amazing entertainer, high quality production, visually satisfying intense drama which is both binge watchable and frustrating if you don't sync with the characters. With many viewers this is either a hit or a miss. Some would love it enough to scream and others would hate this enough to scream. Scream-worthy either ways.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
Mahizes
38 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
oct. 20, 2023
9 épisodes vus sur 9
Complété 2
Globalement 5.5
Histoire 4.5
Acting/Cast 6.0
Musique 7.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 4.5

Doona: Lost Potential & Mixed Signals

"Doona!" began with a premise that promised an intriguing dynamic between its main characters - Doo Na, a former member of the girl group Dream Sweet, and Won Jun, a college student unaware of her celebrity status. Their initial misunderstandings had the potential to craft a compelling narrative about identity, fame, and genuine connections.

However, as the episodes progressed, the series seemed to lose its way. The first episode depicts Lee Doo-Na (brilliantly portrayed by Bae Suzy) in a prolonged state of introspection, seemingly detached from Won Jun (played by Yang Se-Jong). This sense of detachment quickly shifts in the following episode, making Doo Na's motivations perplexing. A subtle indication of her character's emotional volatility could have been appreciated, but the stark contrast between episodes feels inconsistent.

A significant subplot that added to my confusion was Doo Na's complex relationship with an older character, her manager P. This relationship, seemingly oscillating between paternal and romantic feelings, could have been a deep dive into Doo Na's psyche. Instead, it felt like an underdeveloped plot device that only muddied the waters. The series tried to touch upon Doo Na's inner turmoil and her need for validation, but the execution often felt superficial, making her actions seem capricious rather than profound.

Throughout the nine episodes, there were moments that felt drawn out, such as prolonged smoking scenes and introspective silences. While such scenes can be artistically valuable, in "Doona!" they often felt like fillers, detracting from the overall pacing. The dialogues, though meant to be meaningful, often fell short, leaving me craving more depth and clarity.

In conclusion, while "Doona!" had the potential to be a nuanced exploration of fame, identity, and relationships, it felt disjointed and, at times, directionless. The series tried to tackle complex emotions but often skirted around them, making the narrative feel somewhat hollow. I had high hopes but was left with a sense of unfulfilled potential.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
Enny
12 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
oct. 24, 2023
9 épisodes vus sur 9
Complété 0
Globalement 7.0
Histoire 6.0
Acting/Cast 9.0
Musique 8.5
Degrés de Re-visionnage 4.0

AESTHETICALLY DEEP !

Before you read this I hope you are not a fan of the writing because I in the most certain way possible am not !

I guess the plot line is very clear. A shining star crosses path with a person who aspires to lead a normal life. Both of them belong to what we may call "Different Worlds" and most obviously pique each other's interest. Share some time and paint each other in a color we call "LOVE"!!!
This most basic explanation doesn't really give scope for you to fall for the characters but the characters end up being a part of you as the story unfolds. Then even their seemingly meaningless actions find meaning!

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
LET ME TELL YOU ONCE - THE ENDING IS NOT WHY I RATED IT LOW !!!! (spoiler)
To be honest there was no apt ending to some happy ending would have done , to some sad, even tho I am a big - NO OPEN ENDINGS PLEASE kinda person I still believe some stories are better off incomplete because that's what completes them !
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

But there lie oceans of depth that the aesthetics unfold and the story doesn't stay true to !

To put it normal words ....this drama was made for a way darker story , way deeper emotions and was most certainly made for the depths that is couldn't touch ! There had to be more I feel that yearning ... that so much more was to be there that so much more should have been focused on .

Messy characters, unreasonable behavior, screaming, crying, everyday desperately fighting to hang on to life , clinging to that last string of hope, being abandoned, feeling neglect, treating other person unfairly in hope of healing yourself this had all it took for a drama to be in depth perfect !

TO MENTION - the actors did a great job !!!

