Complété
Totally-Dramas-Addicted
0 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
oct. 31, 2021
36 épisodes vus sur 36
Complété 0
Globalement 9.5
Histoire 9.0
Acting/Cast 9.5
Musique 9.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 9.0

Excellent drama Fantasy

Romance entre un Roi Dragon (Dylan Wang ❤❤❤) et une mortelle, interdite pdt 3 vies. Très beau mais assez douloureux tout au long de la story.
Les acteurs sont géniaux, les décors superbes, les OST très soignées et les effets spéciaux au top. Le couple 2aire est aussi très cute.
Bref, un très bon drama Fantasy, avec ce qu'il faut de Dieux, démons, mortels, punitions divines,etc. Je regrette juste qu'il n'y ait pas de réelle happy end (c'est cohérent avec l'histoire, mais on a tellement souffert avec eux tout au long du drama, qu'on aurait bien mérité une récompense :)

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
PeachBlossomGoddess
72 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
juin 2, 2021
36 épisodes vus sur 36
Complété 32
Globalement 7.0
Histoire 7.5
Acting/Cast 7.0
Musique 7.5
Degrés de Re-visionnage 6.0

Which asshole wrote this script?

That was the best line in Miss the Dragon, a xianxia that just misses the boat. It is a thought that jumps to mind at various points of the drama. The writer must be someone with both self awareness and a sense of humor. Which you must have plenty of if you choose to watch this because it can be so ridiculous and silly that you almost have to just laugh at it.

The story opens with the injured dragon king Yuchi Longyan rescued by a maid Liu Ying who mistakes him for a common snake. Liu Ying rescues injured animals, including the bird elf Qingqing  while she daydreams about the mythical dragon king. The first arc is largely an amalgamation of the best moments of other hit xianxias, notably TMOPB. When it comes to recycling other drama's memorable moments, it best be either a really clever parody or a vastly superior moment. In this case it is neither. Some of the writer's own original humor is fresh and funny enough they should have just gone with that and focused on fleshing out the main couple and getting us invested in their relationship. Instead, after being vividly reminded of some old favorites, I am left with the impression of two rather blank characters whose shallow infatuation with each other was unlikely to last until supper time, forget several lifetimes.

While Liu Ying does get a tad more interesting with each subsequent lifetime, there is little of substance that survives each incarnation. So it is not clear what Yuchi Longyan is fighting for, what is innately so special about Liu Ying that the dragon king loves so much. Zhu Xudan did a good job essentially playing four different characters but she is wasted in these sappy rather simple roles that any newbie actress can play. As for Wang Hedi, after a delectable opening scene of him emerging scantily clad from the dragon pool, I was left with an indelible impression of an overdressed plank. His portrayal of the dragon king is an impressive study of the art of being bizarrely still and plank like while everything else is moving. At first, I thought he was accidentally sent the script from a botox commercial. Then I started to feel insecure about accidentally hitting pause on my remote. Bottom line, I didn't feel any spark between the leads. Oddly, his interactions with all of the other characters are so much more natural and enjoyable. I rarely comment on the OST and the BGM but in this case I must point out it was good enough to make me tear up much more than was induced by the acting or story during the sad moments.

The idea of a love that transcends lifetimes is very powerful and moving but that concept is much more originally and engagingly explored in the second couple's story. Indeed the love story between the block of burning ice that is Xue Qianxun the master of Luofeng Pavilion and his flighty chirpy little bird elf Qingqing is why I didn't drop this drama. Both characters are better developed and they have understandable motives and goals. Their relationship is so humorous and their chemistry builds so organically that I had to root for them and was intrigued by and impatient to discover their past. I won't spoil it by saying more than that is a wonderful and memorable mini fairytale in and of itself and that is what the focus of this drama could and should have been.

The way the drama ends goes a long way to redeem itself. I really ate up the epic magical battles and even though the villain is quite lame and was obvious to me from the beginning, I like how all the pieces of their scheming is revealed and how it all ties in quite neatly with the plot and the many lives of Liu Ying. I am solidly in the camp of really liking the ending; anyone who knows the legend of Nuwa would not be that surprised by it.  Overall its not a bad watch, it has quite some entertaining moments beyond just laughing at the production. My rating gets a bump up to a 7.0/7.5 due to the wonderful second couple and ending at the climax.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
Jasmine
60 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
mai 31, 2021
36 épisodes vus sur 36
Complété 1
Globalement 7.5
Histoire 8.0
Acting/Cast 4.0
Musique 8.5
Degrés de Re-visionnage 7.0

Low Budget Xianxia Drama

To be honest, it didn't start off pretty badly, the front part was pretty similar to Eternal Love, where the mortal FL mistaken ML as an injured snake (instead of Dragon) and brought him back to take care of him. I was quite captivated at first and enjoyed watching how the Dragon is falling for the FL. Although their interaction was a bit childish and the lines are somehow cringey, it's still considered pretty entertaining to watch.

UNTIL they entered the second life, third then the fourth; the drama basically being split into four parts and repeat again and again with different settings (as the main girl reborn as different characters) where the ML protected her over and over. I felt the story was so repetitive and disconnected (especially FL needs to forget about the ML whenever she starts a new life) so I started losing interest on the main couple and can't help to move my focus to the second couple instead. They were both immortal with a master-servant relationship but their bickering was quite interesting and the protective second ML was surprisingly quite cool and charming that draws me in!

Acting wise, besides the second male lead being natural in his role, the rest were kinda ... (face palm). ML's role was supposed to very sorrowful as he needed to watch FL living lives without him whilst guarding her with his life but I don't think he portrays the "devastation" and "devoted" very well. FL's acting was okay but she doesn't really look innocent to act the innocent roles, not sure if it's because I watched her wicked-role acting in Eternal Love and has somehow shaped my impression on her, well... but I don't deny that she's pretty though! As for the second FL - Qing Qing, although I prefer the second couple, I couldn't really stand her acting as she exaggerated almost every expression, overturning the definition of "naive and mischievous" and acted like an immature 10-year-old kid that makes me cringe a little. Maybe some might find her pretty cute, yes she is - if she is not acting as an adult, otherwise it just looks a bit off for me, that's why in some ways I find this drama is more suited for younger age group.

Considered it a low-budget production, it still deserve a 7.5/10.0 as I didn't end up dropping it and was actually okay to watch, as long as you don't take the plots too seriously. I personally enjoyed Xianxia Drama A LOT so I didn't regret watching this and I don't think we should compare this with other big production and raise our standards. As a standalone, I would say it was not so good but not too bad either, basically "so-so": A decent storyline with good looking casts, the magical effects were not bad too, just a bit lacking in acting and detailed plots. Sad scenes weren't that on point and not so much on the couple's chemistry but you can simply watch it for some light-hearted moments and a simple fantasy drama, each episode is quite short too so technically it's not so difficult to finish it haha!

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
Blizzardahm
33 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
mai 31, 2021
36 épisodes vus sur 36
Complété 20
Globalement 6.5
Histoire 7.0
Acting/Cast 7.0
Musique 7.5
Degrés de Re-visionnage 5.0

A Xianxia That Tested My Patience

Let me just say this off the bat: I am a huge Xianxia lover, and after I watched Miss the Dragon's trailer, I was more than excited, I was ecstatic! As this was going to be my first Xianxia of the year, I counted each and every second until it started to air.

The first few episodes were fun. It was evident that this was a low-budget drama. The pink and white trees were plastic-like, but I'm not going to complain about the sets. Some of the sets were very beautiful, just a little too fake. And another male lead with white hair? Nice!

Story- 7.0
Okay, the leads' story deserves a 6.0 at the very most, but I simply loved the second leads, and as their story deserved at least a 9.0, I guess the overall score for the story will be a 7.0. The drama went downhill so quickly that I'm still not completely sure what went wrong. Perhaps it was just the recycled plot, because I was getting more bored by the second. If you've been watching Xianxia dramas for long enough, you'll notice that the plot of MTD is very similar to Eternal Love, Love and Redemption, etc, with its four reincarnations. (but much more blander)

Yuchi Longyan, a dragon demon, falls in love with a mortal girl. She first meets him in his snake form, but that part of the story left so many unanswered questions. Firstly, why was a snake kept in a bamboo cage that he could have easily slid out of? Yes, he wouldn't escape, but this is basic common sense for a girl who was supposedly scared of snakes. And, Liu Ying kept on saying 男女授受不清, which means "Men and women shouldn't touch each other" TO A SNAKE. Liu Ying, how would you have known if the snake was a male or female? I'm probably being a little nitpicky, but these loopholes are quite bothersome.

Back to the main plot. The drama was enjoyable and fun in the 1st life, 2nd meh, 3rd boring, and in the 4th, I was seriously wondering why I was still watching the drama. (But of course, it was for my amazing second lead couple) This drama would have been much better off as one life, or even just two. With four lives, the screenwriter was recycling the story better than I recycle my scrap-paper. The female lead is born into a different setting, the male lead watches her grow up, and every time she's in trouble or danger, he appears and saves her from whatever that's endangering her. If you're considering whether or not to watch this, please do not set your hopes high when you see that 'strong female lead' tag. I understand that everyone has different views on what a strong female lead is, but from what I saw, Liu Ying is NOT a strong female lead. She falls off a cliff, ladida! Yuchi Longyan is there. Some demon is attacking her, poof! He's there again. *sighing* The plot really tested my patience. It also really tested my fast-forward button clicking fingers.

The only good thing the plot gave me was the second lead couple. Man, I could watch Xue Qianxun and Qing Qing for days! Like many viewers who have watched Miss the Dragon, I seriously wish that there will be another drama just about them, and I almost never hope for sequels and season 2s. Gah, Mr or Miss Screenwriter, why did you have to torture me like this! If only they were the main couple, I would be smiling nonstop...Xue Qianxun and Qing Qing's love story is a gem, I have to say, with a mysterious backstory involved. No ff button was used during their scenes.