SHOULD YOU WATCH - YES , MOST CERTAINLY YES !!!!

--------------------------SPOLIERS AHEAD------------------
What went wrong ....I know how she felt when she was abandoned , I could see it in her actions in her behavior but not in her story . I do feel the story did injustice to the actor who beautifully held on to what she was given.
the person who abandoned doona ...what did he offer to the story ?
what role did he play...if he did not come back even then the impact would have been the same ...they what did that brilliant actor do on screen ? waste some screen time ?

what were the side character there for ...there was clearly no time to develop their story ...why waste screen time ? just let them out of the frame . I'll be good with one less couple meaninglessly falling in love.

they did not develop the last 2 eps ...they just rushed to end ...i'd rather see the main couple idle on my screen than see some random underdeveloped side characters ! thankyou !

also it would have been a treat if they introduced a therapy angle like imagine if the FL was getting professional help and still was a mess ....ofc people around have a role to play even after professional help ...I would have loved for the ML to be that ...it's not a love interest's responsibility to heal you of your past trauma ...but ofc they can help and support !
ML doesn't have to be ....THE KNOW IT ALL THE ONLY SAVIOR !

Also I know the ML wanted to be with her desperately but was there anything the plotline offered him ? no it was just a 2 sec drinking scene a 3 sec work hard for your goal and a 5 min drama of why they shouldn't call out DOONA's name or he'll feel bad . LIKE FUCKING SERIOUSLY ? you made him in all fucking 8 eps to ruin all of that complex nature with jus a 5 min 5 sec clip ...?

I am not asking you to give me a reply when doona asked him what he was doing for them but atleast give me (viewer) a reply ...show me fucking how desperate he is to be with her ....
--------------------------------- Done Ranting ! -------------------------------------

all in all ...THIS DRAMA IS SO AESTHETICALLY PLEASING , there is so much more than what meets the eye ....give it time ...time to get under your skin and you shall be a new person by the end ! let it grow on you ....spend a weekend with the main characters ...skip the side characters if you want ...do not let the ending bother you ....and you have your treat !

will add my fav quotes in some time ....
till then pls do give it a shot !
HOPE YOU ENJOY !

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
Wang Ji El
51 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
oct. 20, 2023
9 épisodes vus sur 9
Complété 3
Globalement 9.0
Histoire 8.0
Acting/Cast 9.5
Musique 9.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 8.5
Cette critique peut contenir des spoilers

The BEST BOYFRIEND award goes to Won Jun!!!

First of all I would like to talk about the amazing cast and their wonderful acting. So, I would like to say that the first point that few people check for in a drama is satisfied. I felt that only an idol IRL can perform the character of Doona perfectly and Bae Suzy just nailed it.

The story is nothing new. But I just enjoyed this story so much, even thought the story is nothing new the characters and the way story progressed made it up for me. The character portrayal is obviously the heart of the story. Especially Yang Se Jong's character felt so refreshing to me.

Also the visuals in this drama are really good. Especially Doona, won jun, Jin-Ju, I-ra are really really good looking in the drama. I have no complaints regarding acting. This is my first time watching Yang Se Jong's acting and I really can't wait to watch more his dramas in the future.

If only they have an award under the category of best boyfriend, then definitely Won jun will get that award. He is such a caring boyfriend and understands Doona very well more than anyone else. Doona deserves the best as well, even though at first she irritated Won Jun, she is just misunderstood. Won Jun and Doona deserve each other as they deserve the best!!!

In the first episode, when they tried to portray the scenes that happened in the past, I felt that there is a bit of confusion while trying to figure out whether the scenes are happening in the past or the present. But in the upcoming episodes it was alright. But the last few episodes are really painful. Because I really couldn't stand them being sad even though they are doing pretty great in their daily life.

This is the first drama where I felt that opening song suited the drama the most and it felt really good listening to that song. I am not a big fan of these kind of climaxes. I watch dramas for pleasure and to feel happy, but the climax made me a bit sad. Only if they just given us a hint about their relationship instead of just vaguely defining it. But overall I enjoyed watching this drama. The chemistry b/w the leads is off the charts.

Then again this is a kind of drama where the director wants us to guess everything and have not explained few things in detailed. Like for example I-ra's dating phase, Jin-Ju's trip and occupation, also Won-Jun's job whereabouts. I am curious to know what job did Won Jun get and how is his family doing. Considering all these things, I wish they go for a season 2, cause I want to see more about Doona and Won Jun's story!!

PS - Great Acting! Usually Unusual Story LOL! Worth Your Time!!

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
crayrules
45 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
oct. 21, 2023
9 épisodes vus sur 9
Complété 0
Globalement 3.0
Histoire 3.5
Acting/Cast 7.5
Musique 5.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 1.5
Cette critique peut contenir des spoilers

"What's It Like to Date a Walking Red Flag"

That's what this title should be called...

I watched the animated version, (The Girl Downstairs) and now having watched the live version, my opinion hasn't changed. I was very surprised when I heard that they were making a live version of this because IMO, it really wasn't worth it. While the storyline vastly differed from each other (webtoon vs live action), the main characters were the same. This is probably one of the shallowest k-drama I've ever watched. Usually, you might see some immature ones like you find with some high school genres but this one certainly had no real, true depth.

The FL was a huge, walking, waving RED FLAG right from the beginning. She had no charming traits to her at all. A smoker, a drinker and basically a hothead. She obviously had some serious mental issues and was very unlikeable. The only reason you can think of why the ML falls for her is because of the physical attraction and all the moves she was pulling on him. After finding out the reason why the SFL, Jin-ju, left him in the first place, you sympathize with her and honestly, I was baffled as to why he never chose her. Jin-ju was way better than Doona. You only get glimpses of Doona's life and whatever the ML read about her online but she never once really opens up about herself at all. She just expects the ML to put up with her closed off attitude and he embarrassingly does.

Halfway through this, I was getting sick of watching the ML just get used and abused by the FL. He was constantly apologizing to her and putting up with her tantrums, mood swings and silent treatment for no good reason. He put up with so much of her BS that you lose respect for him early on. By the time EP7 came around, the minute she got into the Manager's car, I basically threw my hands up and gave up on both of them. The ML remains a pushover the entire time. It never stopped right from beginning to end and there was absolutely NO character growth from the FL at all. Four years go by and yet she remained self-centered, obsessive, whiny, and demanding til the very end. She never seeks any professional help. She could've used some serious therapy. In all honesty, it would've been good to see her talking to a therapist or doing some kind of work on herself like meditation. At least then it would've shown some self-reflection or inner work and it would've shown the audience that there's professional help and some options available to those who need it. That even "idols" could use some help.

In regards to the side characters, they contributed almost nothing to the story. The writer just couldn't write anyone having a real, heartfelt conversation. Like why did the FL's mother even bother making an appearance and nevermind the ML's family or best friend? All the side characters were just fillers. All the non-verbal communication was just irritating and frustrating to watch. I didn't even care about all the intimate scenes because I didn't care much for the ML and FL and especially the side characters. At least the side characters showed some changes and personal growth and I didn't even care for them.

It was really strategic and lucky that Netflix dropped all episodes at once as I think it would've been a lot different and worst if we had to wait for 1 or 2 episodes weekly. Overall, a hard pass on this one.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
oftheseven
19 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
oct. 23, 2023
9 épisodes vus sur 9
Complété 2
Globalement 5.0
Histoire 4.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Musique 4.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 1.0
Cette critique peut contenir des spoilers

Careful diving into this drama, you might hurt yourself from its shallowness.