Acting/Cast- 7.0
I've only previously watched Bambi Zhu in two dramas, Eternal Love and Sweet Dreams, both as antagonists, so I was anticipating her bubbly and cheerful character. I loved Liu Ying the first few episodes, and even though there was this faint voice in the back of my head telling me that I liked her more as an antagonist, I was delighted that she was given a chance the opportunity to be the protagonist in a Xianxia drama. But of course, I should've known that not all cheerful female leads are likable. She was just, too, how would I say this? She wasn't useless, but she wasn't very strong and useful either. She seemed to just be there, something for the male lead to protect. And with four reincarnations comes four different girls. My favorite girl was probably A'Yu (second life). She gave me the best impression, and although she was a normal mortal girl who went to the market everyday to sell produce, she was witty and brave, and that is the kind of female lead I love.

Miss the Dragon is my second drama with Dylan Wang as the male lead. I did not enjoy Meteor Garden, and Dylan Wang did not exactly impress me with that role. He looked fine in MTD's posters, with his long white hair and billowing robes. But sometimes, appearance is not everything. His character, is just so, bland. Does a dragon demon have nothing to do but protect his love? I understand that when you're in love, you want to know what your love is doing every second of every day, but what is the purpose of his existence? I'm pretty sure Yuchi Longyan was going to do something before he met Liu Ying, but all his goals and purpose just evaporated. After he met Liu Ying, his only purpose was to protect her. Save her from countless dangers, hurt himself to protect her, and the list goes on and on. Dylan Wang's acting is hard to describe, but it just did not convince me. His expressions need more emotions, I dare say.

I was shocked when I learned that Xue Qianxun was Deng Wei's first Cdrama role. He's a natural at acting! This Lord of Luofeng Pavilion has a cold but dominating air, and his powers are not to be underestimated. He wasn't exactly enemies with Yuchi Longyan in the beginning, but they weren't friends either. As time went by, they learned to help each other and slowly became friends. The bromance in this drama is hilarious! The interactions between Yuchi Longyan and Xue Qianxun is one of the few highlights of this drama.

I liked Qing Qing more than Liu Ying, or any of Liu Ying's reincarnations, to be completely honest. Pan Mei Ye did a great job as Qing Qing, a lively and caring demon bird. As bouncy as she was, she was not annoying at all, and was always by Liu Ying (and reincarnations)'s side as her best companion. Not to mention Qing Qing never failed to make me laugh!

I'm not going to be writing any spoilers here, but I have to say that the villain in this drama is so bland and boring that there would barely be any different if he or she weren't even there. Seriously, Screenwriter, is that the best villain you can give us?

Music- 7.5
From the top of my head, I only remember three songs, and tbh, there weren't that memorable either. There was one song that always played during the leads' scenes, and it got so repetitive that I got to the point that I wanted to mute my computer. Perhaps other people loved the songs, but not me. The singing was so-so, and the melodies just got annoying. Low budget dramas almost never have many songs or an amazing OST anyway.

Rewatch Value- 5.0
This 5 is for my beloved second lead couple. You want me to rewatch the whole drama with you? No way! Only if we just watch the second leads' scenes. I've already used up all my patience watching this once. (Why did I finish this, you might be wondering? I love Xianxias and I'm not big on dropping either. I also really love the second couple (sorry, I've said this so many times).)

Overall- 6.5
Would I really recommend this? Deep inside, not really. But if you like beautiful scenery (pink trees) and white dragons, you might want to give this a try. At least it's only 36 episodes. Maybe I kind of regret watching this but it was pretty enjoyable. I'm very thankful for the 2x speed option and the ff key. First Xianxia that disappointed me, but I really enjoyed the first few episodes.

Also, please forgive my sarcasm in this review. And thanks for taking the time to read it!

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
marthinha
15 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
juin 10, 2021
36 épisodes vus sur 36
Complété 0
Globalement 8.5
Histoire 7.5
Acting/Cast 9.0
Musique 9.5
Degrés de Re-visionnage 7.0

2nd couple stole the show

To be honest what kept me going was the 2nd couple. Deng Wei and Pan Mei Yi stole the show for me. The lead couple faded in interest as it became a bit repetitive and lacked emotion for me, though I do commend the script for making Bambi's character a bit more empowered and independent with each life.

I loved the moments where Yuchi and the Luofeng Immortal would exchange relationship tips or get caught by QingQing in compromising positions, it made me laugh out loud. But the romance of the lead couple was the least captivating thing for me.

I wish Deng Wei and Pan Mei Yi would get a spinoff or special or perhaps get to play a lead couple in another drama in the future. Apparently it was his first drama and I felt he did an outstanding jon.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
Myla
4 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
juin 9, 2021
36 épisodes vus sur 36
Complété 0
Globalement 8.5
Histoire 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.5
Musique 9.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 7.5

Might as well give this drama a try

This is a good drama to watch if you currently ran out of dramas to watch or you want to take a break from those lengthy, serious, and intense wuxias. However, it's better not to expect too much from it. Although this drama has good actors, beautiful sceneries, and wonderful OSTs, I feel like it lacks something.

The overall storyline of a mortal and a demon falling in love through different lifetimes was good and quite interesting at first but 4 lifetimes with the same lovestory in only 36 episode was too much and rushed. It was like just repeatedly watching the female lead meet and quickly fall in love with the male lead as he secretly waits and protects her but both eventually gets seperated and meet again in the next lifetime. The only difference between each lifetime they spent was the character setting of the female lead. First, she wast a maid that married a different guy because her memories were distorted. Second, she was a country girl that got married into the palace. Third, she was a brave general that silently loved him and was contented with him fighting and staying by her side. Fourth, she was a cultivator that was taught to kill demons. As you can see each lifetime would have had wonderful set-up but sadly each of their lovestory was not wonderfully developed as each only spanned a few episodes. Personally, I feel like it would be better if they had just stuck to 2 reincarnations of the female lead or they could still originally include 3-4 reincarnations if the drama was about 50-60 episodes. But nevertheless it was heartwaming to see the male lead protect and love her for hundred of years no matter who she is or was born as, and how the female lead always ends up falling in love and choosing the male lead in each of her lifetime.

The second couple was my favorite. I loved their contrasting personalities and cute interactions. They were one of the main reasons I didn't dropped this drama and I actually preferred them over the main lead couple. It was lovely to watch Qinqing, the lively and takaltive bird elf melt the icy cold heart of Xue Qianxun, the lord of Luofeng Pavillion. Aside from their relationship, I am also fond of Dagon king and Qingqing's friendship and as well as his frienship with Xue Qianxun. It was nice to see how loyal Qingqing was to Liuying that she accompanied her even when she was reincarnated as Ayu, Chenyue, and Qingyan.

In a nutshell, although Miss the Dragon has a lot of room for improvement, it was certainly not a bad drama and was still beutifully-made and quite interesting to watch. The sceneries were surreal and breathtaking and The OST in this drama was spectactular, it matched each scene and magnified the all feelings and emotions conveyed by the actors. I would definitely add these songs into my playlist: 1) Liu Zhuan Ying Hui by Shuang Sheng, 2) Favor by Ding Ding, and 3) Meeting fireflies by Henry Huo.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
xueyueee Finger Heart Award1
4 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
juin 13, 2021
36 épisodes vus sur 36
Complété 1
Globalement 7.5
Histoire 8.0
Acting/Cast 8.5
Musique 10
Degrés de Re-visionnage 7.5
Cette critique peut contenir des spoilers

personal opinion from someone who have finished watching many xianxia dramas and this drama.

Please bear with me as this is my first time writing a review for a drama. I've watched many many dramas before and I must say that this one is unique in its own way. Personally, this drama isn't the best xianxia drama to have existed but the storyline and actors towards the end did leave me a heartbreaking impression just like the director's intention for this drama. As it is an adaptation of a game, I can understand that things might've not felt like the director and producer are in control of changing the storyline greatly.

I know that many claims that it's way too much like 10 miles of Peach Blossom and Eternal Love of Dream. I totally understand it as both the ML were dragons and start off with the FL saving the ML when he's injured in his true form but Miss the Dragon does have its own element and uniqueness. Long wang followed Liuying for more than 3 lifetimes to protect her from all the danger with the intention of marrying her but just to see the ending really broke my heart. No big spoilers but just trying to say that these were also key elements that made the 2 drama series different.

I've seen many reviews where people comment on how Dylan Wang barely did anything and he managed to use his power to fight with enemies. Honestly, from someone who has never attended school for acting, it's already really good in my opinion. Although he needed to take notes from his fellow coworkers, I think that it will take time for someone to truly develop a certain skill.

There were many to expect from him as his previous role in Meteor Garden was a bomb. Many blamed him for lacking these and that but thinking about it, it might have been what the director wanted. Without the producer's approval things rarely gets through easily and we can't just blame Dylan on this. (Not claiming that this is the producer's fault but I just want to let everyone see things from my perspective.)

Warning spoilers coming up next...
The ending really took me by surprise. I really did not realize that the Immortal of Fate would be the villain and would really just plan all these schemes. I did realize 8/10 through the movie that he was sort of suspicious but other than that he was like all normal to me. I really trusted him as long wang's friend but I felt rather betrayed. He really did the qian xun and qing qing wrong. qian xun and qing qing have never done anything to him but he has always been eyeing the couple and destroying them. sorts of bothering me as an audience but that's part of the intention of the drama. Let's give the immortal of fate a break and talk about the second lead cp.

Honestly, through this entire drama, I look forward to qian xun and qing qing's love more than seeing the lead cp. They just get more and more interesting and they really did carry the drama well. I really hope that they can have their own drama as lead actors and actresses in the future and I really stan their love and how they click so well together.

I also find it interesting that long wang falls in love with Liuying but follows her as she reincarnates to ayu, chenyue, qingyan. Throughout the entire drama, I question if he loves Liuying for her personality or for her face, or because of her soul. This is sort of confusing but please do not fall into this trap and get stressed out like me. After all, all of Liuyings' lives did have a beautiful personality, face, and precious yan soul. ;))

I have more to say but then I need to stop right here.