Started with a promising premise. All humans, regardless of how famous, smart, or well-off, need love and healthy relationships. Instead of seeing true growth from our leads, we get an ill-advised relationship that was doomed to fail because the deep-rooted issues were never addressed.
Filmed with soft tones and moody vibes, you couldn't escape the shallow interactions and conversations between most of the characters, especially the FL and ML. Doona's persona (looks and vibes) appeared cartoonish, with just enough emotion and doe-eyed stares to take you along for the ride. She insists on wearing crop tops because, you know, when you abandon the K-pop industry, you want to be sure you still look the part and don't get me started on the creepy groomer vibes from the person she's obsessed with.
She meets a seemingly well-grounded, sincere guy who really wants to be her friend and help. Unfortunately, the way it's written, his mind's intellect, and his heart's good nature were no match for the urges in his pants. She needed therapy, not a boyfriend. We get the ending we did because it actually makes sense!

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
kyungsoosbae
20 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
oct. 22, 2023
9 épisodes vus sur 9
Complété 2
Globalement 9.0
Histoire 9.0
Acting/Cast 10
Musique 10
Degrés de Re-visionnage 9.0

BEAUTIFUL AND REAL

This drama is not for everyone, but at times you need a realistic relationship like this. Not everything is lovey-dovey all the time, and at times you have to let go of someone you love as it might not be the right time, but that does not mean that they never shared a connection. I feel like people really just want a happy ending and find it frustrating when there is some kind of open ending. Believe me, I am the same lol, I try to look for hints and go over the drama again for details. I think this is the case for Doona, there are some hidden but important details and clues in the last episode and in the intros and outros to each episode that personally made me think that the director very cleverly wanted them to be picked up by the viewers themselves.

The drama as a whole was beautiful to watch: the cinematography, the ost, and all the actors were superbly talented. I loved the friends group, and all the support cast was amazing in their roles. I do like more straightforward dramas with more rom-com elements as well, but I also love it when there is a more realistic twist and here, there was a realistic portrayal of how your twenties are such a tumultuous time of your life, and how complex love can be when paired with all the other things one has in their plate in this period of their life. Doo Na can be very unlikable and almost toxic at first, but as all her layers come down, you see that she's just a girl struggling to understand what makes her happy and who just wants to be accepted and loved. It showed us how tough things can get for idols, how little help they can get when they are struggling with anxiety and confusion, and how quick people are to hate them. Of course, this does not mean that all that she does throughout is acceptable, but I could see where she was coming from. Won Jun also just loved her for what she was but also told her when she hurt him and eventually let her go so that she could be herself while doing something that she loved, which was singing and being an idol. But at the same time, he let her go for his own good too, because he realised they were not happy together at that time and prioritised his and her individual happiness, but never stopped loving her. By the end, they were both doing what they wanted to do, and from the hints I picked up from that last episode they might even have given each other another chance at being together, as this time they were older and knew how to handle some things better.

I feel like everyone should try and watch this drama as it is, and try to understand the underlying meanings and the characters. I personally really loved it and I felt so understood while seeing all the various characters go through all their different experiences, feelings and emotions. The director was really clever, he so beautifully gave us the ending without actually giving it to us directly.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
Suzanne Atkinson
6 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
nov. 1, 2023
9 épisodes vus sur 9
Complété 0
Globalement 5.5
Histoire 5.5
Acting/Cast 7.5
Musique 5.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 3.0
Cette critique peut contenir des spoilers

Pretentious !

Not one of the best for me . Fortunately it only has 9 episodes so it made it easier to watch .
It is a bit of a cliché , young bright student leaves his town to come to Seoul to study and falls for a type of " femme fatale " girl who happens to live in the same house .
She has problems and issues , she smokes a lot . He thinks he can help and so they fall for each other . He discovers "love " or rather " sexual attraction " , She distracts him a lot and I wonder when he ever found the time to study ! There was little chemistry between the lead actors . He is sullen , she is exhausted most of the time !
His ex-girlfriend is a nice friendly girl who has feelings for him but he rejects her .
The story goes back and forth , not all the issues are resolved , and whether they are still together at the end or not does not bother me . I am glad not to have to see any of them again .