Lastly thank you to everyone who has read my review up until now. If you're having hesitation to either watch this drama or drop, I recommend you try it first. What others find bad might not be that bad to you and opinions do differ. After all, we only live once and you might not know what would click with you! If anyone finds this review rather disturbing, I do sincerely apologize for this mistake.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
Navya poddar
5 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
juin 18, 2021
36 épisodes vus sur 36
Complété 0
Globalement 10
Histoire 10
Acting/Cast 10
Musique 10
Degrés de Re-visionnage 10

2 nd lead couple

To be honest, what kept me going was the 2nd couple. Deng Wei and Pan Mei Yi stole the show for me. The lead couple faded in interest as it became a bit repetitive and lacked emotion for me, though I do commend the script for making Bambi's character a bit more empowered and independent with each life.

I loved the moments where Yuchi and the Luofeng Immortal would exchange relationship tips or get caught by QingQing in compromising positions, it made me laugh out loud. But the romance of the lead couple was the least captivating thing for me.

I wish Deng Wei and Pan Mei Yi would get a spinoff or special or perhaps get to play a lead couple in another drama in the future. Apparently it was his first drama and I felt he did an outstanding jon.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
Apsara
5 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
juin 4, 2021
36 épisodes vus sur 36
Complété 2
Globalement 7.0
Histoire 7.0
Acting/Cast 6.5
Musique 8.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 7.0
Cette critique peut contenir des spoilers

Watch this drama for the 2nd couple.

I really anticipated this drama when the posters and trailers came out. I guess I kind of set my standards pretty high after watching hit xianxias like TMOPB, Ashes of Love, and Love & Redemption. When I found out that this drama have only 36 episodes, I was kind of worried of how they're gonna tell the whole story and show all of her lifetimes (first red flag). But, I'm a sucker for Chinese dramas so I kept watching this drama (mainly for the 2nd couple).

Now I'm going to state what I like and what I dislike about this drama.

What I like:
- The 2nd couple's chemistry. This is probably the first time that I liked the 2nd couple MORE than the main couple. Their chemistry was on fire and I find myself squealing every time their scenes comes on. Their history/story was so interesting that it kills me every time I have to wait until their story unravels. The angst!
- The friendship of the trio. Dragon King, Xue Qian Xun, and Qing Qing's friendship is out of this world! Also, Dragon King's friendship with Immortal of Fate when he was still "nice". It's so sad when Immortal of Fate use XQX to fight against Dragon King.
- Female lead's 3rd life. Liu Ying's 3rd life as Feng Chen Yue has to be my favorite as it actually has a plot to it. I like how strong she is as she didn't need Dragon King's help that much.
- The bromance! I love the bromance moments between Dragon King and XQX! And QQ always having the honor of witnessing it.
- Deng Wei's natural acting. I find him very natural with his role. The way he can look so cold, but charming at the same time. I gotta add him to my list of favorite actors now. Considering this his first debut drama, he did really well! Hoping he will get more projects in the future as main lead.

What I dislike:
- The repetitive scenes, flashbacks, and story of the main couple. It gets to the point where it became boring. I find myself FF a lot of their scenes.
- I don't understand why the female lead never thought of asking Dragon King why he had to wait until their 4th life to be together (and she never finds out too?)
- Chemistry between the mains. I don't see or feel that much chemistry between female lead and Dragon King. They seem to have more chemistry with other characters that they interact with.
- No ulterior motive. The only character that has a goal was QQ. She was determined to get rid of the Meteor mark on her forehead. The other characters don't exactly know what they're doing. I know Dragon King's only goal was to protect Liu Ying, but wasn't he doing something else before meeting her?
- Logic? (but then again this is a drama) Liu Ying in her 4th life has powers. When she was climbing up a mountain, she slipped and fell, and kept falling... she could've easily fly. Or when Dragon King was trying to imitate the cat demon, can't he just say that it was a cat demon? (but that scene was hilarious).

Overall, this is an okay drama. I'll give it a good for the 2nd couple. It is more of a lower budget drama compared to TMOPB, AoL, L&R. If you like a light hearted, xianxia romace drama then I recommend. It has some memorable moments and funny scenes if you like a good laugh.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
IdealLifeDreamRealm
5 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
juin 3, 2021
36 épisodes vus sur 36
Complété 0
Globalement 8.0
Histoire 5.5
Acting/Cast 8.0
Musique 8.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 9.0
Cette critique peut contenir des spoilers

Unconditional love

The epilogue is perfect, beautiful, romantic, & highly comforting.
All the loose ends get tied up here. Everything comes full circle. Everything feels complete, whole.

The epilogue is the only one where one gets to see the dragon king beam a warm smile.


There are no sad scenes in the epilogue. The epilogue shows the heroine's fifth lifetime.


In addition, the viewers will be in for a treat as all the most romantic scenes and dialogues from past & present gets collated here.


The unattractive aspects of the story, for eg, the female lead ending up living with other males , and both the main leads merely offering a weak resistance to ways of fate come to an end by the initial half of this drama. After that, the pattern starts to change....

This aside, the love story of the second supporting leads is sweeter, more beautiful than that of the leads. The way their love story unfolds is perfect --- full of tenderness & no unnecessary, convoluted complications.


There is gradual progression in the storyline of the main heroine throughout her lifetimes. In each succeeding lifetime, there is remarkable improvement in her her status, will power, self development, and her quality of life.
Also, her memories with the dragon king keeps getting better & clearer, more realistic in each succeeding mortal life.

The last four episodes are pretty fast paced compared to preceding ones. The action scenes though not perfect, are engaging, nice.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
Pinky Roseberry
9 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
juin 13, 2021
36 épisodes vus sur 36
Complété 1
Globalement 9.5
Histoire 9.5
Acting/Cast 9.5
Musique 9.0
Degrés de Re-visionnage 9.5

Beautiful Drama and Couple

First time when I watched this drama. I felt in love with all of it. The story line was so beautiful, all cast are incredible. Dylan Wang and Bamby Zhu as a main couple deliver the story line so perfect. Other cast also perfectly fit into their roles.

I can’t stop to rewatched this drama. Unforgetfull and addicted. Hopefully We can see Dylan and Bamby together again as a couple in another romance drama.

This the first drama of Dylan and Bamby that I watched. I can’t imagine how I love this drama so much.
Cet avis était-il utile?
Complété
KiKo Tsukino
12 personnes ont trouvé cette critique utile
juin 1, 2021
36 épisodes vus sur 36
Complété 7
Globalement 7.0
Histoire 6.5
Acting/Cast 7.5
Musique 4.5
Degrés de Re-visionnage 5.0
Cette critique peut contenir des spoilers

You can watch this for 2nd leads: Xue Qian Xun and Qing Qing, and their love story ~

I don't even know where to start with this review, so bare with me here, and this is going to be LONG, not intended for it to be that way, just ended up that way in the end

***WARNING **** IT WILL CONTAIN SPOILERS, SO IF YOU DON'T WANT SPOILERS, THAN SKIP MY REVIEW...

Okay to start things off, I won't say this drama is the worst, because I have seen worst drama's out there, but I won't say this drama is the best either. There are certainly areas which I wish was done better.

Personally for me, I don’t have any problems with the Male lead, since I enjoy some of his scenes, but mainly his scenes with Xue Qian Xun LOL. I felt like they have more chemistry (bromance-wise) than the main pairing LOL. I just wish they had a proper closure for them in the end, because Xue Qian Xun wouldn't have done any of that if he was in control of himself, I actually wanted proper closure, and not Longyan misunderstanding him...(But I am going to assume he understood and know the truth because he got that 'alternate' ending, to be with his soulmate, thanks to Xue Qian Xun's help)

I really tried my best to watch for the main pairing, and I did enjoyed it at the beginning especially since I can see a reference to 3L3WTMOPB, how Liu Ying (FL) save the Yuchi Longyan (ML), which happens to be a Dragon, in which she thought was a Snake lol(Sound familiar? Yes, Su Su(BQ) on Ye Hua), so that was a cute reference, although poor dragon's have to be mistaken as a snake 2 times in their respective stories LOL. Their story was okay, and I felt like it could have been better, but as their story progresses, and when I found out that Longyan changed Liu Ying memories and have her “fall in love” with someone else, making her believe her love for him (Longyan) was for someone else instead, I didn’t like it…At that moment, when she was married off, and was pregnant, I was like “????” Okay, so what is there to ship now??? She is married and pregnant with some other man’s baby for goodness’ sake. And then I realized it was meant to be for 3 lives before she can be together with him. I was like, when she was married off, and have to forget about him, in her first life, can she not stay single until she died?? At least that kept to the faithful part. Do she have to be married with someone else instead??

The main pairing story felt so redundant and repetitive, I mean, even if in each life, she's a different person, but it's the same outcome, she is born, grows up, meets him, she falls in love with him, he loves her too, but he can't be together with her (yet), so he have to watch her be with someone who can be with her, or is in love with her... And then, she dies, and then go to Luofeng Pavillion and drink that special tea that makes her forget (except with her second life, that she didn't drink that one), and then, gets born into a different family, setting and environment, the cycle restarts all over again and Longyan have to wait for her to grow up etc etc, and go through that life-cycle again. It was getting so repetitive, that I literally just lost interest in their story, that I ended up fast-forwarding their scenes, even when I fast-forward it, I wouldn't have missed much on my end... The third life when she was a general 'Feng Cheng Yue' was the most boring life and focus for these two for me, but at that point I was mainly just skimming through their scenes on my end.