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
MinJossy
16 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
oct. 21, 2023
9 épisodes vus sur 9
Complété 1
Globalement 3.0
Histoire 4.5
Acting/Cast 10
Musique 10
Degrés de Re-visionnage 4.0
Cette critique peut contenir des spoilers

Feels very realistic and like a movie

Everything was done at a very high professional level and it felt like a movie I just hate how they didn't end up together. As soon as Doona's manager kept coming back after abandoning Doona I just knew her relationship was over and it was gonna be a bad ending. I mean she was able to become a popular singer again but her romantic relationship was over they also gave you an opening ending as well which I hate. I really wanted Won Jun and Doona to have a happy ending but they don't.... you would think after a while of being apart when Doona and Won Jun meet up again they would get back together but they leave you on a cliffhanger after they reconnect so you don't know if they are friends, get back together or their meetup was just a once off after they said they missed one another. Which is a shame cuz the whole series is good but the ending makes me hate the drama entirely and don't recommend it if you are like me and want to see them be together.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
David33
6 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
oct. 21, 2023
9 épisodes vus sur 9
Complété 0
Globalement 9.0
Histoire 9.0
Acting/Cast 8.0
Musique 8.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 7.0
Cette critique peut contenir des spoilers

REFRESHING!!!

First of all, let's just say, I'm surprised!!! Why? Because I thought that this is going to be a typical fairy tale drama, but no, it isn't!!! Let me say one thing for those who want to watch this show, and they have huge expectations. FORGET THEM ALL! It's not a typical love drama, and it's not even a feelgood drama. IF you watched 'Crash Landing on You', you will have almost the same experience, and it's not a coincidence because both show made by the same director! This is not a fantasy where everything is good and there are rainbows and cute puppies.😅 This drama is REAL as it gets. If you hate one or more characters because of their decisions, I'm not surprised. BUT if you ever loved someone, especially when you were young, you will understand why this show is a fantastic representation of “young love” and young people in general. Sure, we could say, Doona sometimes willful, violent or just don't care about anyone else but herself. That's only the surface! This drama showed us how fame can ruin a person's life, and not everything is as it seems, and maybe you want to watch TV shows because you want to escape from reality. If you want to do that, DON'T WATCH THIS DRAMA! Like I said, this isn't a fairy tale!

The characters are real, Doona too. The whole Idol part of the show just scratched the surface, to be honest, because being a celebrity is way worse than we have seen in this show. So, I'm not that surprised that the ending wasn't a typical Disney fairy tale. BTW, the ending. If you want happy ending, you have to pay attention!!! Again, YOU HAVE TO PAY ATTENTION, because the director purposefully blended every scene together perfectly, so you have to think twice or even more if you want to know what happened, especially in the second half of the season. He sprinkled a LOT of info and little scenes in the intro and in the episodes where you can find clues how the show really ended! Honestly, I bow down for the director because in my lifetime (36 years) I didn't witness a creative directing like this too many times!

My only problem with the show, is that it's too short, 9 episode nothing. I could watch 9 more. I hope there will be a second season, because if we don't count the minor issues and the short season, this show could've been perfect.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Lee Doo Na! (2023) poster

Renseignements

Statistiques

  • Score: 7.8 (marqué par 23,864 utilisateurs)
  • Classé: #3391
  • Popularité: #262
  • Téléspectateurs: 45,522

Top Contributeurs

82 éditions
40 éditions
37 éditions
31 éditions

Listes populaires

Listes apparentées d'autres utilisateurs
All Time Favorite Dramas
694 titles 1737 loves 35
Short KDrama
2104 titles 449 loves 15
Webtoon/Miniseries Dramas
557 titles 273 loves 2

Récemment vu par