The other reason why I don't enjoy the main pairing as much is also because I am not someone who is fond of the theme of having the developments up to a certain point wasted, and then restart again. It is like, you built the developments/affection point up to a certain level, and then resets, because she has to die, and then get reincarnated to her next life, and then start all over again… Do you get how redundant that is?? This is also the reason why I am not so fond of ‘amnesia’ plots because it is the same thing for me, I am someone who values ‘development’ and ‘consistency’ on my end. The main pairing, each time gives me something I don't enjoy seeing (in terms of developments being wasted, consistency felt disconnected because she have a different identity in her next life....), and while I understand that it is her soul that Longyan loves, but the portrayal of their story is not my cup of tea, with that all said, I don’t hate them though. I actually wanted that at the end of all these 3 lifecycle, in her fourth life as Qing Yan, she and Longyan can finally be together (even though that was futile..... It made all their trials, and tragedy be for nothing in the end, so it made me question, why did they have to go through all that, just to get that ending there? -_-)

On the contrary, I am thankful for the second leading characters Xue Qian Xun and Qing Qing, because their characters and love story is the saving grace to this drama for me. I have to admit that I did find Qing Qing annoying at first, but she somewhat grew on me, and had matured throughout the story, so I ended up loving her, and I do love her past-self as well.

For Xue Qian Xun, I love this character right from the beginning, because the moment he was introduced, he was said to be cold like an ice (his personality), and impartial to his role as the Lord to Luofeng Pavillion, but when he met Qing Qing for the first time, that all changed for him, because he can finally feel something on his end. Upon their first meeting, I immediately sense a potential between these two as past-lovers or something, so for me, I already love the focus on Xue Qian Xun's character, and his love for Qing Qing, I love all their screen times together. Whenever Xue Qian Xun is in the picture, I will watch the scenes properly for him, even his scenes with Longyan LOL. Ofcourse I will watch it for the second leading couple(Xue Qian Xun and Qing Qing) in this drama, because I love them on my end, they are literally the only focus that tied me to this drama to be honest and would want to make me finish this drama for them. Like I said, how can I not find them appealing? I mean, I actually found them appealing already when Qing Qing was captured by the Luofeng Pavillion guards when she first arrived at Luofeng Pavillion, because when Xue Qian Xun saw the meteor mark on her forehead, he felt something, and that “something”(and that flashback too, which was very vague), so I already find them appealing on my end, in that moment, when he kept her with him to be his maid for 100 years, instead of killing her, I already love what I saw, and was most interested to see how this pairing gets developed, and I was looking to find out about their past, and what exactly happened. As they show me more of them, I just ended up loving them, and then they became my favourite focus <3 And my favourite pair in this drama. This pairing is a gradual build, and I love how he came to love her, because she's different and she can make him feel all these emotions (she can make him smile, she can even make him jealous of Longyan LOL, I find that adorable hahaha), but when he help her paint the peach flower on her forehead was really sweet in my eyes. Yeah, he also didn't know what it's like to feel love, but then, I love how his eyes (he's good with these micro expressions) shows his love for her. It's different from his normal poker face. They really do have chemistry IMO.

I find it rather hard to rate this drama out of 10 for some reason, so I did the below to help me rate this out of 10 better. If I am going to give each pair out of 5, it will be as follows:

Main pairing (ML/FL): Liu Ying / Yuan A Yu / Feng Chen Yue / Gu Qing Yan: 2 out of 5

Second leading pair (2ML/2FL): Xue Qian Xun and Qing Qing: 4.5 out of 5 (0.5 mark lost because I wanted to see more of their scenes!! But even those little scenes, I can’t have enough shows me just how appealing this pairing is, for me, and in addition to this, I wish they have like a proper kiss scene ahahaha, since I wanted to see that, and when they finally kissed, something happened >.<, and I’m like “NOOOOOOoooooO!!!! T.T”)

Ending ~
Okay, I don't know what to say about this ending... Let's start off with the Main pairing, since they are the main pairing... Well, I will just say, I didn't really like that ending, I consider that to be, a sad ending for them, because they have been through 3 life times!!!! 3!!!! (and going through her 4th life time as Qing Yan), and she still can't be with Longyan properly in the end, I just find their ending to be somewhat, sad to be honest, I mean, this really shows they've been through all these trials for nothing, although their spirits will forever be together, but this isn't really a happy ending to me, I think it was 'satisfactory' at best, but personally for me, I don't really like their ending, I felt like they should at least get a happy ending after all that to be honest....And I don't even like the main pairing, but looking at all they've been through, it just felt unjustified IMO, but I guess this is all subjective, since some people consider that to be a happy ending. A happy ending for them to me, is they get to keep their 'human' form and get marry after all this, not that kind of ending... But well, at least their spirits/souls will always be together.... I am glad I am not invested in this pairing, because I will be so heart broken on my end, if that's the ending to my favourite pairing. I won’t spoil the full detail of their ending for you, happy or sad, you decide.


The ending for the second leading couple Xue Qian Xun and Qing Qing:
Okay, I will just say I am glad that Xue Qian Xun didn't die on me, nor did Qing Qing, and that they both can be alive at the end, but I don't know how I feel about Xue Qian Xun going back to his former self, but I guess I will take that as a good ending for him, since he don't need to be the Lord of Pavillion anymore, and they definitely deserves to be happy since they have waited and separated for 1000 years just to get this happy ending. I am going to just pretend that his poison and control is lifted after he "died" at first and then how he can return to his former self (although this lead me to think, that he never died in his first life, I always questioned whether he did or not, but when he said "3000 years ago...." he didn't remember the details" etc etc, so he did live through all those years, and then in that flashback that revealed his back story, it showed that he used up his powers to save "Qing Qing" from falling into the black vortex (which I think if she did, then her soul will be shattered, and won't be able to be reborn), and then, it was said that from that moment on, his memories was erased and that's how he became the Lord of Pavilion, name changed to Xue Qian Xun (but that's how I deciphered it, since it wasn't really touched on it),

So for the ending, I have mix feelings on my end. I definitely wish it was better, but I will just take what I can get, it's at least better than the main pairing ending, so can't ask for too much I guess, since it was a low budget drama (sigh).


Music: Errrr, 4.5/10 I guess, I mean, I like the bgm/midi when it’s between Xue Qing Xuan and Qing Qing, and sometimes they have that background midi for them and I like that, since it brings out the mystery of their past that connects to the present, and I also love their 2 songs which was played in the 2nd couple Xue Qing Xun and Qing Qing scene/moments, and I considered these two songs is their song: Say Goodbye (相别) By Wei Yi Ning (魏一宁) and Favor (青睐) By Ding Ding, but honestly, other than that, this drama doesn’t have any memorable soundtrack… They don’t even have a proper opening theme -_-;;

Rewatch Value: 5/10 I guess, I will watch again for my favourite scenes, that includes Xue Qing Xuan, and Xue Qing Xuan and Qing Qing, as well as other moments that I love. I am rewatching some of these scenes again, with some fast-forwarding on the boring parts of the main pairing. The FL is ‘okay’ at best for me. I do like her character in her last (final life), but I hate those Kunlun disciples that doesn’t know how to tell good youkais from bad youkais -_- They killed for the sake they are youkais is rather just annoying to see IMO.

The Antagonist.... Shocking!!!! Yet, not so shocking, but disappointed!!!!
Mingge Xingjun, I hate him… Zhu Zan Zin, you already played a scheming bastard in Chen Qing Ling, as Jin Guangyao, why do you have to play a similar role in this one???? My god, to think I actually liked you and thought you were genuine but turned out it was all a scheme and biggest lie! But I should have known, since HE was the one who told Qing Qing about the meteor mark can be rid of by detaching the Pipa string and used it to erase that mark… He would have known what that would do to Xue Qing Xuan, so I was like “????” why did he look so shocked and looked worried when Qing Qing told him that he(Xue Qing Xuan) attempted to pull a string for her? I mean, HE was the one who was pulling plotting all this, even in the past, omg…. And Lord of Fate, if you want to plot this, then DON’T involve Xue Qing Xuan in your schemes!!! -_- because thanks to you I can’t help but angst for him and worry for him, since he’s my favourite character. I’m glad he showed me he wanted to break free, and did for a short while, but then he got control of him again… URGH!!! Xue Qing Xuan wouldn’t have fallen into this trap if it weren’t for the gradual poison that you fed him with that “herbal” tea that you gave to Qing Qing that said will help him recover…. I didn’t want to see Xue Qing Xuan being controlled, and wish that didn’t happened…. And that was annoying that he didn’t regain control until almost half way through the final episode, and when that time comes, he “died” :( I was like “What?! NO!!” But at least he never hurt Qing Qing on his end, so that’s a good point there.

So, my verdict to this drama, 6.5 out of 10 for the story, but I will increase 0.5 points to make the overall up to 7 out of 10 because I do like the bromance between Xue Qing Xuan and Longyan, because I like how they started off as ‘not close’ to two friends, who happens to care for each other in that sense, and two of their scenes have this BL vibe LOLOLOLOL, which happened to be caught by Qing Qing when she enters the room. Story, IMO, could not reach 7 out of 10 in my eyes and remained as 6.5 out of 10 because I didn’t really like that ending, I wanted it to be better…. Oh well…. I watched this drama for the second leading characters, and pairing, and stick with it to the end for them, I do wish they have more screentime on their end, less the angst (lol), and it sucks that I didn't get much screentime for them due to Mingge Xingjun -_- like really, writers? Why? 36 episodes, each episode feels short and not the standard C-Drama being 40 something minutes, and you still can't even give us fans more of their screen times because of what happened to Xue Qing Xuan T___T (So that was 'minus points' there on the story for me). I know it's to build on the angst and drama, but so many things is happening for the remaining episodes, and it did feels rushed so can't give this a high rating because of all said.

Lire davantage

Cet avis était-il utile?
Yu Long (2021) poster

Renseignements

Statistiques

  • Score: 7.7 (marqué par 5,981 utilisateurs)
  • Classé: #4615
  • Popularité: #1069
  • Téléspectateurs: 15,628

Top Contributeurs

79 éditions
72 éditions
41 éditions
34 éditions

Listes populaires

Listes apparentées d'autres utilisateurs
All Time Favorite Dramas
686 titles 1715 loves 35
Chinese Historical Drama
418 titles 547 loves 3
Best Wuxia or Xianxia drama
127 titles 1395 voters 240 loves 16

Récemment vu par